Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Working abroad

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Reckon its a toss up between Canada, Australia and NZ
    New Zealand has a high enough unemployment rate as far as I know.
    Very nice country though, scenary is amazing in some parts.

I lived in Australia for about 10 months and work is handy enough to get
    so long as your not fussy about what you do. A lot of the backpacker work
    is either on the buildings or doing warehouse work. I was lucky enough to
    get an IT contract for the last 2 months there but they other months I
    worked in a mixed bag of places. Good craic though in some places.

I'm heading to Sweden for the month of May with my current job so I'll let
    ye know what thats like.

cosmo, if i were you i wouldnt go to oz, everyone goes tehre, does temp work or the like and gets ****ed up for 6 months, i havent been there, but most people i ahve spoke to, both family and friends, say if you have to go then go to western australia, dont do the irish thing and get ****ed up every night in the **** and bull in sydney or what not...

if i were you i would go to canada, or even chicago, its a quality city and you dont really ahve to worry about a green card if you dont plan on living there for a long time/would def want to go back.

ive lived in boston and am currently living in london, but i would jump at the chance to get back to america. just for another year even and chicago or san fran is def where i would work.

i think cosmo canada would be the place to go for you. how is it easier to get a visa to work there though?

Thing about oz is that if you dont do it you'll forever be saying "what if"? I'd recommend it for its scenery. Beautiful country however the locals leave a lot to be desired. If you do go dont live in Sydney or ****ney as we called it. Start in Melbourne and check out Tasmania too.

I know a guy now in NZ and loving it. Says no problem picking up work.

But above all go to NY. You'll never forget it. Experience of a lifetime. Dont worry about a green card! If you're not gonna settle down there and just wanna live there for a while you'll be fine. As for the jobs it's all about contacts. If you want to know more PM me.

30 Posts
    Yep, definately depends on where you go and what your into.

Although I lived in Bondi I avoided the Cóck & Bull as much as possible but the
    amount of Irish people I met who would only drink there because it was
    "great craic full of Irish" was unbelievable. The worst thing is that pub actually
    used to be an English themed pub until they realised that Bondi was a haven for
    milk bottle legged Irish and so they put a tricolour on the wall, got a rebel band
    in every week and made a mint on it.

I didnt get to do as much travelling as I wanted cos of money etc but from the
    bit I did I'd definately recommend going there for a while.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure

As for Oz, from what Ive heard from people who've been there and New Zealand too, New Zealand seems to be the one to go for by a country mile, still have to hear a bad word said about the place.
    Im living in New Zealand at the moment, it is an amazing country scenery wise and so forth. So much to see and a decent climate. Working here is a bit hit and miss imho I dont think unless you get a very well paying job be able to do much in the lines of saving with a view of having a lot of cash earned for moving back to ireland with. Wages are pretty much half of what they are here. Along with the weakening Kiwi Dollar. Average shop work etc pays maybe 5 euro an hour. i had interviews for other jobs as a technician average wage offered was around or under 30,000 NZD which is pretty low when you turn that into euros.

Cost of living here is pretty much comparable to Ireland, groceries are a bit cheaper for certain products, fruit and veg vary.

Also the locals here rock! Great bunch I find, currently living with 4 of them. Very laid back nation anymore so they are on their backs!
    Last edited by RonnieB; 20/04/2006 at 2:09 AM.

My mate played that **** and bull regularly and he was told if he was gonna play sunday nites he would have to do more Ra songs...it is actually a bit a craic there but once or twice is all you could stick it. people go there and dont leave it for the year.but sure whatever floats your boat. I thought new zealand was amazing.and sydney is lovely as well.

1,025 Posts
    been living in Japan for almost 5 years now. Came out to watch Ireland in the 2002 world cup, and never left.
    Apart from the obvious language problems, its a great place to live, if you like concrete, raw fish, and without doubt the most attractive women on the planet.

care to elaborate on how ya ended up stayin out there so long?
    do you need a visa ???

