Thread: Our P.A. shocker........

Our P.A. shocker........

Just read our match report from the Limerick Leader, by John O'Shaughnassy.I know some of our forum members don't have much time for this guy but he was spot on about our Match Announcer on Tues. last, he was terrible.The team wasn't named 1-11 + subs for either side.A lot of people were waiting to write the team numbers into their programmes in the shed, and when this guy started.....well it was comical to say the least.
    1. The guy couldn't be heard properly.
    2. He named out players like he was doing a roll call, if you hadn't been to a Limerick Fc before you wouldn't have known if Finny was a keeper, defender or striker.
    The guy sounded like he was after a gallon of Guinness.Not very professional IMO.Just a word to the powers that be at the club, get someone like Len Burke or someone who can open their mouth when they speak, and someone who is preferably sober before announcing the team before K/O.
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

Thats a bit harsh in my opinion. The guy is a vonunteer so I think he should be respected for his effort. It's not everyone that will take on that task so give the man a chance.
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

in case ye dont know lenord burkes mother had just died and he was not avaible if mr.o sha was so worried why did he not offer his voice just another knocker ye all talk the bad things why not come up and help

while I have you here Willie and you're not banned or anything, and since you have the 'inside scoop' on the club, whats this about our esteemed chairman looking for myself at the game on Tuesday? Or maybe JoeSoap would like to comment on the matter?

Good performance lads!!

Well done to Limerick a very good workman-like performance in the showgrounds last night. To be fair you deserved the three points.
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

Quote Originally Posted by Petmuller
    Thats a bit harsh in my opinion. The guy is a vonunteer so I think he should be respected for his effort. It's not everyone that will take on that task so give the man a chance.
    Ok maybe it was a bit harsh, but if you're going to put so much effort in other areas of the club. ie the ground, the squad,advertising etc, surely a good announcer would be the easy part.I'm not knocking the club or anyone associated with it I was just very surprised by the manner in which the teams were named before K/O.
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

Thats a bit harsh in my opinion. The guy is a volunteer so I think he should be respected for his effort. It's not everyone that will take on that task so give the man a chance.
    To be honest this guy was truly bad, no one could understand what he was saying especially when it came to the half time raffle. He clearly wasn't prepared nor did he seem to know any of the Limerick players he was naming out. Apparently the gentleman in question actually has experience as a radio broadcaster and should therefore be quite comfortable talking into a microphone and better yet speaking slowly and clearly so what he is saying is audible and can be understood.

ye all talk the bad things why not come up and help
    Well you will usually find that when something bad happens Willie John we usually do talk about it, just like when something good happens we talk about it. Perhaps you could clarify how we could help out maybe even put it in to context in how you help out? I mean we pay good money to turn up at matches and support the team that in itself is helping out. What you have to realise is that Limerick FC provides an intangible service to the (paying) public. Therefore everything such as the condition of the stadium, the matchday programme, food, toilets etc adds to the whole experience for the public when they turn up to matches. So when Westside raised the issue about the PA, its not a bad thing but instead good criticism which can help the club improve the matchday experience for the fans.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

that goon

The thing about O'Wafflecies piece was his language...."a friendly piece of advice" when has he ever been friendly? "supporters like to be kept up to date", hes calling himself a supporter now is he? then he names one of his buddies as his sullution to the PA problem for that night.
    as one of the lads pointed out recently his writing is straight out of Irelands Own its that bad. eg "there was a lot of oooooos, then there was some aaaaahhhhs!" And hes the sports editor!

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    The thing about O'Wafflecies piece was his language...."a friendly piece of advice" when has he ever been friendly? "supporters like to be kept up to date", hes calling himself a supporter now is he? then he names one of his buddies as his sullution to the PA problem for that night.
    as one of the lads pointed out recently his writing is straight out of Irelands Own its that bad. eg "there was a lot of oooooos, then there was some aaaaahhhhs!" And hes the sports editor!
    That tosser from the leader has no right to comment on anything to do with the club he is a complete ar$e and woeful excuse for a journalist. The P.A was a stand in measure and the shed even got a cheap laugh off him when he announced the raffle winner (Orange ticket,yellow ticket?..... ). It would be far more in the esteemed Mr. O'Shaughnessys line to find out the names of the Limerick players then concern himself with the triviality of a stand in P.A

It would be far more in the esteemed Mr. O'Shaughnessys line to find out the names of the Limerick players
    True, but at least Shane Donnellan must be delighted and surprised to be back playing in the Limerick team
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

The PA was quite poor the other night. I appreciate that he was a volunteer and applaud him for helping out but as somebody pointed out above there were a few basic things that probably shouldn't have happened.

Listing the team out seemingly at random was a bit misleading. It's grand for people who know the players but for any new faces in the crowd it was going to be confusing.

Another minor gripe would be that I didn't hear him announcing the minutes silence and as a consequence a few people kept talking for the first few minutes. I'm presuming it was for the Pope right?

Overall I don't think anybody is really having a go and I think it's ironic that John o'Shaughnessy, with his church newsletter prose, feels he's in a position to give advice but I think that people are getting way too defensive about it. Learn to deal with criticism, especially when it's not totally unfounded. Overall people are very appreciative of the good work that's been done this year but to expect people to turn a blind eye to the hitches that will inevitably occur is just naive.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    I didn't hear him announcing the minutes silence and as a consequence a few people kept talking for the first few minutes.
    Sounds like one for dangerhere.com
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile

Ah the irony of me putting me foot in it while chastising the PA dude is rather nice isn't it.

Stoopid slk!