Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Metal, Punk, Noise

Quote Originally Posted by ken foree
    the new goth stuff is completely alien to me! i don't think i've heard one track in this genre
    In general, I don't like it either. It's no pure gothic, it's metal with a few goth elements. But it's still metal. Or darkwave with a bit of gothic. Apart from a few bands, I never got into it.

Gothic is an eighties thing for me, and the newer acts are not even pure goth in my opinion, except for a few exceptions. Luckily I'll always have the records of Bauhaus, early Cure, early Silke Bischoff... The subculture became a very minor underground thing again, but the music will stick with me forever thanks to digital technology And the contacts with the few likewise goths is great, just sitting together enjoying our culture and preaching on how good it all used to be and how bad it is today Of course there are exceptions, but there are not much pure goth bands rising nowadays. Luckily some of the pioneers are still going strong: new Sisters of Mercy festival dates announced !!
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

I'm into Punk, that is real punk 1977-84. Bands like Dead Kennedys, Crass, Conflict, The Exploited, Subhumans. But I also listen to metal bands such as Sepultura, Unleashed, Entombed, and various other death/thrash bands.

Quote Originally Posted by Woody
    I'm into Punk, that is real punk 1977-84. Bands like Dead Kennedys, Crass, Conflict, The Exploited, Subhumans. But I also listen to metal bands such as Sepultura, Unleashed, Entombed, and various other death/thrash bands.
    Dead Kennedys

Great band

hopefully getting this thread changed to 'metal, punk, and noise.'

television were an unreal (post-punk?) band for a period around the late 70s. 'marquee moon' is stunning! too bad they only had two real records.

saw this band sightings on sat. night. an absolute sawblade of unremitting and terrorizing noise. it was nausea-inducing, never felt my ears so assaulted. it was a real whiteout, loudest thing i ever heard. my fillings were vibrating in my teeth yaarrghh!

Marilyn Manson is not supporting Iron Maiden. It's a double concert with two main acts, both will play a full set as far as I know. I hope anyway, I don't care about Iron Maiden but been a Manson fan for many years. I will be there, but it will be for Marilyn Manson, I'll stay for Maiden as well just out of curiosity but it's only to see Marilyn again that I am going to the RSD.

Is it a decent hall ? I've been to gigs in Temple Bar MusicCentre, Village and Olympia, don't even know where RSD is to be honest. I like the acoustics in the Temple Bar MC must say.

101 Posts
    I take it you mean the RDS - it is in Ballsbridge Dublin 4.

It's a big venue with different locations for a concert. There is a main arena where I ain't seen a concert.

I seen Korn in Simmonscourt Pavillion part which is a great place for a concert I think and I seen Metallica/Slipknot on their outdoor pitch venue. Not a fan of outdoor concerts to be honest.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by red til dead
    in reaction to gerrit. marilyn manson can consider himself blessed to be mentioned in th same breath as maiden&he will very much be supportin iron maiden. mandon wudn't sell out the point or even da olympia so he can hardly be put on the same pegging as maiden
    Yeah I would pretty much agree with that.

Marilyn Manson easily sells out arenas all over Europe and US. I have been to several concerts of him (fan since almost 7 years now) and everytime it was a sold-out or almost sold-out, and we're not talking about small concerts rooms like the Village.

In Ireland it seems he's not that popular yet, but still, in general he has a loyal following in most western countries.

Iron Maiden were around for 25 years or 30 or so ? Of course they'll be the main act, would be an insult if they weren't. But Manson will not come all the way to Europe to play 6 songs like so many support acts do. He will play a more or less full set. Looking forward to it really, I just hope I won't be the only Manson fan in an arena full of Iron Maiden fans who don't care about MM.

Quote Originally Posted by red til dead
    in reaction to gerrit. marilyn manson can consider himself blessed to be mentioned in th same breath as maiden&he will very much be supportin iron maiden. mandon wudn't sell out the point or even da olympia so he can hardly be put on the same pegging as maiden
    I have a fair amount of time for Iron Maiden and I'm not a fan of Marilyn Manson at all but that's really a load of rubbish. Maiden's longevity is truly impressive but in the last decade Manson's sales have far outstripped theirs and to suggest he wouldn't sell out the Olympia is a bit naive.

The more cynial part of me would actually respectfully suggest that Maiden are bringing Manson along because he'll attract a different sort of crowd who wouldn't go otherwise and thus make sure that the Maiden boys don't suffer the indignity of empty seats.

Manson's being going downhill for years now. I originally started listening to him after Portrait of an American family came out, thats about ten or eleven years now I guess, but wouldn't bother buying tickets to see him nowadays. I still love many of the albums, but after Mechanical Animals it all went horribly horribly wrong. The music seemed to lose its edge, and I grew sick of the man himself and his attitude. I still love kicking back with some of the older albums though, but there's no live appeal there for me anymore.

I don't think anyone should limit themselves to any one style/genre, just scanning the pages I've seen alot of "I listen to XXX" style posts. Personally, I'm into most things once they're well written and interesting to listen to, from the likes of Sigur Rós and Juno Reactor up to Death and Cynic.

On a side note: Burzums prison-releases sucked!
    God

2 decent reviews..

..today on pitchforkmedia, one of a doom/drone stoner metal band called om (3 songs with repetitive riffs) and another band with horror movie soundtrack stylings.. forget their name but both sound good

Is it a decent hall ? I've been to gigs in Temple Bar MusicCentre, Village and Olympia, don't even know where RSD is to be honest. I like the acoustics in the Temple Bar MC must say.
    its huge saw metallica there, great great venue, perfect for the iron maidan, are there any tickets still available i would def go to this one.

The more cynial part of me would actually respectfully suggest that Maiden are bringing Manson along because he'll attract a different sort of crowd who wouldn't go otherwise and thus make sure that the Maiden boys don't suffer the indignity of empty seats
    thats exactly it, same as metallica but their is a little more to it as well, if you get them in you can sell out the concert full stop making more money for both bands and the organisers, there is also another factor, if manson fans who have never heard maiden stuff go and listen to manson they will more than likely stay to listen to maiden ( actually they wont they will have to go home as its past their bed time once he finishes ) and in turn that may turn some of them into maiden fans, i.e. like one or two songs and go and buy an album.

its two fold really, increasing their income and popularity.

ok gonna stick my oar in here.

metal punk noise favs:

god forbid ( check out 'judge the blood' or 'antihero', GF are my new fav band)
    3 inches of blood
    metallica ( especially anything off 'and justice for all',or master of puppets)
    maiden
    megadeth
    refused ( check out 'new noise')
    avenged sevenfold
    sepultura
    soulfly
    thrice
    glassjaw
    jack off jill
    killswitch engage
    sabbath
    machine head
    million dead ( check out 'breaking the back' )
    pantera ( rip dimebag)
    social distortion
    system of a down
    tool
    slayer
    at the drive in ( anything off 'relationship of command')
    faith no more
    poison the well
    illiteracy and alphabet soup hmm?

Nice to see Jack Off Jill mentioned, quality band!
    God

Refused are awesome.

Quote Originally Posted by EnDai
    Manson's being going downhill for years now. I originally started listening to him after Portrait of an American family came out, thats about ten or eleven years now I guess, but wouldn't bother buying tickets to see him nowadays. I still love many of the albums, but after Mechanical Animals it all went horribly horribly wrong. The music seemed to lose its edge, and I grew sick of the man himself and his attitude. I still love kicking back with some of the older albums though, but there's no live appeal there for me anymore.

I don't think anyone should limit themselves to any one style/genre, just scanning the pages I've seen alot of "I listen to XXX" style posts. Personally, I'm into most things once they're well written and interesting to listen to, from the likes of Sigur Rós and Juno Reactor up to Death and Cynic.

On a side note: Burzums prison-releases sucked!
    Of course they did. He was not allowed to use any guitars, because they feared he'd strangle the other inmates with the strings (seriously !). He made those prison albums with synthesisers only...

Manson is a brilliant live performer. I have seen him three times during the Golden Age of Grotesque tour, the show is very amusing and vocally he comes close to perfection.

Mechanical Animals is still one of my fav albums ever, and Antichrist Superstar is the best example of a concept album you can ever get. I didn't like Holy Wood that much (except for the very good The Nobodies and its brilliant video) but TGAOG was a huge step back in the right direction. "Para-noir" (a song which happens to be disliked by lot of other Mansonites) is a track that IMO reaches the same brilliance as the ones on Mechanical Animals. Glamrock of huge class.

I am glad as well he's calmed down. I hate it when teenage Manson fans find it so cool how he used to behave. "Cool, he dared to insult God, urinate and w-ank on stage, self-mutilate, give Trent Reznor a blowjob..."
    Argh, it sickens me to hear those comments I am very very glad he dropped all that. Marilyn Manson these days is about music, nothing more, nothing less. He does no longer misbehave and only insinuates now and then, but never crosses a line again. And unlike many Mansonites, I am very glad with that. I was tired of hearing how I supported a 'disgusting performer'. I was tired of hearing it because I could not even blame them for that quote. His music was excellent but all attention went to his behavior. I am very glad that he has calmed down and that I can enjoy his concerts and music in peace, only having to care about the music. I am glad I can finally say I am a fan of a good musician, whereas in the past I always have to add that I did disapprove some of his acts despite liking the music. Manson today is about music, and let's keep it that way. Otherwise he'd make people turn their backs on him and miss out the great music he makes.

And not all of us Mansonites are underages Don't expect to see my bed before the sun comes up again that night !

Yeah, but he apparently turned his back on "true" black metal anyways, so it would have probably sounded the same anyways! That said, in recent (enough) interviews he's expressed an interest in re-continuing where Burzum really left off! Sweet!

Honestly, I've only heard TGAOG once, and vowed never to subject myself to it again. Even Tim Skold couldn't help!! (And thats saying something!) Portrait up as far as Mechanical Animals were all excellent through and through though.
    God

thomo you have a good taste in music fair play to ye. some great bands there, must try out at the drive in as have heard a lot about them, dont know much about refused either. what style are jack off jil??

Quote Originally Posted by EnDai
    Yeah, but he apparently turned his back on "true" black metal anyways, so it would have probably sounded the same anyways! That said, in recent (enough) interviews he's expressed an interest in re-continuing where Burzum really left off! Sweet!

Honestly, I've only heard TGAOG once, and vowed never to subject myself to it again. Even Tim Skold couldn't help!! (And thats saying something!) Portrait up as far as Mechanical Animals were all excellent through and through though.
    TGAOG was a step towards the glam-metal on Mechanical Animals (which is often stated as his worst release, I on the other hand still find it his best work). There were some less good songs on TGAOG so it did not have the constant high quality as MA, but a few songs on the album would not misfit on MA. Also, lyrically This Is The New Sh!t was one of his less serious songs, but thanks to the slow opener and powerful chorus it's the excellent song to open a Manson gig with, though I still prefer Reflecting God for that.

For Dublin, I hope for this setlist, order of songs is less important except for the opener and encore:

The Reflecting God (opener)
    Dogma
    Dope Hat
    The Beautiful People
    Cryptorchid (his most underestimated song)
    Man That You Fear (encore)
    Irresponsable Hate Anthem (encore)
    Great Big White World
    Dope Show
    Rock Is Dead
    Coma White
    The Fight Song
    The Nobodies
    The Love Song
    Tainted Love
    Personal Jesus
    Para-Noir
    mOBSCENE

It's a "best of" tour and the excellent opportunity to reach out to the Irish public. So I hope he plays more work from the first two albums than in the previous tours. Last tour I saw him 3 times and heard no songs from Portrait OAAF...

As for Burzum: he turned into a nazi in prison, so Varg found black metal somehow not nazi enough and also had a problem with the word 'black' in the genre's style. Ack, the guy is a complete nut, but his first albums were legendaric (apparently Aske is most appreciated in general)

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast