Page 7 of 29 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: American Politics

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    No collusion. No obstruction. As close to a full exoneration as could reasonably have been expected.

A very good day for Trump. A horrendous day for the left and the mainstream media.

I predict the next few weeks and months will be very interesting.

LOL.

The next few months will be very interesting. My belief is that Mueller has all angles covered. Congress will decide on the report and take it from there but in the meantime he's passed all the tax fraud/etc cases to other districts to pursue.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

772 Posts

2,611 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Says Barr, the man appointed by Trump 4 months ago. I'll wait for the report, thanks. And that's not even what he said, by the way.
    Barr and Mueller are friends and have worked together for a long time. Wait for the report but the good news is that Barr quoted from the report in stating that there was NO EVIDENCE of collusion. Mueller punted the obstruction question to the DoJ and both Barr and Rosenstein BOTH said there was NO obstruction case to be answered.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    SkStu, are you seriously a Trump supporter? You've been a member here for years and I've always thought of you as fairly level-headed and, well, normal. I don't mean to be rude, but your posts in here of late have changed my opinion significantly. I'm genuinely disappointed.
    Sorry to be a disappointment to you DaH but I’m not concerned about how disappointed you are in me - at all. I am comfortable in my own skin and with the values I hold. And I am happy to debate opposing ideas and values in a respectful manner, preferably without resorting to some of the labels you have thrown at me in the past.

Am I a Trump supporter? Compared to many on here I would be although I a) do not agree with his position on a certain issues, b) think he is obtuse and bombastic and c) think he is a flawed individual. Most politicians I can think of would not score remarkably highly in any of those categories either.

I’ve always qualified my support for his presidency with the above but no-one cares - if you agree with even one thing he says or does then you’re a big bad Trump supporter. That’s all anyone hears. I think he deserves a chance to govern without all this manufactured outrage and I am absolutely delighted - positively giddy - that “Russia-gate” has come crashing down around the DNC and their media lackeys. If crimes have been committed by “the other side” during this last 2.5 years, I really, truly hope they get their comeuppance.

2,611 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    The next few months will be very interesting. My belief is that Mueller has all angles covered. Congress will decide on the report and take it from there but in the meantime he's passed all the tax fraud/etc cases to other districts to pursue.
    Interesting take. As far as I know, Mueller has already confirmed that there are no more indictments coming as a result of his investigation (see below). I also think anything of this nature would have been leaked and we’d be hearing all about it.

https://www.pbs.org/newshour/politic...re-indictments

My take on the next few weeks and months being interesting is based on the assumption that some/all of following happen and the fall out that results.

1) Declassification (FISA)
    https://thehill.com/homenews/house/4...rlying-mueller
    2) Horowitz Report (Inspector General)
    https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/n...s-still-active
    3) Huber Report (US Attorney for Utah)
    https://thehill.com/policy/national-...-investigation

43 Posts
    Interesting take. As far as I know, Mueller has already confirmed that there are no more indictments coming as a result of his investigation (see below). I also think anything of this nature would have been leaked and we’d be hearing all about it.

My take on the next few weeks and months being interesting is based on the assumption that some/all of following happen and the fall out that results.

The probe into Russian involvement is what Team Trump is focusing on and language used for me anyhow indicated it was only Russian involvement that was closed. The report is being kept well under wraps and that for me is more telling and as there has been nothing leaked, do you not find that more intriguing? Why not release the full report unless it would jeopardise ongoing investigations? At federal and state level we have prosecutors working on some of Meullers work beyond what was already brought. Other prosectors within Justice Dept may take over criminal cases. New York is already chomping at the bit to 'do him' with Manhattan District Attorney taking on Manafort and further investigate the Trump foundation's financials.

All speculation of course, but I'm of the belief they'll go after his family one by one and he'd probably let them all go down before his financials are exposed. Interestingly, New York have subpoenaed Trump's insurers Aon and the House oversight committee have requested financial statements from his accountants as a result of Cohens evidence.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

2,611 Posts
    Back on topic... just for RAM!

https://www.dailywire.com/news/45465...aign=dwtwitter

I don’t know what this really means about the state of cable news stateside but it made me laugh. Ignoring the usual posturing, these are crazy times!

772 Posts
    Back on topic... just for RAM!

https://www.dailywire.com/news/45465...aign=dwtwitter

I don’t know what this really means about the state of cable news stateside but it made me laugh. Ignoring the usual posturing, these are crazy times!
    Leaving Politics aside - I've often wondered if another 'right wing' news was set-up in the states it would it make hay. It seems Fox news has a monopoly on that side of the fence over there. Their ratings have been tops for years. I find CNN hard enough to watch tbh. Prefer local news channels when I'm in the states and some PBS - Frontline is good.

2,611 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Leaving Politics aside - I've often wondered if another 'right wing' news was set-up in the states it would it make hay. It seems Fox news has a monopoly on that side of the fence over there. Their ratings have been tops for years. I find CNN hard enough to watch tbh. Prefer local news channels when I'm in the states and some PBS - Frontline is good.
    There are some decent right-leaning news outlets but they have tiny market share and are online platforms. For example, OANN (One America News Network) is decent (from my perspective). Jack Posobiec seems to get a lot of scoops and is someone I would consider balanced.

CNN is truly atrocious to watch, I agree. I try watching in hotels when I am out of town with work and I can rarely make it more than 5-10 minutes. AC the best of a horrendous bunch.
    Last edited by SkStu; 03/04/2019 at 2:49 PM.

999 Posts
    I used to watch CNN when I lived abroad, and it was appalling stuff. They had some guy called Aaron Brown then who was supposed to be some hard-hitting truth spewer, but it was just terrible quality stuff. He was eventually replaced by the bland Anderson Cooper (who wasn't too bad to be fair). Wolf Blitzer was another faker, and there was some English guy on sports who was just a kind of satire of what American seem to think English people are.

It was so different, and I think other US stations are very similar from what I've seen, in that it was so obviously to entertain, rather than inform.
    Last edited by osarusan; 03/04/2019 at 9:28 PM.

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I used to watch CNN when I lived abroad, and it was appalling stuff. They had some guy called Aaron Brown then who was supposed to be some hard-hitting truth spewer, but it was just terrible quality stuff. He was eventually replaced by the bland Anderson Cooper (who wasn't too bad to be fair). Wolf Blitzer was another faker, and there was some English guy on sports who was just a kind of satire of what American seem to think English people are.

It was so different, and I think other US stations are very similar from what I've seen, in that it was so obviously to entertain, rather than inform.
    However I won't have a word said against Pedro Pinto! Did the late night (for us) Sports news all the time. Very knowledgeable. He's now head of media for FIFA - did some of the Champions league draws this year IIRC.

999 Posts
    However I won't have a word said against Pedro Pinto! Did the late night (for us) Sports news all the time. Very knowledgeable. He's now head of media for FIFA - did some of the Champions league draws this year IIRC.
    No, some guy called Dan or Don something.

This was about 15 years ago so they may be long gone.

602 Posts
    Well that's a neat place to bring the Sinclair Broadcast Group into the debate - for those of you who don't watch John Oliver, a lot of Americans, just like RAM, tend to trust the news programs on their local stations over what they see as the partisanship of the national media. However, hundreds of these stations have been bought by a media conglomerate called Sinclair Broadcasting Group who have been imposing editorial content on these local news programs with this result:
    https://youtu.be/_fHfgU8oMSo
    Last edited by samhaydenjr; 04/04/2019 at 2:15 AM.

2,611 Posts

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-47884252

This is pretty big in the context of my above post, if you ask me. The swamp (right and left) swung and missed. Inning over. Trump is up to bat. [apologies for the baseball analogies )

Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    Well that's a neat place to bring the Sinclair Broadcast Group into the debate - for those of you who don't watch John Oliver, a lot of Americans, just like RAM, tend to trust the news programs on their local stations over what they see as the partisanship of the national media. However, hundreds of these stations have been bought by a media conglomerate called Sinclair Broadcasting Group who have been imposing editorial content on these local news programs with this result:
    https://youtu.be/_fHfgU8oMSo
    Hey Sam, I saw that video some time ago. It is very shocking when you see it like that. Any pretence of objectivity (or non-partisanship) is missing from almost every outlet at this point. Which is part of the problem when you place such power in the hands of so few. Your post reminded me of an infographic that I had seen a few years ago that gets to this point. It is old but it is still very relevant.

https://www.businessinsider.com/thes...america-2012-6

And this tweet from wikileaks to another, different infographic that shows the connections and control the Council on Foreign Relations has over the media companies.

https://swprs.files.wordpress.com/20...rk-hdv-spr.png

https://twitter.com/DefendAssange/st...31163358679040

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Counci...eign_Relations
    Last edited by dahamsta; 10/04/2019 at 9:13 PM.

