Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Your club's Greatest League in the world moment?

342 Posts

Your club's Greatest League in the world moment?

Following on from the 'Boez' fun and games yesterday what is your clubs best moment of stupidity/hilarity or down right madness!!!
    Last edited by Mr A; 06/11/2018 at 6:29 PM.
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

86 Posts
    Just a few notable one's from us and in no particular order:

-Bishopstown
    -Alan Bennett's og from near the halfway line in 2001 (I think), which knocked us out of the FAI cup
    -Tom Coughlan's reign - just everything about it, but most memorably this --> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cg1iZ2ZBhns

I'm sure many more will spring to mind later on.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

2,611 Posts
    *your

535 Posts
    our worst memory for me was us getting relegated after getting a points deduction for not submitting our accounts on time

194 Posts
    We've had loads so i'll start off with -

When #GREATNESS took over the FAI in Merrion Square.

#Belave

3,195 Posts
    * club's

One of the earliest I remember was Waterford starting a game with ten men because one of their players was stuck in traffic coming down from Dublin.

After five minutes, they subbed on a player for no-one

They tried to bring yer man on in the second half, but the ref refused to allow him on as he hadn't been in the ground at kick-off

870 Posts
    Trying to claim 500k or something from insurance for a rolled up old carpet thrown outside the end wall of the ground after it went on fire. Claiming that a very large shed like structure cost €8million to build.

When the club had an insurance broker as chairman and the Lilywhite Lounge went on fire and wasnt insured.

The Trevor Anderson team

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    We've had loads so i'll start off with -

When #GREATNESS took over the FAI in Merrion Square.

#Belave
    And the Galway sex tape that lead up to it.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Trying to claim 500k or something from insurance for a rolled up old carpet thrown outside the end wall of the ground after it went on fire. Claiming that a very large shed like structure cost €8million to build.

When the club had an insurance broker as chairman and the Lilywhite Lounge went on fire and wasnt insured.

The Trevor Anderson team
    LOL.

IIRC - it didn't even go on fire in the actual ground but outside in the Furry Glen?

1,522 Posts
    There'e plenty but will open the bidding with the time the Harps team bus left Alan Young, the only keeper in the squad, behind when they stopped for food so the supporters bus had to bring him the rest of the way to Limerick.

2,611 Posts
    Mr. A's post reminded me of this: https://loihistory.wordpress.com/201...avel-troubles/

What is not mentioned here is that we would have won the league if goal difference was a consideration that season - instead this went to a round robin. IIRC goal difference was introduced the following season.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    LOL.

IIRC - it didn't even go on fire in the actual ground but outside in the Furry Glen?
    I put that poorly but thats what I meant by outside the end wall. Apart from being worthless it was just in a heap over the end wall, not even in the main dumping ground behind the away terrace!!

Not so much the club but Paul Byrne while at the club disappeared off for weeks, no explination. He'd been in Carlisle with Roddy but mustnt have earned himself the job offered as he waltzed in to Oriel Park after 4 weeks looking for his wages. He was promptly told where to go!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 06/11/2018 at 7:00 PM.

230 Posts
    Paul Marney. Though in mitigation the FAI were at least as culpable there.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

3,195 Posts
    For light-hearted Bray moments, the Kerala Evergreen crest controversy would be hard to beat

https://www.balls.ie/football/bray-wanderers-2-370177

999 Posts
    I wasn't around at the time, but Limerick's superstar chairman-slash-manager Danny Drew prowling round the ground trying to get somebody to identify a few foot.ie Limerick posters so he could ban them, must be up there.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I wasn't around at the time, but Limerick's superstar chairman-slash-manager Danny Drew prowling round the ground trying to get somebody to identify a few foot.ie Limerick posters so he could ban them, must be up there.

I was thinking about this thread earlier and I didn't even remember this.

Which says a good bit about Limerick.

Might rattle off a top 100 over the Xmas for the craic.

Danny Drew though. bear in mind he also kicked in the door of the dressing room to have a fist fight with sweat mcgauley. And managed the team in a league cup semi final.

326 Posts
    The ‘insert number here’ times we sold Dalymount and managed to a) not go bust b) get away with it c) end up with potentially a better stadium than the one we eventually sold. Only in the LOI would that not be such a crazy thing.

21. Thanks From:

71 Posts
    Neale Fenn retires half way through a league campaign, only to miraculously decide against it,
    and re-sign for Dundalk and help us get into European Football

Oh wait no, he signed for the Model Club Shamrock Rovers (must be a decent reason why many Dundalk people hate Rovers). What is worse is that Dundalk was stupid enough to release him. In what other league would that happen in?

At least he got a warm welcome in Oriel.
    Last edited by Kiki Balboa; 06/11/2018 at 8:24 PM.

51 Posts
    Playing a 'Home' game in Turners Cross.

24. Thanks From:

342 Posts
    Is it my imagination or did we once employ some kind of Samba band years ago to create atmosphere in the ground?? Someone else might be able to confirm that or not!

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast