http://www.irishexaminer.com/pport/w...q-nXlDAyFE.asp
Great publicity fair play to the examiner
Hi all:
Just wanted to let ye know that there is a big article on Limerick Fc in the Arena section of de Paper today. have not seen it myself but the cover looks great.
All the best
JohnD
"How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg
http://www.irishexaminer.com/pport/w...q-nXlDAyFE.asp
Great publicity fair play to the examiner
Great article to see.
Even if Danny Drew is quoted as praising Colin T.O'Brien wholeheartedly!![]()
Seriously though it's super coverage for us and it read well.
Yea, very positive and very well written! Hopefully it will inspire a bit more pride in the team which can only be a good thing!!![]()
Yea its a good piece and nice to read about the club in the papers. There seems to be a greater interest in the Eircom League and nice to see that first division clubs are getting some of that attention, whether its an article on aertel or watching highlights on TV3.
Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.
Very good article. I hope it will encourage more people to come to the matches in Rathbane and build up the club's profile in the city and surrounding areas.
If you don't like John 3:7...
There's always Limerick 37!
Puts the Limerick Leader to shame really. How about we post our copies of this supplement to the Leader offices as an example on how to cover the Local senior soccer team?
Great idea. Mine is in the post, with a little note. "This is the eircom League. Limerick have a team in this league. Can we please get proper coverage."Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
I'm posting mine in as well. I see that the Leader now has it's own dedicated Sports supplement, perfect timing really to show them how they should be covering the EL, i.e. well written articles, interviews and pictures.
Hi All:
Here is a copy of a letter I wrote today to de paper thanking them for the article:
------------------------------
Hi There:
I would like to congratulate your paper and it's Reporters on the excellent article on Limerick FC in Wednesday's Arena.
As an Officer of the Limerick FC Supporters' club It was a pleasure to see the photos on the Young fans on your front cover and to read the excellent article..
We have worked hard to get merchandise for our supporters and it is a pleasure to see young lads wearing Limerick FC Shirts rather than those of Teams from Manchester or Liverpool.
We are entering into a new promising era in the history of the club, thanks to the investment of Danny Drew and the work being done both on and off the pitch is incredible. We are so used to being bottom of the league with no coverage in the press I have to pinch myself to make sure that it all is really happening.
If only the Local Press in Limerick would support THEIR team as well as your Paper. !!
Thanks again
John
-------------------
"How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg
Well said JohnD.
The club has got more coverage in the national papers today. In the Irish Daily Star Sunday (p.51) there is an article about the club. It draws comparisons between Limerick and Shamrock Rovers and how the two clubs have had hard times since leaving their spiritual homes of the Markets Field and Milltown. As Rovers went into examinership this week it tells how things have changed around for Limerick since Danny Drew took over. There really isn't anything new about the club in the article. It's basically an interview with Drew and he talks of his five year plan, but it's still no harm for the club to get some positive news coverage in the national press.
It was written by Bernard O'Neill. Fair Play to ya boy !!
John