Thread: new oasis tune (lyla)

new oasis tune (lyla)

got a copy of it from the record company this week and its much better than the tripe they have produced in recent years......

lookin forward to heading the whole album.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Really? Saw the video last week on Channel 4, and was just waiting for the song to really kick in. I suppose if the reference point is to be their last few albums it wouldn't be hard to be "much better"

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    got a copy of it from the record company this week and its much better than the tripe they have produced in recent years......

lookin forward to heading the whole album.
    Do you really think so ?

Personally i think it's not much different to what they has released over the last few years. But in saying that i still kinda like it, like most of there stuff -
    no brainer pop/indie rock

its gas the amount of younger folk who think what Oasis do is great music!

all depends how much stuff you've listened to b4 and after Oasis - it will radically alter you onto the anti oasis camp i can assure you

Song is nothing special. The repetivitive chorus has a major fault for me, I find it annoying and I don't feel like I want to hear it repeatedly. The video did nothing for me either. If your an oasis fan, you'll probably wet yourself cos they are back more than the weight of the song. If you dislike oasis, you can basically say its more of the same in a time when the same has been surpassed. I always preferred Blur.

I haven't heard the song yet.
    A few years ago, when they got a few new band members, I thought one of two things would happen:
    either (a) the influence of the new members, who are frankly better musicians would eventually come through, and they would improve as a band, or (b) the new members would just become session musicians for the gallagher brothers, and coast along, playing no brainer pop/indie rock (as Roo said)

Seems they went for option (b). I mean, the best lead guitarist in the band is the bass player FFS, but it appears he's happy to take his pay cheque, and go through the motions.

Funny coincidence, but I threw on Defenitley Maybe yesterday. Tapped my foot to 'shakermaker', and returned it to the shelf for another 6 months/year until I get the urge again.
    No-brainer is good when it's done right, and you don't think you're doing more than that.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

new Oasis tune

The new album features a lot of songs not written by Noel. Liam has 2-3 and Gem Archer has a couple too .

Considering Liam wrote it, its shiiiiiite.

Looking forward to the new album though, especially since they dumped the worst drummer in the world.
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

Definitely Maybe was/is a great album. All down hill from there though... Suppose fair play to them spoofing their way to a long career.

No offence to Oasis fans on here meant, but following on from wws point, part of the reason they're still going strong sales wise is that they crossed over into people who weren't into music much and still aren't. Oasis is these peoples reference point.

Heard the single there today. Very very poor stuff altogether. Sounds like they are trying to incorporate some White Stripes/Strokes influence into their songs which is not a good thing.

Oasis have two great albums: Definately Maybe and Masterplan. What's the Story (Morning Glory) was a good album too. They should have split up after that though, they have nothing more to offer us tbh.
    'waaaaaaaaan da towwwwwwn hey!

I grew up with Oasis being the big thing and got really into them.One of the reasons being their tunes were always easiest to play on guitar when beginning to learn. The new song is a very similar to the sound through Heathen Chemistry, decent enough but not nothing special.

Definitely Maybe, Morning Glory brilliant, and nearly all the B-sides from the early singles, especially Listen Up, Rockin Chair, Masterplan absolute quality tunes. Some good songs on Be Here Now (Getting Better Man, Dont Go Away and All My People Right Here Right Now). Anyone else have a ticket for the gig in Marley Park? Had to get one myself. Bring back the sound of the mid + late nineties, summer '97 was Oasis exclusively, hope they play more of the old than the new.

Noel should finish Oasis and team up with other artists. Produced some great tunes like Keep what ye Got(with Ian Brown) and Setting Sun (with The Chemical Bros)....
    Last edited by Beavis; 12/04/2005 at 5:27 PM.

your listening to the music press lads . heathen chemistry is a good album ok its not great but there are a lot of quality tunes on it not least the three written by liam . dont really have high hopes for the new album but i hope it has a few good songs cos in my opinion an oasis album is always worth buying.

The album has got great reviews ! which i'm glad to hear.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Sure you wouldn't want to be listening to music press....

I own all the oasis studio albums, Definitely Maybe the only stand out one imo.

At the time when they claimed to be the greatest band, I gasped deeply. The Verve also though they were worthy of the title. I think the only thing they were was massively delusional!!

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    The only review Ive seen has been from the showbiz lass in the Sun.
    but then she thinks every album is great... I remember "Be Here Now" getting some good reviews before the backlash started...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

I saw Noel on MTV yesterday giving out about the single, actually. He said it wasn't the best song on the album and that it was the record company's decision to release that one as a single. He said the record company believed that it was a more radio-friendly song. Noel said that he will insist, in his next record contract, on having more control over the singles, music, etc.

Does he not own the record label?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Does he not own the record label?
    They are signed to Creation Records

they have their own label big brother
    Last edited by town73; 15/04/2005 at 10:14 AM.

...who are owned by Sony AFAIK
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.