Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Loi fixtures w/e 25/2/2019

172 Posts
    Boez will find a way to f*"k it up. It's what they do. It's who they are.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingswood Rover View Post
    Yes he caused havoc because they worked out that they needed to do feck all to combat his effectiveness as he was doin it himself. Long, good manager by the way kopped on and brought some one else on. I am confused by the analogy Big club = finishing 3rd bottom and humiliating Rovers. I will say one thing in the Big Clubs favor, the way they have become so intrinsically linked into the locality in the last 3 years or so has been an excellent piece of work and bodes well not only for the league but this Rivalry. When the new ground is up and running Crowds will continue to grow. Maybe then the ambition of finishing 3rd from bottom and beating us constantly will be re-accessed.
    Fair enough but because of the events of ten years ago and the near demise of the club, there is still no appetite for spending more than we can earn. With no sugar daddy, investment company or €5 million soft loan we can only rely on what we can raise from members fees, fundraising, gate receipts and sponsorship. That puts us at the lower end of signing power and if it wasn`t for Long and Crolly doing such an excellent job, we would be struggling with relegation every year. If, and its a big if, Dublin City Council get their act together and build a new stadium, then the ambition will be for much bigger crowds to be challenging for honours every year.
    Between now and then, we will aim to punch above our weight, consolidate the links with communities across Dublin City and Fingal, continue to develop young players and to recruit returning young players from the English meat grinder.

Your board need to look for a suger daddy willing to buy in but leave control with the members,
    Shels are on the way up and with their sugar daddy investor will have the pick of the returning kids from England for next season as well as the best of the dublin players not playing full time with Rovers or Pats.
    A strong shels will make 3rd from bottom harder to achieve.
    I'd rather have bohs in the Premier than Shels (old scars) but unless your board wake up you will find yourselves in the first division.....with your principles intact
    The League is changing , Peak 6 is just the start

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Your board need to look for a suger daddy willing to buy in but leave control with the members,
    Shels are on the way up and with their sugar daddy investor will have the pick of the returning kids from England for next season as well as the best of the dublin players not playing full time with Rovers or Pats.
    I'd rather have bohs in the Premier than Shels (old scars) but unless your board wake up you will find yourselves in the first division.....with your principles intact
    Investors will only invest if there is money to be made. So far there is no evidence that there is any money in LOI football, except for the odd exception. There is little to no football 'industry' in Ireland. There is only 1 other sport in Ireland that has been able to make a fist of professionalism - and that is Rugby and even that is basically a centrally funded model that has no chance of survival in football.

Give me a club with principles any day of the week.

Some bizarre points raised there.

As if sugar daddies grow on trees and getting one in will win us the league. It hasn't worked out well lately for you guys, has it?

You seem to be under the impression also that 3rd from bottom is the height of our ambitions. Recent seasons should have thought you that is nonsense. Let Shels break the bank again chasing the rainbow, I'm far more comfortable with what we are doing.

Remember, we have 2 years in Tolka to plan for, revenue streams are going to be slashed. We have rainy day plans in place to try and counter this.

Getting sugar daddies in, borrowing money to fund a title challenge is pie in the sky stuff.

You don't have to invest in the first team, rovers have invested circa 1 million in the academy and infrastructure,
    Throwing money at the first team would be daft but investing in the right areas with some support for the first team is a viable stratagy

As I said above I would rather have bohs in the premier then shels and when shels get promoted a very modest investment will Hoover up the best returning kids who are currently going to bohs.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Boez will find a way to f*"k it up. It's what they do. It's who they are.
    Bankruptcy and relegation still hunting dear ?

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone

427 Posts
    Let he who is without sin cast the first stone
    Remind me again when Bohs were relegated ? Just one occasion will do.
    Or indeed when we went bankrupt ?
    ....in your own time 😁

427 Posts
    You don't have to invest in the first team, rovers have invested circa 1 million in the academy and infrastructure,
    Throwing money at the first team would be daft but investing in the right areas with some support for the first team is a viable stratagy
    Judging by accumulated losses on your accounts, this new found fiscal rectitude regarding first team spending is indeed welcome, if a little hard to believe

I think you are missing the point of my quote...
    Obviously wasted on you.

I could talk about employing players with convictions for sexual offences, selling your ground twice, etc etc. We are all sinners in some way or other.
    Shouting at each other about it is like two bald men fighting over a comb.
    My original comment was a concern that bohs are at risk from shels. Sorry I bothered ....

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    I think you are missing the point of my quote...
    Obviously wasted on you.
    This is a typical disparaging and dismissive response when you are called out on a comment you have made.

Back it up if there is any backbone

172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    This is a typical disparaging and dismissive response when you are called out on a comment you have made.

Sorry but I can't let that go.
    Pot , kettle , black there Ezekiel,my friend

172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Bankruptcy and relegation still hunting dear ?
    Au contraire bozo.
    Relegation for Rovers was the turning point for the club, forcing us to address some uncomfortable truths, get our $hit together and organise the collective fanbase into affirmative action. Moving to tallaght, playing real Madrid, 2 league titles,Europa League games etc etc- this was the fruits of our initial labours, and the club has never looked back since.
    Assuming the DCC get the stadium built it's an opportunity for a team to reap those kind of opportunities- you better hope it's youse instead of shels.

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post

LOL and the voice of reason shows up.
    time to get my "bang head here" sign out

I'm sorry i ever expressed any concern for bohs regarding Shels new set up , i should have just kept shouting insults.

roll on Friday

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Sorry but I can't let that go.
    Pot , kettle , black there Ezekiel,my friend
    Not so, I rarely shy away from backing up any comments I make here.
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 27/02/2019 at 11:57 AM.

663 Posts

I'm sorry i ever expressed any concern for bohs regarding Shels new set up , i should have just kept shouting insults.

roll on Friday
    Just the type of stuff I referred to.

Bluster, dismissiveness and no substance

2,626 Posts

roll on Friday
    You've mentioned that before sbgawa here a few times to stoke up some sort of fear of Shels masked as concern for Bohs... assuming for a second you are being sincere and want to talk about this... how sustainable is the Shels model? What is the short and long term vision there (outside of "fck Bohs' sh!t up, fam")? All I see is money being p!ssed against the wind. Again.

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast