Page 40 of 65 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfers 2019 season

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Most of those rumours don't really make sense Scales to Dundalk or Rovers with Dundalks crazy amount of centre backs they currently have and at Rovers you're contending with Grace, Lopes and O'Brien so regular football at either of those teams isn't certain and he'd be unlikely to play in Europe at either so finishing the season at UCD then moving on and getting a full pre season to impress makes more sense. Going to Millwall when he's not particularly heavy and more a pass it out centre back doesn't make sense either.

Farrugia to Rovers I suppose depends on how keen he is to finish his degree and how flexible him, Rovers and UCD could be with attendance. Bohs doesn't make sense at all, it's a sideways step in that there's no European football this season and next season is far from a sure thing so why move? Make college life so much harder and lose your scholarship for what? To play in the irn bru Cup? Unlikely.

Farrugia signing for Bohs is quite clearly a one year deal to help him get his much wanted move to England as opposed to him being tied to the people traffickers in Tallaght, more first team game time and free to move without a fee. As for 'sideways step' ? first team for 3rd place team V bench (at best) for 2nd place team - which is likely to help him develop ?

Pity to see UCD ripped apart but unfortunately par for the course.

427 Posts
    Dunno. If they're amateurs, then I guess no contract as such? Timmy Molloy left last month; he's finished college and has gone back home to Galway, presumably for work. Not much you can do in that case.

Georgie Kelly was only on a 6-month deal last year because he knew he was finishing up. Dave McMillan did something similar back in the day too. Quite possible Scales is on something similar this year.

Would have thought Farrugia (who's got a year to go) is under some manner of contract. Thought Davis was signed up on a two-year deal when he joined last year.
    Stu, are the scholorships linked to the player staying with UCD (the club) ? If a player left the club with a year (or more) left on his course would the scholorship end ? I would expect that I the case.Still open to the individual or his new club to pay last year of tuition but at least UCD would not be subsidizing the players education while he played for someone else.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Farrugia signing for Bohs is quite clearly a one year deal to help him get his much wanted move to England as opposed to him being tied to the people traffickers in Tallaght, more first team game time and free to move without a fee. As for 'sideways step' ? first team for 3rd place team V bench (at best) for 2nd place team - which is likely to help him develop ?

Pity to see UCD ripped apart but unfortunately par for the course.
    A club using Kevin's instead of having their own youth setup calling another people traffickers is unbelievably rich. And to say that in the same sentence as talking about getting someone in for a year before shipping them off to England, I mean come on, even you should be able to see the problem there.

It is a sideways step from UCD to Bohs. No European football, the same amount if not less playing time, in the same league, far worse facilities, part time football which is arguably a step down from UCD. All Bohs really have going for them is they're third in the league which considering they're closer to 8th place than 2nd isnt actually worth much in the grand scheme.

It's not a bench for 2nd place vs starter for 3rd place because by the time the window opens Bohs could be lower in the table, or slightly closer to Rovers. From a developmental point of view its a full time setup with European football or part time football with the Scottish micky mouse cup. The only advantage Bohs have over Rovers is less competition for a place (by your reckoning) which isn't always good, part time football which is a con compared to staying at ucd and thats it.

From his point of view its a simple choice really, stay at UCD with all the educational benefits or go to Rovers and give full time football with a stage to showcase his talent a shot.

He just finished second year of college doing a 4 year degree I think so he's at a point where it's a tough choice between leaving now or committing for another two years at UCD to give his degree his best shot.

427 Posts
    A club using Kevin's instead of having their own youth setup calling another people traffickers is unbelievably rich. And to say that in the same sentence as talking about getting someone in for a year before shipping them off to England, I mean come on, even you should be able to see the problem there.

It is a sideways step from UCD to Bohs. No European football, the same amount if not less playing time, in the same league, far worse facilities, part time football which is arguably a step down from UCD. All Bohs really have going for them is they're third in the league which considering they're closer to 8th place than 2nd isnt actually worth much in the grand scheme.

It's not a bench for 2nd place vs starter for 3rd place because by the time the window opens Bohs could be lower in the table, or slightly closer to Rovers. From a developmental point of view its a full time setup with European football or part time football with the Scottish micky mouse cup. The only advantage Bohs have over Rovers is less competition for a place (by your reckoning) which isn't always good, part time football which is a con compared to staying at ucd and thats it.

From his point of view its a simple choice really, stay at UCD with all the educational benefits or go to Rovers and give full time football with a stage to showcase his talent a shot.

