Thread: galway match report

galway match report

anyone able to give a match report. im in the states so its hard to get info. what was the starting teams, how many was at the game and how did the brilliant david o'dowd play. i cant believe some rovers fan think he is the answer to rovers lack of goal power, hahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bring back big jonny jordan.

Franco

Now franco keep your mouth shut about o dowd,he's had more experiance than you anyway!!!!!!!!!!!!,how the college going???

Well travelled along woith some hearty Rovers fans on what turned out to be a ****ty night weather wise but great on the football side.
    In all maybe 400 at the match and we had about 250-300 suppporters, and for the first time in a long time we were quite vocal too.

From the off we wer the better side always squeezing Galway who couldnt handle the pressure we put them under, we played the game at 100% and produced fantastic football ona great flat surface, something we lack at home.The goals were graet finishes and great team work.
    Gola one came form a cross filed pass from Faz who found Jay out wide he took one touch and put a chest high ball inot the Gal box where Carlos stooped to stee it wide of Gough.
    Goal two was a break away from Conor and we ahd a 2 on 1 he weighed his pass brilliantly to Carlos who took 2 touches and finished it clinically to the bottom right corner.
    Realistically we should ahve won it about 4-5 faz missed from 6yards in teh There is a report on www.thebitored.org site Here.thse were my ratings.

O'Hara(7) - Lucky not to suffer hypothermia he had so little to do 'again'.
    Good long kick outs always a help.

Gallagher(7) - Solid defending distrubution may need to be worked on.

Lowe(8) - Another rock solid game nothing passed him and worked well with
    defence and attack.

McNamara(9)- ROCK, really loving teh captains responsibility nothing got
    passed him. One tackle from side and then cleared from the
    ground when he was last man back.Brilliant passing form
    defence and never looked under pressure.

Burns(8)- Wouldnt even know he was playing, experience is really showing
    again great in the air and a great understanding with Mcnamara

O'Grady(10) - BRILLIANT- Covered every blade of grass, ran his arse off for
    90 mins, graet positional sense and got in vital tackles and set
    up the second goal
    Faz(8)- Turnin into a bit of a hero.Fantastic passing seen passes no one else
    could, ran his socks off too covered everything.

Cratereo(7) -Salmon.Just over 5ft but leaps about 10.pay the entry fee to
    see him play, skint his marker with ease defended when needed
    and tackeld and pressurised all night.

Alvarez(8) - Scored both goals with great finishes.This guy will frustrate you
    no doubting he can finish.Pulled out of a lot of tackles and needs
    to take some heading lessons from Ralph.But finish he can and
    great to get of the blocks and start scoring regularly.

Foley(7) - gave 100% and cant be faulted.Worked tirelessly foir us all night.

Subs - Carr(6) Slotted in well defensively distrubution needs to be worked on.

Gorman (6)- Had one graet shot saved by Gough.

Tosh(7) - Tiger for the size of him great effort commieement

Forgot Jay.

McCarthney(7) - Great feet and takes on defenders well, great ball for first goal and always looked a threat.With experience he will improve no end

75 Posts

A slight Mistake

In all maybe 400 at the match and we had about 250-300 suppporters, and for the first time in a long time we were quite vocal too.

There was close to 900 at the game on the wettest night ever seen in Terryland but i wouldnt disagree with any of the rest of your report yes u were quite vocal after u went 2 up for 5/6 mins but a schoolboy team would have beaten us last night .

Fair play to ye for the amount of people who travelled to the game but if you checked the earlier posts on the Galway Forum i had predicted the crowd and questioned the sanity of the fixtures c'ttee who fixed the first set of midweek games for the same nights as the champions league q/f we had almost 2,000 at our first game against Athlone while we knew we wouldnt break 1,000 for ure visit whereas if it was on on Friday the place would have been crammed.This cost us about €7,000 which is crazy.

Good luck lads ye have a good team but there is 32 games left and everyone will take points off each other between now and October.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct
    Fair play to ye for the amount of people who travelled to the game but if you checked the earlier posts on the Galway Forum i had predicted the crowd and questioned the sanity of the fixtures c'ttee who fixed the first set of midweek games for the same nights as the champions league q/f
    Well in fairness gufct. If ye had genuine good fans, then they wouldn't care about the Champions League, and they would go and support Galway no matter what was on TV.

There was close to 900 at the game
    . No way, not even near 900

75 Posts

The stand Holds

1,700 seated plus 400 standing and there was at least 300 people standing last night plus a third of the seats.Ill find out the offical figure and let ye know. I think all el clubs are in the same boat as far as bar stoolers are concerned and like it or not that is one of the biggest problems affecting gates in the country.We had close on 2,000 against Athlone with a game on Sky that night.

there was at least 300 people standing last night plus a third of the seats.
    300 standing? Were you at the game? . It was p!ssing rain and the only people standing were the stewards, NO FANS . I dont care how much your stand holds but there was no way 300 people were standing last night.

If ye Galway fans wanna see a crowd come to the Showgrounds on saturday night and watch the table toppers!!!

Yee didnt sing one song !we were singing the whole game!and everyone gets crowds out when there top and that was the first time i can recall sligo having more than 5 fans at the game yet we bring at least 30 no matter what. yee had about 50 last night!and lads as gufct said a pum team with 3 sent off after 2 min would have beaten us 6 -0 last night
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

still though ..... we won!

Lads - let's stop the bickering and move on. End this thread.

fair enuf ranting rover

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    . yee had about 50 last night!:
    Im sorry but that is such bullsh1t,We had atleast 200 fans at the game.And when ye come to the Showgrounds we ll beat ye 6-0
    "If he dies he dies" Ivan Drago, Rocky4