772 Posts
    Fox News - in a shock - are NOT 'at it' again.

Instead they have given Bernie Sanders a platform to spout his 'communism'..

those guys might be alright

https://youtu.be/p4ozAACcc8I

2,611 Posts
    What are your guys' thoughts on the Epstein suicide? Whether you are on the #trumpbodycount or #clintonbodycount train, you have to think that this feckin stinks eh? Absolutely sickened that the chances of us getting anywhere close to the truth on this are next to zero now.

19. Thanks From:

999 Posts
    It does all seem incredibly convenient for plenty of powerful people...but I also think the likelihood of him actually being taken out in prison is pretty slim.

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    It does all seem incredibly convenient for plenty of powerful people...but I also think the likelihood of him actually being taken out in prison is pretty slim.
    I'd be of the opposite view. A hugely high profile prisoner allowed to apparently hang himself. No, not for me.

166 Posts
    What are your guys' thoughts on the Epstein suicide? Whether you are on the #trumpbodycount or #clintonbodycount train, you have to think that this feckin stinks eh? Absolutely sickened that the chances of us getting anywhere close to the truth on this are next to zero now.
    A few things I heard today on talk radio in America (Jeff Kuhner / Rush Limbaugh).
    Epstein was supposed to be physically checked every 15 minutes by prison guards - he went unchecked for hours.
    There was a camera inside (and outside) Epstein's cell. The camera didn't work at the time (that's the same time as the guards didn't do the physical check).
    Early word from the investigation is that the guards were doing a lot of overtime and were overworked - taking any normal person who is overworked, they would attend to their most important tasks first and perhaps neglect the less important taks. Seem logical? But logic didn't play a part in their thinking on this occassion.
    Epstein was taken off suicide watch by a combination of a physchiatrist and the warden (I must stress this is unsubstantiated at present).
    According to reports no one on suicide watch has ever managed to commit suicide in this particular prison.
    And the AG (William Barr) is lining up an investigation to involve the Inspector General (that would seem to indicate he has no faith in the FBI.......that's huge)

And, you guessed it, the mainstream media has forgotten how to spell the name Clinton at the current time and can only say one word "Trump".

24. Thanks From:

166 Posts
    Interesting point which I just heard on Fox News (from a former inmate of that very prison).
    The inmate said that if some very high profile person wanted Epstein dead they could have done it at any time in the recent past and not in the fashion which happened at the weekend.
    Makes sense.
    Epstein's death in a confined space like this will yield quite a bit of forensic evidence.
    The new theory is that he was given an instrument to hang himself with and someone was paid to look the other way.

26. Thanks From:

602 Posts
    Perhaps, and I certainly wouldn't put it past any of the rich and powerful. At the same time, we are living in a time where spouting conspiracy theories has become a tool to advance actual conspiracies. I mean Clinton knew him, but so did Trump (in spite of his denials) - and the first public people actually accused of sexual misconduct in relation to his actions are Prince Andrew and Alan Dershowitz - could the Royal Family have orchestrated it? And the Daily Mail has published pictures of Epstein and the accuser, Virginia Roberts, at a party on convicted fraudster Flavio Briatore's boat that Eddie Jordan also attended - so could he have been killed to protect Formula 1? Or perhaps it was the Russian government looking to protect their boy Trump. Or maybe it was some guards/prisoners who believed he would get away with another slap on the wrist.

Or perhaps he decided to kill himself because he didn't have a way out this time and didn't have the guts to face up to his crimes and victims.

So I guess we'll just have to listen to the official evidence in an open-minded manner and analyze it fairly and possibly even accept it unless there is compelling evidence to the contrary. Yes, yes, we know, Donald... BORING!!!

Page 7 of 29 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast