Page 16 of 31 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast

Thread: Dan Crowley M Notts County b.1997

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    https://www.bd.nl/willem-ii/doelpunt...m-ii~a394b30e/ I assume this is the kind of attitude issues that people have raised about crowley. Hopefully matures with age
    At least he didnt refuse to come off, thats a positive after what was seen in the League cup final yesterday

573 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    https://www.bd.nl/willem-ii/doelpunt...m-ii~a394b30e/ I assume this is the kind of attitude issues that people have raised about crowley. Hopefully matures with age
    What's the gist? I can't get a translation of the page.

3,286 Posts
    He wasn't happy about being substituted

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    What's the gist? I can't get a translation of the page.
    According to my translate...

"The Brit was angry when trainer Adrie Koster decided to sacrifice him for tactical reasons."

473 Posts
    My Dutch is far from great, but...

"Daniel Crowley scored for the first time in teh competition in front of his own fans, but was also furious after his substitution, and his team, Willem II? They won"

The 2-1 victory from Willem II yesterday agains AZ came as a surprise to many. But not for the staff and players of the club from Tilburg, who in spite of three defeats and the way they played still believed in themselves. "We hunted AZ aggressively all over the field", said Daniel Crowley, the playmaker for Willem II. The difference is that it was all a bit more aggressive that the previous weeks. In the last three matches we conceded unnecessary goals. We understood that we desperately needed a result."

Some stuff about Willem II's season...

"The small Brit, who Willem II signed at the start of last season from Arsenal, once again served as the great creator. Inside three minutes he had already been part of two big chances..."

"Crowley didn't initially realise he had scored his first competitive goal in his own stadium. He had put his frustrations over his substitution 20 minutes from the end to the background. The Brit stamped off when manager Adrie Koster decided to sacrifice him for tactical reasons. He also didn't even look at assistant Gery Vink. With a dull thump on the dug-out, which was clearly audible, he made his displeasure clear."

"That's always been part of my character" said the technical player from Coventry, who would like to return to the Premier League via Willem II. On the field he knows how to control himself. "The next step is to be able to deal with a situation like this." said Koster with a smile." "How long did I stay angry about the substitution? Until the 90th minute" said Crowley.

"After that the disappointment disappeared. "The most important thing is that Willem II got three points", realised Crowley, who saw AZ come back to 2-1 ten minutes from time, Guus Til was able to finish with a hard shot in the near corner.

Crowley restrained himself on the bench. By bringing another defensive midfielder onto the field in the shape of Vurnon Anito, Koster reacted to a couple of tactical changes from his colleague John van den Brom. The AZ coach let his team take more risks approaching the final whistle.

Willem II were worried that they would be pegged back but the defended well. Also, Timon Wellenreuther, freed from teh pressure of competition from a similar keeper, seems more comfortable between the posts. With a reflex save from a header from Koopmeiners he had earlier saved Willem II.

"But we could have finished the game off just after the break" stated Crowley about a pair of big chances, and with a big smile on his mouth "if that had happened, I probably could have stayed on the field for 90 minutes"

Do the big 4 clubs ever come in for players from these little clubs

166 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Isn't there an argument that we don't play against physical scrappy teams at international level, and certainly not in games that we struggle in? We struggle against the technical teams that make us run around like eejits because we can't keep the ball. We need to lose the idea that you're club side is what dictates whether you play international ball or not. There is very little difference between the bottom half of the premier league and the championship.

There's an argument for picking players who are used to getting their foot on the ball, or players who are used to winning games regularly. Crowley fits into all of those brackets.
    Good points these. And I would go even further. We need to get all of our players (including the goalkeeper) playing possession football, so we can see the opposition run around like eejits for a change.

1,092 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Isn't there an argument that we don't play against physical scrappy teams at international level, and certainly not in games that we struggle in? We struggle against the technical teams that make us run around like eejits because we can't keep the ball. We need to lose the idea that you're club side is what dictates whether you play international ball or not. There is very little difference between the bottom half of the premier league and the championship.

There's an argument for picking players who are used to getting their foot on the ball, or players who are used to winning games regularly. Crowley fits into all of those brackets.
    Are you daft? If he ain't in the PL, he ain't no good.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    Are you daft? If he ain't in the PL, he ain't no good.
    Daft is my middle name,
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

602 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fizzer View Post
    What’s the reality of the level he’s actually playing at though?
    Tenth in the Eredivisie,where would that be? mid-championship standard? There doesn’t seem to be many Dutch players getting a look in outside of the Eredivisie top four but there’s a few from Huddersfield, Palace etc.
    Quick run through his squad mates might give an indication of the standard - seven have senior international experience, but only two have more than ten caps, one for Armenia and the other for Peru - the other five played for Sweden, Ecuador, New Zealand, the Netherlands and Kosovo

2,081 Posts
    Big game for him tonight at home to AZ in the semi final of the KNVB Cup.

Ajax beat Feyenoord 3-0 last night in the other semi.

646 Posts
    Willem II go through 2-1 on penos....
    Daniel was one of 6 players to miss

2,081 Posts
    Went to a penalty shoot-out after a 1-1 draw. Crowley missed his but Willem II won 2-1 to reach the final.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 28/02/2019 at 11:28 PM. Reason: Fine, 2-1.

451 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Went to a penalty shoot-out after a 1-1 draw. Crowley missed his but Willem II won 2-1 to reach the final.
    Delighted for him. Brave move for a 19 or 20 year old to move to Holland in sure he would have had offers down the leagues in Britain. Shows maturity and cop on he did well on loan in Holland so went back

575 Posts
    Picture of him online celebrating the victory holding a tri-colour aloft! What more do we need to be convinced? Get him in the team Mick

2,612 Posts
    https://twitter.com/irish_pics/statu...366225408?s=21

nice clip of him here and nice Fr. Ted gif in the thread!

3,286 Posts
    some photos of him here with the tricolour from getty images: https://www.gettyimages.co.uk/photos...t=best#license

166 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Picture of him online celebrating the victory holding a tri-colour aloft! What more do we need to be convinced? Get him in the team Mick
    Well said Fixer. In all honesty there will be a boat load of disappointed people (myself included) if Crowley isn't in the squad for Gibraltar. The pressure is on Mick already.

Quote Originally Posted by mark12345 View Post
    Well said Fixer. In all honesty there will be a boat load of disappointed people (myself included) if Crowley isn't in the squad for Gibraltar. The pressure is on Mick already.
    It doesn't appear his paperwork will have gone through by then.

166 Posts
    That's a real kick in the teeth. How long does it take to dot a few i's and cross t's?

Page 16 of 31 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast