Thread: Dublin City Game

I always liked the 'Celery' chant the first time I was told of it. Its pointless, confusing and perfect to get the crowd going. I think the few of us at the sideline should start singing that to get the shed going next Friday.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Gael reminded me - I had these saved from last season (updated a bit - for a fanzine)

1. blue and white army
    Noel O’Connor’s blue and white army

2. Robbie Kelliher
    He's blue,
    He's white,
    He's f**king dynamite!
    Robbie K
    Robbie K
    (repeat over and over again)

3. Limerick ‘til I Die
    I'm Limerick till i die
    i know i am, i'm sure i am
    I'm Limerick till i die
    (Repeat)

4. Singing the Blues
    I never felt more like singin the blues
    When Limerick win and the Vikings lose
    Oh Limerick. You’ve got me singin the blues.

5. Paul Finucane (Volare)
    Finucane Oh Oh Oh Oh
    In the air or on the ground
    He’s the classiest defender around
    Finucane Oh Oh Oh Oh

6. Derek McCarthy (You are my Sunshine)
    Derek McCarthy
    You make me happy when skies are grey
    When it’s pouring you just keep scoring
    Please don’t take McCarthy away

7. Fields of Limerick
    By lonely prison walls I heard the young girl calling
    Limerick – Limerick –Limerick …..

8. Limerick Wonderland

One Steve O’Mahoney
    Only one Steve O’Mahoney
    He tackles like ****
    Like being hit by a truck
    Walking in a Limerick wonderland

One Paul Fincuane
    Only one Paul Finucane
    His uncle was great
    But he’s 58

One Conor Molan
    Only one Conor Molan
    His skill is so rare
    He can play anywhere

One Noel Mooney
    Only one Noel Mooney
    He’ll never be beat
    He’ll keep a clean sheet

One Robbie Kelliher
    Only one Robbie Kelliher
    His name is too long
    To fit in this song

One Jamie Nolan
    Only one Jamie Nolan
    This player is class
    Leaves full-backs on their ass

One Brian Donnellan
    Only one Brian Donnellan
    Full backs he will stuff
    You can keep Damien Duff

One Tommy Barrett
    Only one Tommy Barrett
    He came from the View
    He must love to wear blue

9. Who let the Blues Out
    Who let the Blues out?
    Who, who, who, who, who?

10. (Wheels of the bus)
    Robbie K scores loads of goals.
    Loads of goals, loads of goals.
    All day long.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I like ie lads, i like it and Nempton can we not tempt you into the shed for the night . At least when Limerick are attacking it

Them fanzine chants are $hite

4. Singing the Blues

6. Derek McCarthy (You are my Sunshine)
    Derek McCarthy
    You make me happy when skies are grey
    When it’s pouring you just keep scoring
    Please don’t take McCarthy away

7. Fields of Limerick
    By lonely prison walls I heard the young girl calling
    Limerick – Limerick –Limerick …..

One Robbie Kelliher
    Only one Robbie Kelliher
    His name is too long
    To fit in this song

10. (Wheels of the bus)
    Loads of goals, loads of goals.
    All day long.[/QUOTE]

FFS lads just as we are getting the crowds back we don't wanna frighten em off again by singing sh!te like this. If fans wanna chant they'll chant spontaneously anything thats planned will die on its ar$e. The last chant i remember in Hogan Park was when Albert Finnin hit a 94 min equaliser versus Cobh around the time we got big crowds against Dundalk in the FAI cup. We spontaneously chanted "we love you Limerick we do"

Quote Originally Posted by LFC BLUE
    We spontaneously chanted "we love you Limerick we do"
    Wow - and you came up with that on the spot like?

These are not meant as chants to sing on Friday night - do you think we are going to hand out a hymn sheet? Its a joke thing - it was done for a fanzine (but never used) which is a humourous mag. Jaysus, some people.

To be honest I don't care what we sing - but its better to try and do something than have to wait for a 'spontaneous' burst next time we score a 94th minute winner.
    Last edited by LFC in Exile; 14/04/2005 at 1:25 PM.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

great stuff lads, well done. Roll on Friday night. See ye all in the shed. Come on you blues.

but its better to try and do something than have to wait for a 'spontaneous' burst next time we score a 94th minute winner.[/QUOTE]

EQUALISER actually.

laughable

Quote Originally Posted by ramblers05
    I've a song for ye...

He's blue,
    He's white,
    He's really f**king ****e!
    Robbie K
    Robbie K
    (repeat over and over again and clap your hands)

hes blue hes white he scored against ye that night etc etc

I've a song for ye...

He's blue,
    He's white,
    He's really f**king ****e!
    Robbie K
    Robbie K
    (repeat over and over again and clap your hands)
    And the last time you saw Robbie play would have been when he left your defence on its collective arse and chipped your keeper on his senior soccer debut, yes?

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Wow - and you came up with that on the spot like?

These are not meant as chants to sing on Friday night - do you think we are going to hand out a hymn sheet? Its a joke thing - it was done for a fanzine (but never used) which is a humourous mag. Jaysus, some people.

To be honest I don't care what we sing - but its better to try and do something than have to wait for a 'spontaneous' burst next time we score a 94th minute winner.
    Well said, but in fairness Alberts equaliser was a screamer

4. Singing the Blues
    Just lamped it lads but isn't this a copy of Arsenals rather dodgy "gassing the jews" song they sing against spurs

Ye wear blue,ye wear white...year still seriously fcukin sh1te!!!
    Brilliant Ramblers - now if only you could get an original thought that would be great. (I won't even mention the spelling - you obviously haven't got to that in school yet.)

And I just figured out why there is never chanting at Colmans - even though you are 'top of the league'. Voices not broken yet, no?

FFS lads just as we are getting the crowds back we don't wanna frighten em off again by singing sh!te like this. If fans wanna chant they'll chant spontaneously anything thats planned will die on its ar$e. The last chant i remember in Hogan Park was when Albert Finnin hit a 94 min equaliser versus Cobh around the time we got big crowds against Dundalk in the FAI cup. We spontaneously chanted "we love you Limerick we do"
    In fairness, all songs come from somewhere. Some of those are a bit on the dodgy side, but in my experience some of the corniest, dodgiest sounding songs can raise a good laugh and really improve the atmosphere. Building an atmosphere takes work, but its well worth it.

522 Posts
    Garbage split here. Any more off-topic rubbish and I'll lock it.

Wink

i have a drum organised for the next home game guys ,so this should bring
    a bit of life to hogan park all we need do now is get the crowds singing.

Quote Originally Posted by Daydreamer
    i have a drum organised for the next home game guys ,so this should bring
    a bit of life to hogan park all we need do now is get the crowds singing.
    Sound - bring it up to the Shed - behind the goal.