Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers Examinership Thread

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Your great , run up 2.5 million & then decide to do something about it. Cop on. Your going out of business. You have no chance of paying back the money. slagging of other clubs that are playing by the rules & not living beyond their meens is sad. Make the most of your next few games, their going to be your last in the league for a long time.
    Just like to remind you that in July 2003, Chelsea were £93 million in debt, and were 1 week away from administration before they were bought by an oligarch. Now they are Premiership champions, CL semi-finalists, and awash with money. If they can do it, so can Rovers.

176 Posts
    Can we have special treatment too so
    On what grounds? Pardon the pun!!

Your situation is totally different. It's like when Pats left Richmond to play in Harolds Cross for 4 seasons. Whitehall is still your home ground, whereas we don't have any.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

176 Posts
    Read this post. Roddy was in discussions with Rovers board, while he was still manager of Dublin City, the team that was in a relegation battle with Rovers.
    Right, read it! I would just like to point out once again, that there was no relegation battle last season. As soon as it was announced that only 1 team would be relegated, everyone knew that it would be Home Farm. Guess who were relegated? Home Farm!! At the point that Roddy joined us, we were 7 points clear of them, so there was no battle. Home Farm were duly relegated, and finished 13 points from safety. Whether RC was in charge of Home Farm or not, wouldn't have affected the final placings.

As regards players not playing for you when RC left your club, 2 Rovers players have already threatened to leave this season. Are our fans whinging and whining about it?? No, we can understand players who are considering leaving the club because of the current situation. It's unpleasant but understandable.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Derek - Dublin City AREN'T 3 years old. Your interest in them may date back to then - but in actual fact the club goes back a lot further. You're just Home Farm with a new name, and they've been in the league for decades - much longer than Cork City, Derry City, Bray Wanderers, Longford Town, Cobh Ramblers, Monaghan United, Kildare County, Kilkenny City, and the ill-fated NewcastleWest and St Francis have been. You've therefore been in existence as a league club for longer than at least 40% of the rest of the league. How does that make you a new club....?

Kildare County - now they're a new club. Applied to join the league, got accepted, and are slowly evolving into a team that can represent their town and County.

Dublin City - just took an existing club with very few fans, changed it's name and assumed it's league position. No new application to join, no new set-up. Same club, same players, same lack of fans. Just a new name and grander aspirations.

The fact that your club has gone through more name changes than The Jackal in the last 20 years says a lot about your role and position in Irish football.....
    If you talk to Home Farm, you'll get a different story. As has been pointed out before, there is no queue to get into the Eircom league. Dublin City started at the bottom. The licence was bleeding Home Farm dry; they were only delighted for someone to take it on. They want nothing to do with Dublin City & have in fact gone out of their way to awkward. Who exactly are we keeping out of the league?

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    . Whitehall is still your home ground, whereas we don't have any.
    Where have you been . it wasn't even our ground last year. do you actually go to games?

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Just like to remind you that in July 2003, Chelsea were £93 million in debt, and were 1 week away from administration before they were bought by an oligarch. Now they are Premiership champions, CL semi-finalists, and awash with money. If they can do it, so can Rovers.
    They had assets, huge fan base & huge merchandising opportunities. Are you seriously telling me sthere a suger dady out there who is going to come up with the money to pay off the debts of Rovers.

If you talk to Home Farm, you'll get a different story. As has been pointed out before, there is no queue to get into the Eircom league. Dublin City started at the bottom. The licence was bleeding Home Farm dry; they were only delighted for someone to take it on. They want nothing to do with Dublin City & have in fact gone out of their way to awkward. Who exactly are we keeping out of the league?
    Right so, so did you apply to join the league or not? Or was it processed as a name change or new application? You can't change your story to suit the circumstances.

Mullingar Athletic tried to join the league at the same time as Kildare btw, and I'm sure if they knew there was a "new" spot in the league they would've applied again. But there wasn't, as it was a name change, unless it was a lie.

Edit - Same time as Kildare, when St Francis left/merged
    Last edited by Macy; 15/04/2005 at 8:55 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Mullingar Athletic tried to join the league at the same time as St Francis btw, and I'm sure if they knew there was a "new" spot in the league they would've applied again. But there wasn't, as it was a name change, unless it was a lie.
    Everyone year the lowest team is re-elected , if no other team wants to come in ,AFAIK, why has their never been a vote on Mullingar Athletic or St Francis ?

I don't hate DC but Ringo seemed to be taking too much pleasure in the problems of a another eL club so was valid to point out the idiocy of his posts.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    From what i hear the structure of the Rovers debt (2.5m sound a lot) is such that chances of salvation of fairly good with e new board. Its the Rovers 300 odd members of their '400' club that will save their club - have DC ever had 300 home fans at a game?
    1. It doesn't sound like a lot, it is a lot.
    2. They can't get a new board till after the examinership.
    3. With all due respect to the 400 club, no one would expect them to fund the present board.
    4. Where is the money going to come from?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I don't hate DC but Ringo seemed to be taking too much pleasure in the problems of a another eL club so was valid to point out the idiocy of his posts.

possibly he's the lone voice of dissent from the el buddy club with their foaming at the mouth moral indignation - and lack of common sense with regard to a shower of cowboys taking the píss on a grand theft auto scale - and making free with state aid and priviliges which would be better served ploughed into responsible outfits

wont somebody PLEASE think of the Shamrocks

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wws
    possibly he's the lone voice of dissent from the el buddy club with their foaming at the mouth moral indignation - and lack of common sense with regard to a shower of cowboys taking the píss on a grand theft auto scale - and making free with state aid and priviliges which would be better served ploughed into responsible outfits

wont somebody PLEASE think of the Shamrocks
    I thought'd you'd empathise with Rovers. Weren't Pats the other club that misapropriated capital grant money for other purposes?

gee u got me there

head for the hills ma baker!

more el fan nonsense

get into the real world u idiot - WE HAVENT EVN GOT THE GRANT MONEY we were supposed to fcking get

geesh where do these ppl come from

Your great , run up 2.5 million & then decide to do something about it. Cop on. Your going out of business. You have no chance of paying back the money. slagging of other clubs that are playing by the rules & not living beyond their meens is sad. Make the most of your next few games, their going to be your last in the league for a long time.
    Dear obsessed it wasnt me or any of the fans who ran up this outrageous debt. We're not going out of business. Here's why: we have fans that are extraordinarily passionate about the club and are now working to raise funds to get us through this.

Another fact is that every club lives beyond its means. How does CHF pay its players when the gate receipts are the equivalent of a round a drinks?

Only 2 members of the board are in situ during the present administration. If they stump up the cash they will be the future of the club but that is hardly likely.

We deal with facts and reality. You live in an anti Roddy, anti Rovers fantasy. You'd rather be in the first division than being in the premier?! Good boy that sums up your club alright managed by a nutter supported by????????????????????????????????

Come back if you have constructive criticism or even a point to make. If not nobody will miss you like your club who should be replaced by a team from Kerry.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Another fact is that every club lives beyond its means.
    Don't tar us all with the same brush.

Since you haven't seen accounts for every club don't use the word 'fact' either. It's a word that gets used too much on this forum.

Everyone year the lowest team is re-elected , if no other team wants to come in ,AFAIK, why has their never been a vote on Mullingar Athletic or St Francis ?
    Ringo - all of this doesn't escape the fact that Dublin City were NOT a new team. Regardless of what your relationship may or may not be with Home Farm now, and regardless of what their particular circumstances were at the time, there is a straight line between Home Farm's league membership and yours. The 2 of them are inextricably linked, as one and the same.

If there aren't, then I look forward to hearing about Dublin City's application to join the league. Whether or not anyone else is banging on the door to join is irrelevant.

And besides - the league's always managed to find teams when it's wanted to/had to, so don't be thinking you're the only club in the village now.....

Regardless of much rovers have deteriorated in the past couple of decades it would indeed be a sad day for Irish football.
    At present rovers are in as bad a state than St. Francis were a few years ago (if not worse) and do have little hope of recovery. Also they have the worse fans in the league, not saying all their fans are bad but they have attracted bad support to the club which has made them one of the country's favourite teams to hate.
    There is great tradition associated with the club that has been lost in translation recently. E.g. the atmosphere that used to be generated from the games when rovers and shels both hailed from the Pearse St./Ringsend area was just magic and very treasurable (that was a proper rivalry without the violence the game sees today).
    Then both teams moved away but not without leaving behind some memorable matches.

I personally am a Shels fan (ence the crest) but the day rovers are gone will be a sad day for irish soccer just like when the memorable drums ( and St. Francis to a lesser extent) went away.

Good luck rovers and all the best with the current situation.

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3
    they have the worse fans in the league
    It is those very fans that will prove to be the difference between the survival and destruction of this club. How many other clubs in this league have hundreds of supporters to call upon to dig deep into their pockets to bail it out with gaining nothing in return except the satisfaction of saving the sporting institution they love.

Check Pat Dolan's atricle in today's Star for a much appriciated endorsement.
    Ireland: Discovered!

Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop
    Check Pat Dolan's atricle in today's Star for a much appriciated endorsement.
    was it not him that got pat's into trouble.

164 Posts
    Dolan had the cheek to say the UEFA licensing system is "a stunt from Planet PR"..........PAT DOLAN complaining about PR stunts!!!!!!!

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast