Results 1,161 to 1,180 of 1285

Thread: Transfers 2019 season

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Carr is a good player but drifts in and out of games and might show up one game, might not the next. When he's on form he's magic but his inconsistency frustrates people, I'll be sad to see him go because hes a nice lad that can be box office but can't complain about getting a decent fee for someone that's not a guaranteed starter

B and C just aren't true. "shortly" is still longer than most full contract lengths in the league
    (b) has been regularly criticised by Bradley

Here is just one snippet. Many more available if you are still in denial

Stephen Bradley has told Shamrock Rovers striker Dan Carr to up his game.
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/dan-...-game-16221449

(c) appears to be largely unloved by the Rovers sporting intellegensa.

Just read back over this forum or Rovers forums for confirmation of this

427 Posts
    Carr is a good player but drifts in and out of games and might show up one game, might not the next. When he's on form he's magic but his inconsistency frustrates people, I'll be sad to see him go because hes a nice lad that can be box office but can't complain about getting a decent fee for someone that's not a guaranteed starter

B and C just aren't true. "shortly" is still longer than most full contract lengths in the league
    “Shortly “ clearly refers to the four months left on his contract (mentioned in earlier post), Bradley has been critical and simply didn’t play him or played him out of position (hardly a vote of confidence) and most shams on here have been negative in their view of Carr (as many opposition fans have noted with surprise)

Which of these do you think “aren’t true “ ? Or are you stating 4 months is “still longer than most full length contracts” ?

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    “Shortly “ clearly refers to the four months left on his contract (mentioned in earlier post), Bradley has been critical and simply didn’t play him or played him out of position (hardly a vote of confidence) and most shams on here have been negative in their view of Carr (as many opposition fans have noted with surprise)

Which of these do you think “aren’t true “ ? Or are you stating 4 months is “still longer than most full length contracts” ?
    Same article says he was to go up to Derry too, and before Ez's post it was clarified he has a year and a half to go. His position is left wing, how have people not grasped this yet? He's a left winger that can play through the middle if needed. Hardly negative to be frustrated about a players inconsistency, similar attitude from Rovers fans towards Carr as Dundalk fans had towards Connolly if not more positive towards Carr.

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    (b) has been regularly criticised by Bradley

Here is just one snippet. Many more available if you are still in denial

https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/dan-...-game-16221449

(c) appears to be largely unloved by the Rovers sporting intellegensa.

Just read back over this forum or Rovers forums for confirmation of this
    Saying a player needs to up their game isn't criticism, and one example isn't regularly, been at the club a season and 2/3rds.

Being frustrated about a player isn't the same as him being "unloved" and a vocal minority isn't "largely"

2,626 Posts
    and a vocal minority isn't "largely"
    And yet, in your own words, the contributions on here from a poster who supports Bohs and the same from a lad who supports Dundalk represent the thoughts and perspectives of those entire fan bases. Good man.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    And yet, in your own words, the contributions on here from a poster who supports Bohs and the same from a lad who supports Dundalk represent the thoughts and perspectives of those entire fan bases. Good man.
    The vocal minority of posters on here, jesus lads does everything need spelling out for yous?

663 Posts
    Stephen Bradley sending more love out to Dan Carr

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019...-says-bradley/

326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Stephen Bradley sending more love out to Dan Carr

Shades of Dominic Foley to Gent with that transfer.

Bradley knows exactly what he's doing - it'll go over great with the fans. I suspect it's probably 100% true as well. Bradley will still get slated over it from the usual sorts though.

346 Posts
    Dan Carr now called Bradster out,saying its a load of boll**ks what he said! Drama!!!!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

76 Posts
    Dan Carr has gone to Twitter to rubbish the claims Bradley made. Interesting. It's always hard to know who is in the right, when something like this happens.

663 Posts
    Bradser playing to the Rovers fanbase here at the expense of the player?

This looks to me like a player who got an strong offer that he wanted to accept and the Rovers manager hanging him out to dry because Carr preferred the 3 year deal in Cyprus and the possibility of European group stage football to staying in Tallaght

"He just didn’t fit where we were going as a club," the Rovers manager said. "When representatives tell you that maybe his heart is not in playing for Shamrock Rovers, he’s not the right fit for you.

"People maybe think we needed to sell but we didn’t like what we heard, this club and this team and what we’re doing and what we’re building is bigger than any individual.

"If people don’t want to be part of it, no problem, we’ll shake their hand and let them walk away. That was the case with Dan.

"You don’t want people who are in the mindset of not being with the team and not being in the group.

"This club is a special club and it’s bigger than any one individual and unfortunately, that individual just felt he was a little bit bigger than us."

229 Posts
    [QUOTE=Charlie Darwin;2013270]Bradley knows exactly what he's doing - it'll go over great with the fans. I suspect it's probably 100% true as well. Bradley will still get slated over it from the usual sorts though.[/QUOTE

Bradley playing to the gallery alright. Its a great move forCarr, the fact thst he still went on twitter to rubbish Bradleys claims suggests to me that Bradley overegged the comments.I agree though, won't harm him at all.Very few players leave clubs with the good wishes of fans speeding them on their way

555 Posts
    At times why people say something is more interesting than what they say.

The two things I took from Bradley's comments are:

1. He didn't want to lose the player.
    2. Rovers got very little for him

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    At times why people say something is more interesting than what they say.

The two things I took from Bradley's comments are:

1. He didn't want to lose the player.
    2. Rovers got very little for him
    Don't know how you came to that conclusion for number 2.

Sounds to me from the fact Bradley previously talked about talking to Dan's representatives and not Dan himself that the agent may have deliberately twisted Dan's words and wishes when talking to Rovers to make a deal more likely.

427 Posts

Sounds to me from the fact Bradley previously talked about talking to Dan's representatives and not Dan himself that the agent may have deliberately twisted Dan's words and wishes when talking to Rovers to make a deal more likely.
    More likely another faux pas by Bradser, if Carr had 18 months left on his contract presumably shams got a decent fee (otherwise why release him) so happy days all round. So why would Bradser have an obvious pop at him if deal was a good one for both parties ? if he thought with Carr gone he could garner some credit from the Tallaght cavemen by slagging him off it was very silly, now needs to put up or shut up.

....get in the popcorn

The likeliest answer from both is that something was said by the agent to accelerate the deal. But both can still be right.

He had been playing well and scoring well, so it's not as if he has been wanting away or indeed not being picked by Bradley.

873 Posts

From the same place you have it seems - speculation and reading between the lines?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    From the same place you have it seems - speculation and reading between the lines?
    Well, they said at the shams AGM......😂🤣

Plenty of players have left and been wished well by the club so if bradser had a go it was for a reason.
    Personally I would have left it alone , has gone end of.

873 Posts
    I think Bradley showed his hand with his obvious irritation. Ye dont want to lose players in a league run in especially when a squad is tight. Maybe there wasnt a courtesy from Carr to give Rovers a chance to convince him to stay? Maybe there were little contact at all and a deal was done - could it been done a bit over Bradley's head? If there was 18 months (?) on his contract that would mean a reasonable fee could be attained. Nobody will know until the next Rovers AGM
    Last edited by Nesta99; 20/08/2019 at 8:57 PM.

Page 59 of 65 FirstFirst ... 9495758596061 ... LastLast