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by klein4
    care to elaborate on how ya ended up stayin out there so long?
    do you need a visa ???

if that question is for me, yeah you need a visa, either work or working holiday.
    With a work visa you need a job beforehand, with a working holiday visa you cant have a job beforehand, the idea is that you find one there.

Companies need to sponsor the employee's visa, so not every company has the finances to do it.

Goodbye VI Toe.
    We'll miss you!

Canada is a very cool place i would defo recommend going there and work is easy enough to come by but don't dismiss OZ. I've been there twice and loved it. What i find is that most Irish either go to Melbourne or Sydney and end getting into a routine of working and drinking without saving any money and before they know it their time is nearly up and they have no money to travel around and see the country. I would suggest to Fly into Perth. Spend a couple of weeks there then get a job out in the sticks and save your nuts off. There is a company in Perth who get you a job and a place to stay and then your sorted. I made friends with a couple of people and we bought a car together and drove all around OZ. It was the best time i ever had. To many people go on the guided tours and end up spending to much time in a place where there is feck all to see and not long enough in other places where there is lots to see. Western Oz was the best because there were feck all backpackers, work was easy to come by, the beaches and scenery are by far and away the best in Oz ,the weather was amazing and the people were top notch.If you want any advise or you have any questions just pm me and i'll help anyway i can.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    I lived in Canada as a kid and went back when I was 15 for a 3 month holiday. What a place. Its America without Americans! Canadians are lovely. Less whinging, more tolerant etc. I didnt want to leave. Only for my kids I would be living there or in France. Edmonton is where I lived and its a thriving bustling city with lots to do. Vancouver is great (especially the gas district) and Vancouver Island is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, particularly the town of Whistletree Junction (population 13 when I was there!)
    You're comparing that to Monaghan though, so naturally Canaduh would seem much better.

Just joking, I actually plan to go to Canada to work for a while too.

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman

I actually plan to go to Canada to work for a while too
    Who am I gonna slag the sh!te out of then??
    Have you told Angel about this??? Least you could do.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Who am I gonna slag the sh!te out of then??
    I'll still be on, internet cafes etc.
    Have you told Angel about this??? Least you could do.
    She's coming too

LOL Yer that good eh, Sligoman.
    I'm actually taping Podge and Rodge as I type so I'm gonna enjoy Aine later. Wonder why she hasn't posted in Foot.ie since she joined the forum??

Fcuk it - should have posted those birds in tottyland.
    Last edited by hamish; 21/04/2006 at 10:41 PM.

LOL Yer that good eh, Sligoman.
    I'm actually taping Podge and Rodge as I type so I'm gonna enjoy Aine later. Wonder why she hasn't posted in Foot.ie since she joined the forum??
    Should have known you'd change that into something like that.

You know you can see it online too Hamish?.

You know you can see it online too Hamish?:.
    Ah, Sky+ is easier - no messing about with the internet.

Quote Originally Posted by niamh
    I worked in Canada for a summer. Calgary to be exact. I found it great craic and the options for travelling in between. Montreal was a really kewl, trendy city and was buzzing the week we were there (F1 was on). Didn't like Toronto so much, but Calgary was great, especially during Stampede when it really came alive. Great money to be made if you work waitering/bar work for that fortnight...
    I've been to Calgary for a brief holiday in 2004. Very nice city, they also have a professional soccer team you can go and watch while you are there. I was in Montreal in the 1960's and early 70's as a child. It's a nice city but be warned about winters in Canada they are like nothing you have ever experienced in Ireland. Take your worst snow experience and treble it and then you have an average Canadian winter.

Yeah winters in The Artic City of Edmonton were unreal. I remember the snow being so high that my mum would warn me not to go to the end of the garden or they would never find me until the snow melted. Great as a kid but feckin freezing. My dad lost part of his finger in a paint-gun-frost-bite incident. He always says he left part of him in Canada!

I visited Toronto with work. Not a very lively city and not a single attractive woman in sight. Some pretty scenery in Ontario though. Niagra is quite impressive!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast