Thread: Nick Leeson

Nick Leeson

Is the new commerical manager of Galway United??? Was on RTE Radio. How bizzarre!!

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Is the new commerical manager of Galway United??? Was on RTE Radio. How bizzarre!!
    Not the rogue trader fella......??????

89 Posts
    Could very well be

He lives in the West of Ireland, and has mentioned the eL in his columns for Inside Edge, a gambling magazine
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Its definitely the Rogue Trader Could be interesting!

Well at least you could have learnt from his mistakes !!

Fair play though ... the guy might know a trick or two anyway.

Rogue Trader it is. Very interesting.

Nick Leeson

has lived in Galway for the past two and a half years. An interesting appointment, initially in PR terms, however in the long term he will be judged on his ability to "maximise our revenue streams".

I think this is great news for the club - at the very least from a PR perspective.

Regardless of the major 'gambling' he got himself involved in back in Singapore, the guy would no doubt have a business brain of some kind, so should be of some use to Galway.

Look forward to seeing the fruits of his labour...

Think of the pr globally! That will be a big thing. Hey Foot, get an interview

I wonder if he will be getting paid. I was at a lecture he was giving in college and he says that he for every 2 euro he earns he must give 1 euro back to the revenue in Britain.

He's married to a lady from Galway.

from the irish independent

THE MAN who single-handedly caused the collapse of Barings Bank 10 years ago has been appointed commercial manager at Galway United Football Club.
    Rogue trader Nick Leeson, whose actions led to the collapse of the 233-year-old British bank with losses of €1.3bn in 1995, will take up his new position this week after being appointed last Friday.
    The 38-year old has lived in Galway for the last two-and-a-half years with his wife Leone and their family. It is his first job since he was jailed almost 10 years ago for his part in Barings' collapse.
    Club chairman John Fallon said Mr Leeson would be tasked with implementing a series of commercial initiatives aimed at developing Galway United, and the board had every confidence in their new appointee.
    "It is impossible to ignore the events which have made Nick Leeson known worldwide," he added. "But long after the fanfare about his appointment has passed, Nick Leeson will be tasked with the demanding job of implementing a series of commercial initiatives aimed at developing Galway United FC.
    "Life has moved on for everyone. The primary concern here is the future strong development of Galway United FC, and to that end a series of initiatives have been drawn up which will be driven by the new commercial manager.
    Nick said: "I know my name precedes me to a large extent and sometimes is a barrier for most organisations. Galway United are quite aware of that and are comfortable with it. They are going to give me a chance and hopefully I'll be able to repay them."

I can definitely see an article about this appointment in "When Saturday Comes" in the next few months.

Seriously though, it could work. Galway is a growing city and there should be loads of commercial opportunities for the club.

Only thing he seems to have no relevant experience.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

I think and hope he'll actually do a good job. There's next to feck-all money coming into Irish football, and few clubs have made serious efforts to get it in -particularly at First Division level - so anything he achieves will be viewed positively.

His appointment will be well known in the Galway business community, and when he comes knocking his name will swing him meetings with people that non-entities might struggle to get. As long as the guy's got decent patter and a bit of charm he should be able to convert a few of these meetings into cash for the club.

Most importantly - he's a man with a point to prove. Assuming he hasn't got lazy in his 10 years of inactivity, I think that'll be the thing that'll propel him towards success.

Good luck to him....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    I think and hope he'll actually do a good job. There's next to feck-all money coming into Irish football
    agree and agree
    , and few clubs have made serious efforts to get it in -particularly at First Division level
    Are you joking? On what basis do you make that statement? Every club makes huge efforts to get money in. It is the hardest task facing every club in the league.

As long as the guy's got decent patter and a bit of charm
    He has it in spades!!!

Assuming he hasn't got lazy in his 10 years of inactivity, I think that'll be the thing that'll propel him towards success.
    Have you been asleep for the past 5 years? He's written a book and done loads of public speaking. I think he's also advised banks and financial institutions on their risk management. He's often in the papers and on the radio. He is a very interesting man to listen to.

Interestingly, he's allowed earn a (fairly hefty - c. STG 30k) threshold amount per annum, above that amount 50 cent in every dollar he earns goes to the creditors of Barings Bank.

I think it's an excellent appointment by Galway United - a great bit of PR, both for Galway United and the league in general.
    Is it a full-time position?

Nick Leeson

Don't ye think Shamrock Rovers would have suited him better?

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    Is it a full-time position?
    Yes. Bar the playing staff, all the rest of the positions at the club are on full-time basis.

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    Are you joking? On what basis do you make that statement? Every club makes huge efforts to get money in. It is the hardest task facing every club in the league.
    I make that claim on the simplest yet purest form of evidence there is - results !

If every club is making huge efforts, then where are the results ? The only big results I can think of recently have been shirt sponsorship with Cork and Pats and naming rights at Longford and Drogheda. Yet those are well-trodden avenues for football fund-raising worldwide, not rocket science.

Every club most certainly does NOT make huge efforts to get money in. The vast majority have fund-raising (particularly beyond shirt sponsorship) in the hands of well-meaning but inexperienced and part-time volunteers. Fundraising is indeed the hardest task facing all our clubs, but very few of our teams have set in place experienced professional people and structures to tackle it. That is a sad but simple fact. Well done to Galway for bucking that trend - particularly given they're in the financial wasteland that is the First division...

i couldnt belive it when i read it in the paper. Fair play to him and Galway united for signing up. I think he has settled down in Galway, he has a kid and all and he said he wanted to bring rountine into his life or something.

Honestly though, i cant see what he can do. there isnt a whole pile of money floating around Galway but best of luck to him anyway

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    i couldnt belive it when i read it in the paper. Fair play to him and Galway united for signing up. I think he has settled down in Galway, he has a kid and all and he said he wanted to bring rountine into his life or something.

Honestly though, i cant see what he can do. there isnt a whole pile of money floating around Galway but best of luck to him anyway
    He can launder his money from all those off shore accounts through GUFC accounts for a substantial charge, all partys making a profit

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger

What ?? There is a serious amount of money in Galway, its just a matter of how do you get the people with it to invest in an eircom league club!!