Thread: Ports 1-1 City Thread

Portadown 1-1 Cork City

It finished 1-1. I suppose its not a bad result, but when I heard they were 1up I thought they would go on and win it. I'm a bit disappointed they didn't. Atleast they are top of the group and have Shels away next, which should be a great game. Bank hoilday Monday May 2nd.

126 Posts
    a draw is imo a bad result considering the game. we should have won.

Ports 1-1 City

A good result seeming we were away and have a few problems with getting the ball in the net. Watched it on setanta, seemed to be around 60-80 City fans. We were in control until we scored the goal. Ports got a soft equiliser from a corner and took over from there.
    http://theshedcork.proboards27.com/index.cgi

Quote Originally Posted by anti dub
    a draw is imo a bad result considering the game. we should have won.

id have taken apoint a point at the start so im happy

beat ports at home now and we are on 7 points

shels can only get 7 points at the moment and that includes beating ports in shamrock park

we are in a great position

Shels play Portadown next and will be on 4 points
    Then its you in Tolka to go 3 points clear!!

Then you have to beat Portadown by a certain number of goals to win the group

Its going to be a great run in
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    Its going to be a great run in
    That'll do nicely. I would prefer it to go down to the wire. Makes for a brilliant atmosphere on match day, and draws a larger crowd too.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

RedX

I suppose a point is better than none..i thought City were average against a very average looking Portadown side..how did they score 3 at Tolka against Shels..Kearney was v good tonight as was Georgie..Micheal Collins looks a handy player for Portadown and even though he is a bit tempermental i reckon City should keep an eye on him as a potential future signing...I think City should have won this by a couple of goals and barring a disaster we should beat them at the X..Vinny Arkins was linked to eircom sides in the close season..i ask why?..Fair dues to the lads that made the long journey up there tonight...

portadown beat shels up there and we beat ports down here...it doesnt matter then how we get on against shels away

ball is in our court lads

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    I suppose a point is better than none..i thought City were average against a very average looking Portadown side..how did they score 3 at Tolka against Shels..Kearney was v good tonight as was Georgie..Micheal Collins looks a handy player for Portadown and even though he is a bit tempermental i reckon City should keep an eye on him as a potential future signing...I think City should have won this by a couple of goals and barring a disaster we should beat them at the X..Vinny Arkins was linked to eircom sides in the close season..i ask why?..Fair dues to the lads that made the long journey up there tonight...
    I think you are right about Harkins, I thought Hamilton was quiet enough as well Doyler and Liam were class.

144 Posts
    Portadown looked nothing special at all last night and we should have won the game. Yer man Collins threw in a few kicks here and there but unusually George got up and got on with it. Was impressed by Gerorge last night but having said that they afforded us a lot of space in the midfield.
    Was dubious as to whether it was a corner at all but what was Benno doing, facing the wrong way, never getting off the ground with his arms around kelly who was still able to jump and head home. Poor defending.
    Kearney and Doyler were our best players, great finish by Doyle.
    On TV there didn't seem to be anybody at the match although I could hear our own lads quite well.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

The whole thing was a bit of a non-event. No atmosphere, shockingly poor crowd, just a total downbeat night. I wouldn't mind City owning a ground ike Shamrock Park though, with a little money and effort, you could make it into a really top class ground.

We should have won this game well, but there seems to be a lethargy about the whole City team at the moment, and we are going to see an awful lot of dull, boring draws if we do not snap out of it.
    Doyler is just not interested, can't see him staying much longer...
    Billy is in very poor form, we desperately need someone to inject some spirit and bite into our performances, and start doing a bit of shouting and ordering about on the pitch.
    Georgie was sulking for the night, and blew hot and cold, he just walked straight off the pitch after the game.
    I'm a bit worried about the attitude at the moment.
    I think we need another players meeting to find out whats going on, find out if anyone wants to move on, or are they all interested in playing for City. Outside of the $hels game and the first half of the Harps match, all the performaces this season have been spiritless and lifeless. I'd rather be losing games with players who want to play for the shirt , rather than these crap draws with players coasting through games.....

Good trip to go on but no big match feel to event.

Ground was very run down, with fans way too far away from the pitch. Floodlights were shockingly poor (didn't seem to look too bad on tv) & must only be used for saturday afternoons as middle of pitch was dark. IMO lack of bulbs & fact they so far from pitch was main problem.

The 100 City fans given new stand behind goal & good bit of atmosphere given we so far from pitch. Don't know how was picked up much on tv. BBC (I presume BBC NI) even came into the stand durring 1st half to interview a few of us.

All the stories of loads of security was a joke & completely unnecessary anyway. Buses had "escort" for last 1/2 mile at most & only about 10 PSNI officers in the ground with couple of local club security guys having a nap in the stand. Programme seller took euro but chipper didn't seem to be too keen on euro although did take them eventually.

Crowd was very low at maybe 1000. Feck all noise from home support. Think his lead to poor team performances.
    Arkins & Collins stood out for Portadown. Collins is Robbie Savage type player whereas Arkins faded in 2nd half.
    For city Devine had almost nothing to do. Kearney was good even if poor pitch (looking like sloped towards camera) didn't help. In 2nd half city counter attacked well but faded after getting the goal. Brilliant pass from Colin & classy finish from Doyler. Shocking defending from corner for equaliser - tv seemed to show Bennet at fault. We were crying out for couple of subs even before we got the lead goal.

Good trip all round but this whole thing being bused in & out of ground meant we could have been anywhere in the country.

One sour note was golf ball thrown into our stand near end of game. Rumour was that sling used & some discussion whether came from inside (gates already open at this stage) or outside ground.

Worst game in the competition so far. First half dire.

City improved at start of second and deserved to go ahead. Should have gone on to win from there but allowed Portadown back into it and they could have sneaked it in the end.

Draw a good result in terms of the group but dissappointing performance.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Good trip to go on but no big match feel to event.

Ground was very run down, with fans way too far away from the pitch. Floodlights were shockingly poor (didn't seem to look too bad on tv) & must only be used for saturday afternoons as middle of pitch was dark. IMO lack of bulbs & fact they so far from pitch was main problem.

The 100 City fans given new stand behind goal & good bit of atmosphere given we so far from pitch. Don't know how was picked up much on tv. BBC (I presume BBC NI) even came into the stand durring 1st half to interview a few of us.

All the stories of loads of security was a joke & completely unnecessary anyway. Buses had "escort" for last 1/2 mile at most & only about 10 PSNI officers in the ground with couple of local club security guys having a nap in the stand. Programme seller took euro but chipper didn't seem to be too keen on euro although did take them eventually.

Crowd was very low at maybe 1000. Feck all noise from home support. Think his lead to poor team performances.
    Arkins & Collins stood out for Portadown. Collins is Robbie Savage type player whereas Arkins faded in 2nd half.
    For city Devine had almost nothing to do. Kearney was good even if poor pitch (looking like sloped towards camera) didn't help. In 2nd half city counter attacked well but faded after getting the goal. Brilliant pass from Colin & classy finish from Doyler. Shocking defending from corner for equaliser - tv seemed to show Bennet at fault. We were crying out for couple of subs even before we got the lead goal.

Good trip all round but this whole thing being bused in & out of ground meant we could have been anywhere in the country.

One sour note was golf ball thrown into our stand near end of game. Rumour was that sling used & some discussion whether came from inside (gates already open at this stage) or outside ground.
    Just about sums it up perfectly. Rico's gonna have to think about dropping Billy Woods though- he was absolutely ****ing terrible.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Rico's gonna have to think about dropping Billy Woods though- he was absolutely ****ing terrible.
    There just doesn't seem to be an alternative at the moment. Billy was great on late run of form last season but i never saw him as possible permanent right side of midfield for 2005.

roy o'donovan would be worth a try

Anyone know did Noelle try her usual blessing the players with Holy Water job as they came out of the tunnel?

Mightn't have gone down too well given the location
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    Anyone know did Noelle try her usual blessing the players with Holy Water job as they came out of the tunnel?

all depends on if she had to pay for her own trip again

Quote Originally Posted by paudie

I couldn't see from behind the goal was were about 200 yards from half way line They seem to be very religious the IL - Glentoran had the huge "Jesus" billboard, Portadown had big "Jesus loves ya..." on stand on camera side of ground (i'll post up picture of if can find cable for camera)

Yeah, what was that again, some quote from Deuteronomy!