Thread: song

Smile song

years ago the following song was always sung in the shed
    to the tune of WANDERING STAR by MARVIN GAYE.
    " i wa born in the showgrounds, i was born in the showgrounds. knives were made for stabbing, guns were made to shoot, if you go down to showground your sure to get the boot (and repeat). for some of yee younger members (supporters) that song WANDERING STAR was sung by MARVIN GAY in the film PAINT YOUR WAGON. if any body can think of others pllease post them. maybe they should be printed and handed out to all shed heads. it is very important that there is more vocal support. the only place to do this is to get group of people in issolation, maybe in far stand as they would be looking at you as if you had 2 heads in new stand. yee young fellows out there should be well able to organise this. i will start donation for drum by contributing to trust 100 euro. however i wish to remain anon. but i know who i can give money to who is member of trust. any other takers who will assist in financial donation

fair play to ya.i reckon the best place to stand is behind what ever goals rovers are shooting into. This was always the case in the good days, behind train station end for first half and then the holy "Shed" for the second half where the opposition goalie usually s*** themselves

I really don't get all this baloney about opening the shed to create some atmosphere at a game. What does it matter where supporters congregate to give vocal support to their team. Go to most grounds in the first division and see their facilities??
    The shed is closed, it was condemned by the UEFA Licencing rules so we have to accept that ruling.
    Behind both goals there's ample space for supporters to gather to add "atmosphere" to the ground. So get behind the goal the team is attacking and roar on the bit o red. It's our club, it's our team, lets give them our full support.

Oh by the way, I hear the shed will be open for the Monaghan game
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow
    " i wa born in the showgrounds, i was born in the showgrounds. knives were made for stabbing, guns were made to shoot, if you go down to showground your sure to get the boot (and repeat). for some of yee younger members (supporters) that song WANDERING STAR was sung by MARVIN GAY in the film PAINT YOUR WAGON. if any body can think of others pllease post them. maybe they should be printed and handed out to all shed heads. it is very important that there is more vocal support. the only place to do this is to get group of people in issolation, maybe in far stand as they would be looking at you as if you had 2 heads in new stand. yee young fellows out there should be well able to organise this. i will start donation for drum by contributing to trust 100 euro. however i wish to remain anon. but i know who i can give money to who is member of trust. any other takers who will assist in financial donation

Who is this eejit, this has to be a wind up !!

DR

I really don't get all this baloney about opening the shed to create some atmosphere at a game.
    I take you where never a shedender Petmuller

So get behind the goal the team is attacking and roar on the bit o red. It's our club, it's our team, lets give them our full support
    It's impossible to get an atmosphere going in the Railway end or beside the Shed

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    I take you where never a shedender Petmuller

It's impossible to get an atmosphere going in the Railway end or beside the Shed
    I'll not ask the obvious question here in relation to the glory days of '93/'94.
    My memory of back then is the whole ground singing. Yes, the whole ground!! Back then the ground was full of 'supporters' and the singing echoed all over the county. I remember two nights in particular and to this day the hairs on the back of my neck stand when I think about it. The cup match against Cork City when we went one up and the whole crowd sang in unison - here we go, here we go, here we go. Who remembers that? The other was the european game against FC Bruge.
    To answer your question 1928, yes I was a shedhead and I sang with gusto
    The other is of course it's possible to create an atmosphere down the railway end. It just takes a few people to start a chant. The crowds are starting to come back to the showgrounds so it wont be too hard to get a chant going.
    We just have to be positive. Come on the bit o red!!

the shed was, and still is the where alot of rovers fans grew up.Every stadium needs a area where the "hardcore" fans meet.The shed always starts the songs,the rest of the showgrounds just follows,whenever the the main stand used to start a song it was laughed at.just read the The Shed chapter in Eamonn Sweeneys book "Theres only one Red Army" and then tell me how reopening the shed is not important.

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow
    Just to let you know, Wanderin Star was a hit for the actor Lee Marvin, not Marvin Gaye! Great Song though.

However, for all us 30 somethings, the One & Only Rovers Classic is Bananaramas " Nananana, Nananna, eaa. Sligo Rovers!" (Say Goodbye!")

Get it on the PA Tonight!

However, for all us 30 somethings, the One & Only Rovers Classic is Bananaramas " Nananana, Nananna, eaa. Sligo Rovers!"

Agreed MervilleUtd - maybe then lads should run out to it.

The whole point of having a Shed/singing area is that when you're under cover the acoustics are far far better - down the Railway End etc singing just floats off into the ether - you need a roof really for it to be intense/intimidating.
    Keep on keepin' on.

they didnt run out to where the streets have no name like in the dundalk game,sounded really good,just as the 'strumming' part started they ran out,sounded great!

Quote Originally Posted by SligoRoversfan
    they didnt run out to where the streets have no name like in the dundalk game,sounded really good,just as the 'strumming' part started they ran out,sounded great!
    Yeah they did. Their was a good feel to the start of that match alright

Quote Originally Posted by Petmuller
    To answer your question 1928, yes I was a shedhead and I sang with gusto
    Why did you give it up

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    Why did you give it up
    Well in the past three plus years there really hasn't been much to sing about, I suppose would be the obvious question. Another being a question of habit.
    Last Saturday night against Limerick didn't exactly lend itself for someone to break into song now did it??
    It's earily days yet. Maybe even I can be brought out of the doldrums

Is it true that the shed is been opened for the monaghan game

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover
    Is it true that the shed is been opened for the monaghan game
    Dont know but I have heard from a few people that it's opening in a few weeks. Fingers crossed

[QUOTE=Petmuller]I'll not ask the obvious question here in relation to the glory days of '93/'94.
    My memory of back then is the whole ground singing. Yes, the whole ground!! Back then the ground was full of 'supporters' and the singing echoed all over the county. I remember two nights in particular and to this day the hairs on the back of my neck stand when I think about it. The cup match against Cork City when we went one up and the whole crowd sang in unison - here we go, here we go, here we go. Who remembers that? The other was the european game against FC Bruge.

I would put the Derry game after Brunton was sent off as the loudest and most ground wide singing I've heard at the Showgrounds. Anyone else remember that game?
    Rocky