Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: 2019 Televised Fixtures

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Sir, I doff my hat to you. That is exactly were it was from. When that episode aired, my Mc surname was changed to McGonigle by a group of friends. Simpler times
    Lol fair enough! I wont mention what I got from friends, its certainly had nothing to do with a classy Italian defender!!

2,337 Posts
    Not to get too pedantic about a TV show, but that character was McGarnagle, not McGonigle.

It's the little things.

772 Posts
    Yeah but kind of pronounced McGonigle. My cousin married a McGonigle and I used to shout the line at him to wind him up cos he hated the Simpsons. Probably why I remember it more than other lines.

2,337 Posts
    Tomato is kind of pronounced potato too.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Not to get too pedantic about a TV show, but that character was McGarnagle, not McGonigle.

It's the little things.
    True but I was too lazy to Google it at the time and still to lazy to bother changing it...

2,337 Posts

229 Posts
    [QUOTE=nigel-harps1954;1992190]Not to get too pedantic about a TV show, but that character was McGarnagle, not McGonigle.

You`re back on the case Mc Garnagle.

120 Posts
    This could be thread of the season already....

This sums up the state of the current broadcasting arrangement perfectly.

https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/sta...115464192?s=19

We've to wait three days for highlights in a show that used to be twice as long, being aired at the same time many people will go to matches not having a clue when they'll get to watch the highlights of what they're about to see.

1,522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosshead View Post
    This sums up the state of the current broadcasting arrangement perfectly.

https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/sta...115464192?s=19

We've to wait three days for highlights in a show that used to be twice as long, being aired at the same time many people will go to matches not having a clue when they'll get to watch the highlights of what they're about to see.
    Yeah, but apart from that it's grand.

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Tomato is kind of pronounced potato too.
    Don't get too pedantic now!

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    I always thought it was The Simpsons - "You're off the case McGonigle!"
    Love that one. “You’re off your case Chief!”.

74 Posts
    Expect goals & highlights from all LoI matches tonights on club social media. FAI are writing to all clubs today to confirm that the embargo from RTE doesn't exist, though wording will be interesting

Long overdue & a potential game changer for clubs ability to market.

The Fai lies through their teeth on this . How can the loi ever hope to develop when their being run by an organization that has no interest in it..

65 Posts
    They're only following the fine example given by the Mail - recycle last year's everything.

2,337 Posts
    FAI Statement is pretty funny..

The SSE Airtricity League can confirm that following discussions with RTE, clubs can now broadcast goals from their matches on their official club social media channels.
    RTE have removed the embargo on clubs promoting their own sourced goal footage until after the Soccer Republic show on a Monday night.
    This decision follows talks on Monday, February 25 between League officials and RTE Sport and is welcomed by the SSE Airtricity League.

386 Posts
    Embarrassing commentary on our game v Pats.

Darragh Markey takes a shot for us according to the commentator (Daryl Forsyth) and then the next play they show he says Darragh Markey had a shot for Pats (when it was Chris Forrestor). Then our next effort came from Mikey Drennan who in the next attack for Pats had a chance for them.

637 Posts
    Banging my head against a wall here but just to add my voice to it......women's feckin rugby, any old ****e, it's a disgrace how the league is treated

870 Posts
    Careful now!! Ye have to watch what you say on such things thsese days or you might have a hastag in front of you name in no time....

Nothing wrong with showing women's rugby but the women's football team should be afforded the same space, which they aren't and never will be.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Banging my head against a wall here but just to add my voice to it......women's feckin rugby, any old ****e, it's a disgrace how the league is treated
    Ah there's nothing wrong with showing the women's rugby it's the pointless reruns of ****e TV shows that deserve the criticism. As the publicly funded TV provider they should be showing as much Irish sport they can get their hands on, international, domestic, football, GAA, rugby everything but instead they show the same episode of the big bang theory or whatever for the 100th time

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast