Thread: Names on back of Jersey's...

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    But the point is you have to consider change and decide whether or not it's worth it. Personally, I have considered this change and decided it's not an improvement. If it were an improvement, I would be for it. However, I amn't swayed simply by whether it's new or not.
    Emmm...no - I'm defending it because I think it's better - see above.
    We could be here for days on this one !!

Because. I think even many of the supporters of squad numbers still say how silly it is to see numbers 69, 43 and 71 wandering around a football pitch.

Stop changing my words, A face. I would have expected better from you... I said change isn't synonymous with improvement. For the slow among you (i.e. you), "synonymous" means "having the same meaning as". Change is not the same as improvement, but that does not mean that change is bad. AFter that, you've completely lost me.

Chríst above ..... i am not getting into this one, there is no way you can expect me to either, ffs.

Although .... you say that you looked at it, and thought better of it .... fair play. My argument/gripe was with people suggesting it was mad even considering it, do you know the effort it takes, do you know how much we like to bítch and moan and those type arguments.

Now you've completely lost it. Please take the time to check whose post I was quoting and to whom I was talking next time...
    Fair play .... didnt read the post properly. Ignore that part ... thats great, thanx !!!
    Last edited by A face; 13/04/2005 at 1:01 PM.

Jesus lads, get a room (preferably soundproof).

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Squad Numbers = Solution to all the leagues problems... FACT.
    I don't get the "It's more professional" argument. Why is it more professional? Who decides this? Personally I think squad numbers are handy, but I don't see the big deal. There should be a decision made on it though- either no-one uses them, or everyone does.

Lads, have you considered that if it made financial sense clubs would do it. The fact that so few have should suggest that it doesn't make sense financially. Cork City tried squad numbers recently - not sure if they still do. There are a lot of City jersies around the city. I think I might have seen half a dozen with the name and number of a player on the back.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Well it does look a bit more professional. I mean first off, and I know this may look at bit silly but it would make it easier for commentators to recognise a player rather than coming out with the usual, "and its the Drogheda No:5 that clears it".

Why would No:27 replacing No:36 be stupid? Why is breaking from the norm or traditional not a good thing?

Look at the premiersh*te across the water. In 1993 when it was created they began sticking names on jerseys and then everybody knew each player and then numbers became synonymous (See I can use big words too ) with the players who wore them.

Even in the good old US of A the number 23 is known as the one Micahel Jordan used to famously wear.

I mean if people like the current way then fine but I hate this boll*cks about it not being any good and it doesn't help the league!!

A change must happen if the league and clubs wants to create some sort of image for itself.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drogman.
    Well it does look a bit more professional.
    Any reason? I don't think it does at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Drogman
    I mean first off, and I know this may look at bit silly but it would make it easier for commentators to recognise a player rather than coming out with the usual, "and it's the Drogheda No:5 that clears it".
    You're right - it does sound silly! Commentators and press all get free programmes and team sheets and take the teams down as they're called out. Some (not many where the eL is concerned!) even do research and work out the likely line-up. Changing the numbers isn't going to help any bit!

Look at the premiersh*te across the water.
    I think this is probably something to do with why I don't like squad numbers - I associate them with cynical money-grabbing hype and Sky. I don't want to see our league follow everything Sky do blindly just because they did it and so it's cool. Probably too much of a barstooler attitude to be honest!

In 1993 when it was created they began sticking names on jerseys and then everybody knew each player and then numbers became synonymous (See I can use big words too ) with the players who wore them.
    You can use big words alright - you can use them properly too!

Who cares about a number being synonymous with a player though? Firstly, that happened anyway - Dalglish's number 7, Rush's number 9, etc. It still happens - Roy Keane is 6 for Ireland, etc.

Even in the good old US of A the number 23 is known as the one Micahel Jordan used to famously wear.
    You obviously don't know my views about most things American!

A change must happen if the league and clubs wants to create some sort of image for itself.
    A change must happen - I agree there. However - putting bigger numbers on jerseys? There's far better ways for the league to improve. Clubs not withholding transfer fees, not paying wages, not going into examinership, getting new grounds - all those are far more important than changing the numbers on a jersey just because Sky did it.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 13/04/2005 at 4:38 PM.

The EL leagues big problem is image, people look at it and think it's rubbish mainly not because of the standard of play (Though they will try and convince you otherwise) but because the whole image looks poor. Be that some stadiums looking awful on the TV or whatever. However little it would help, everyone having squad numbers would help. It would just improve the image of the whole league and make the matches present that little bit better on the TV, and every little bit helps.

Bizzarely afaik Shels have the equipment in Tolka Park to put the names on the backs of the jersys and if you buy a replica shirt from the Umbro shop in Tolka you can get the name and number put on too, but choose not to use it for the players (Except for both legs of the Lille game last year). I think that's odd, if the players wore squad numbers it'd make people more likely to buy the new jersys and get their heroes name on the back, I'm talking espically about younger fans here, so if anything could help bring in a bit of money anyway.

But overall it just looks better and presentation is the one area that holds the EL back. Obviously there's better things to be doing like Stu mentioned but this seems a very pratical way to make a bit of an improvement image-wise.

I agree with most of what you say Slash but I think that the only reason that putting names on the back of the shirts might look better is because that's what's done in England.

A lot of people would think that if you do something differently to the EPL then it is automatically worse. I don't agree with that attitude and I personally prefer to see players numbered 1 to 11.

The irish natonal teams in soccer and rugby both number their players according to positions and they are both modern professional teams. My point is that there is nothing old or unprofessional about numbering according to positions.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    My point is that there is nothing old or unprofessional about numbering according to positions.
    I agree but that's me and you, who are already EL fans. The point is to alot of people it does look old and unprofessional, like the conference in England or something. I think the image of the league needs to improve to get fans in and this could do a tiny bit to help there, only a tiny bit, but it would have an impact none the less.

i have cretaro,mctiernan on the back of 2 of my shirts

Have to agree with Slashed.As much as others may not like it,the El becoming more like the EPL in anyway is a good thing.To a Bar-Stooler the El looks unprofessional,this is down to many things but the fact that when they see Premiership players wearing squad numbers and they see El players wearing 1-11,they see the el as crap because to them the Premiership is the greatest thing in the world.It maybe a bar-stoolers attitude but aren't the bar-stoolers the ones we are trying to attract???????
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    As much as others may not like it,the El becoming more like the EPL in anyway is a good thing.
    What a very perculiar statement.
    So the eL should just become a premiership-lite, to keep all the 'barsoolers' happy. What about improving our own image/identity?

I don't think a 1-11 team looks any more unprofessional. I also don't buy the commentators excuse (rugby/gaa have 1-15)

There's still nothing to stop club shops printing jerseys with a couple of the more popular players/numbers to sell to people who want it.(eg for us a few Frost/3, Murphy/9 jerseys would sell, as they are their 'usual' numbers)
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Where do I start ??
    By using the quote button properly. I couldn't make head nor tail of your last post.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    You are living with your head up your a$$. How many jersies do you think a club like ours can sell in a season ?? Its not bloody Man. Utd. you're talking about you know. The manufacturers will only supply something like 500/1000 at a time. How easy do you think it is to shift this amount of stock ??

Can you answer my question first ...... how many jerseys in a season do you think you should sell ??

Just a number !!

Question

IMO eL Premier division clubs should try to have names on jerseys. Been debated many times before but apparently looks more professional & will halp sunshine supporters to identify with their clubs.

Question: Whats the highest squad number worn by an eL player? Anybody wearing 40-something?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Anybody wearing 40-something?
    I remember Pat's fielding a number 46 a few years back.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    I think this is probably something to do with why I don't like squad numbers - I associate them with cynical money-grabbing hype and Sky. I don't want to see our league follow everything Sky do blindly just because they did it and so it's cool. Probably too much of a barstooler attitude to be honest!
    Barstooler attitude?? This is whats holding the league back. People who think that staying the same and keeping it different from everything else makes "our" league look cooler etc... If people took their heads out of their ar*es then we might be getting somewhere. I mean I have been trying for years to get people to come along to EL games and telling them that the live match night experience is better than your barstooling on a sunday afternoon but then you have people like Pine Stu calling them as*holes and telling them to bugger off? How can anyone win???

My argument is not just on getting names on jerseys. What about having the little EL badge on the upper sleeve of the jersey. Very few clubs have them and with us we seem to only have one set of jersey's with them on. Fair enough it may not make it look more professional but as Slash said it does improve the image a alot.

3,491 Posts
    then you have people like Pine Stu calling them as*holes and telling them to bugger off? How can anyone win???
    Would you care to point out exactly where I've said that? 'Cos I don't recall saying it.

If you can't win an argument, sure you can always make something up...

A lot of genuine football fans in England are concerned about the way the league has gone in the last ten/fifteen years - read the likes of When Saturday Comes, for example. Maybe you think we should rename the First Division the Championship, have a song on the tannoy after every goal scored (I know some clubs do that already - a pox on them...) and do all the other things the English league does?

I've always been of the belief - not just in football - that things shouldn't change just to suit the newcomers. It's called tradition, and I see no problems with it. That's a long way from your accusation that I'm calling them arseholes.

Incidentally, no-one has offered a proper argument for the jerseys other than the highly subjective - and unsubstatiated - view that they're more professional. Anything better to be offered?

If people took their heads out of their ar*es then we might be getting somewhere

you have people like Pine Stu calling them as*holes and telling them to bugger off?
    Maybe if you toned down your own descriptions of people you don't agree with your criticism of Pine Stu's attitude would carry more weight.

Ah lads, ok you may have not said the exact words but how can the league improve their image? How can clubs improve their image?

I mean your asking for people to give a good argument for putting names on jerseys but all you have to say on how to improve the image of the league is to keep with tradition! I mean tradition is fine, we all need it, but it only goes so far, after that new idea's and improvements need to be done.

Now whether thats taking somthing that has already been done and applying it for ourselves or coming up with something new is another problem.

I agree that accross the water with the changing of the First Division name and all that is c*ck and should never be applied to here but the likes of names on jerseys, thats hardly giving in to the Sky loving barstooler brigade, is it?