Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Nicest EL stadiums

Quote Originally Posted by rebel army no1
    but you shouldnt forget that Cork City is the only club that has a very large vocal support and even on those nights against smaller clubs there is still as much athmosphere as at a big game for most other clubs

Is the post of the month competition still running? This is about the most perfect post you could ever get to sum up Corkie internet fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED

Is the post of the month competition still running? This is about the most perfect post you could ever get to sum up Corkie internet fans.
    theres more cork internet fans than you have in total

cattle grids

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    Agree about the roof but the 'cattle grids' were taken out and proper concrete steps put in on the side opposite the stand and behind the goals closest to town for the UEFA match last year. The other end will be done eventually too, it has to be moved back to lengthen the pitch in the near future so I'd imagine it will be done then. A roof on the opposite side to the stand was on the plans too last I heard but plans are a great thing.

My mistake sorry about that i havnt been there in awhile due to us being in a diff div so sorry about that.

Quote Originally Posted by in_da_red
    what are u on about ? ye had to rent a junior clubs ground last year for feck sake. showgrounds has one nice stand, jinks avenue stand isnt great but not bad. it's alot better than most other grounds if not all first division clubs. kilkenny is good though.

We do need a new shed. even if the old one was open it's outdated and too small. wont happen for another 10 years i'd say.
    mate im not slagging off anyone im giving my opinion on grounds, which i do believe is the porpose of this thread. The jinks ave stand you say isnt great but better then other then what other grounds have, that just shows the level of quality in the league, ie not very good at all.

See 'em all here

http://www.stadionwelt.de/Stadionwel...nd/Irland.html

My german ain't the best but about Croker they say "National Stadion für
    Hurling und Rugby". Hmmm...don't remember ever seeing alot of rugby played there
    Last edited by Snoop Drog; 15/04/2005 at 12:08 AM.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    My mistake sorry about that i havnt been there in awhile due to us being in a diff div so sorry about that.
    Yeah, no worries just pointing it out for future reference

Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog
    See 'em all here

http://www.stadionwelt.de/Stadionwel...nd/Irland.html

My german ain't the best but about Croker they say "National Stadion für
    Hurling und Rugby". Hmmm...don't remember ever seeing alot of rugby played there
    Maybe they have the inside track on the result of the vote at Congress this weekend.

I heard the overseas delegate votes could be vital
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by tarzan1
    No need for it!!
    Exactly, Get Rid of the Knacker Children!
    The truth fears no questions...
    It's only when the tide goes out that you learn who's been swimming naked

Ye can all keep your 'fancydan' stadiums, not many of them could provide the atmosphere there will be in Finn park on Saturday night!

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    Ye can all keep your 'fancydan' stadiums, not many of them could provide the atmosphere there will be in Finn park on Saturday night!
    .......that will come from the 800 Derry fans

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    theres more cork internet fans than you have in total
    I said it before and I'll say it again. If I were a Corkman(which I'm not Thank God) I would be sitting in front of a computer all day trying to keep up with the rest of the country.

P.S. don't fret the Celtic Tiger should reach you lot fairly shortly. Then maybe you'll do something that fcuking awful smell.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    I can't imagine a colder place on earth than the Carlisle on a bitter Winter's night. What good is a ground if you leave it with digits burnt with the frostbite ??
    The Carlisle Grounds are always freezing because they are so close to the sea. Summer soccer has not changed that. A roof on the all seater stand might help though.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    The Carlisle Grounds are always freezing
    At the game there the other week, I noticed a notice had been put up banning supporters from lighting bonfires to keep warm.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123