He just finished second year of college doing a 4 year degree I think so he's at a point where it's a tough choice between leaving now or committing for another two years at UCD to give his degree his best shot.
    Hijacking Tallaght Town and doing a 'patch over' isn't any better than Bohs / Kevins link up, however you may want to pimp it up. Bohs are not selling him to England, he would be free to go (as short term contract would be concluded) shams are signing him to get a fee when (if) he goes - hence the people trafficking, surely even you can see that ?. Ali Regba certainly did which is why he turned down shams to stay at Bohs and get his move (to England) without the club having to hand out a fee.

As for 'full time football' and European football maybe he should look at how others who moved to shams 'developed' (the wonders of Bradsers coaching V Long/Crolly coaching ? Really, do you want to go there ? A step up ?). If the sum total of his aspiration is to be part of a squad for a couple (at best) of euro qualifiers in countries not even a UCD graduate could find on a map, then off he goes to Tallaght.

Personally think he would be better staying at UCD finishing his degree AND having first team football, even if it risked missing out on the genius of Bradser .

As for the 'gulf' you imagine between second and third - 7 games now without a win between the two teams.
    Last edited by marinobohs; 31/05/2019 at 3:18 PM.

3,225 Posts
    Stu, are the scholorships linked to the player staying with UCD (the club) ? If a player left the club with a year (or more) left on his course would the scholorship end ?
    I would have thought so, yep.

I don't know if another club could pay the scholarship fee - would imagine the college would protect the club against that sort of thing, but if another club is just paying standard registration fees, then not much you can do about that.

427 Posts
    I would have thought so, yep.

I don't know if another club could pay the scholarship fee - would imagine the college would protect the club against that sort of thing, but if another club is just paying standard registration fees, then not much you can do about that.
    Yea, sounds about right I would imagine. Very annoying to have the team ripped apart halfway through the season, especially with so much to play for. Must be very frustrating for the manager (we have had similar difficulties at Bohs with various players moving on after a season or less) having developed these players to have to go back to the drawing board.

649 Posts
    Hijacking Tallaght Town and doing a 'patch over' isn't any better than Bohs / Kevins link up, however you may want to pimp it up. Bohs are not selling him to England, he would be free to go (as short term contract would be concluded) shams are signing him to get a fee when (if) he goes - hence the people trafficking, surely even you can see that ?. Ali Regba certainly did which is why he turned down shams to stay at Bohs and get his move (to England) without the club having to hand out a fee.

As for 'full time football' and European football maybe he should look at how others who moved to shams 'developed' (the wonders of Bradsers coaching V Long/Crolly coaching ? Really, do you want to go there ? A step up ?). If the sum total of his aspiration is to be part of a squad for a couple (at best) of euro qualifiers in countries not even a UCD graduate could find on a map, then off he goes to Tallaght.

Personally think he would be better staying at UCD finishing his degree AND having first team football, even if it risked missing out on the genius of Bradser .

As for the 'gulf' you imagine between second and third - 7 games now without a win between the two teams.
    You really have no idea what you are talking about the Tallaght town thing didn't work out and was dropped.
    All the teams play at rovers academy in roadstone and are coached by rovers personnel including coaches and a lot of the first team and under 19 squads.

By contrast Kevin's were forced to call themselves " st Kevin's bohs for the underage national leagues" by the fai or they wouldn't have been allowed take part.
    Your "youth section" , play their away matches in their own orange st Kevin's gear lol.
    When the ddsl dropped summer soccer recently St Kevin's tweeted that it was great news !! Is that the bohemians position???

As soon as Kevin's find a way to ditch you boys your gone. Shotgun marriages don't work out often
    Then u can start your own youth section that actually plays under your crest and wears your jersey.

3,225 Posts
    Yea, sounds about right I would imagine. Very annoying to have the team ripped apart halfway through the season, especially with so much to play for. Must be very frustrating for the manager (we have had similar difficulties at Bohs with various players moving on after a season or less) having developed these players to have to go back to the drawing board.
    Strange too. We're used to players leaving of course - but not so many in the middle of a season.

I wonder if the 13s/15s is part of it - siphoning money away from the first-team meaning we probably have more amateurs than usual? I agree with the increased youth development programme obviously (plus it's a UEFA requirement now), but the FAI have basically lumped close 75k or so on clubs in the last couple of years with practically no support from their side. And the only place that money can come from is the first team budget.

171 Posts

"Your" underage teams, wear orange, the Kevins crest, have Kevins in the name and even shout Kevins in their team huddle, apples and oranges to the Rovers setup feel free to take your head out of the sand any time now.
    Surely you're taking the **** for the next bit, I'm actually worried for you if you're not. He'll be under 24 so if he went to Bohs contract expired or not there'd need to be compensation paid.
    Regba wasn't offered anything by Rovers so don't know how he managed to turn down something that disn't exist.

Oh yeah Bazunu, Burke, Byrne, Grace, Clarke, Brandon Kavanagh, Sean Kavanagh, Aaron Bolger to name a few have all really suffered as footballers now haven't they. There's tonnes of players chomping at the bit to move from Rovers to Kevins, sorry SKB-Bohs, oh no, it's the other way round isn't it.

Oh I forgot the league was done on head to head and not on league points .

876 Posts

Ah here! Im sure UCD students would know quite well that TNS play in Wales and would be quite capable of finding Wales on a map!!

229 Posts
    I would like to think that Farrugia would have the sense to stay at UCD until he can get his dream move to Forest (Green) or (Stafford) Rangers!
    Good enough for mid table LOI, should hang on here and do a Tillo , Joe Hanrahan, Aidan Reynolds , Robbie Best , and also have a stellar career until age 60/65.
    Don't see him getting game time with Rovers.Crolly/ Long might bring him on a bit, but don't think he has it to make a big move.

427 Posts
    "Your" underage teams, wear orange, the Kevins crest, have Kevins in the name and even shout Kevins in their team huddle, apples and oranges to the Rovers setup feel free to take your head out of the sand any time now.
    Surely you're taking the **** for the next bit, I'm actually worried for you if you're not. He'll be under 24 so if he went to Bohs contract expired or not there'd need to be compensation paid.
    Regba wasn't offered anything by Rovers so don't know how he managed to turn down something that disn't exist.

Oh yeah Bazunu, Burke, Byrne, Grace, Clarke, Brandon Kavanagh, Sean Kavanagh, Aaron Bolger to name a few have all really suffered as footballers now haven't they. There's tonnes of players chomping at the bit to move from Rovers to Kevins, sorry SKB-Bohs, oh no, it's the other way round isn't it.

Oh I forgot the league was done on head to head and not on league points .
    Pretty much all the players you name came from OTHER clubs, surely even you get that ? And half of them can’t get a game (thanks for proving that point). Obviously you missed it at the AGM 😁 but shams did offer Regba a contract, most shams on here know it.
    7 games without a win illustrates the step up in class you were spoofing about.
    Will shams offer him a one year contract to leave him free to pursue his move to England or are they just interested in pimping him out for a fee ?
    Again, Bradser coaching V Long/Crolly coaching ? Do let us know.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Ah here! Im sure UCD students would know quite well that TNS play in Wales and would be quite capable of finding Wales on a map!!
    I suspect they know the football hotbed of Cyprus as well 😁
    They will also be familiar with the LOI first division, something Dundalk fans know all about 😎

171 Posts
    Pretty much all the players you name came from OTHER clubs, surely even you get that ? And half of them can’t get a game (thanks for proving that point). Obviously you missed it at the AGM 😁 but shams did offer Regba a contract, most shams on here know it.
    7 games without a win illustrates the step up in class you were spoofing about.
    Will shams offer him a one year contract to leave him free to pursue his move to England or are they just interested in pimping him out for a fee ?
    Again, Bradser coaching V Long/Crolly coaching ? Do let us know.
    I'd ask if you were on the sauce but honestly seems like you must be on something harder than that for you to manage to come out with that ****e.

Hey rovers heads just on the link up partnership thingy.... How is it coming along with your own arrangements with Lucan Utd and Corduff (real rovers heartland) . Partnerships pathways etc all plastered over clubs Facebook. Do you just get a bit of stick when you make such an arrangement (partnership ie Bohs) work or are you lot just trying to rob players from them schoolboy clubs. What's good for the goose and all that. Oh and if you look closely lads the Bohs U19s that beat you in your own back yard to win the cup didn't have Kevin's on the jersey as they are nothing to do with the link up , partnership or whatever

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ashbohs View Post
    Hey rovers heads just on the link up partnership thingy.... How is it coming along with your own arrangements with Lucan Utd and Corduff (real rovers heartland) . Partnerships pathways etc all plastered over clubs Facebook. Do you just get a bit of stick when you make such an arrangement (partnership ie Bohs) work or are you lot just trying to rob players from them schoolboy clubs. What's good for the goose and all that. Oh and if you look closely lads the Bohs U19s that beat you in your own back yard to win the cup didn't have Kevin's on the jersey as they are nothing to do with the link up , partnership or whatever
    Having a feeder team is a completely different kettle of fish to having another club field teams for you.

If Kevins and Lucan both somehow get admitted into the LOI Rovers will still have youth teams. Bohs won't. Simple as that.
    Last edited by RathfarnhamHoop; 31/05/2019 at 10:16 PM.

How so ?. The end goal is the same . You take players from other clubs in the name of a partnership ???? (Quote Johnathon Roche on Corduffs FB page) and put them in your own jerseys to bring them on. The word partnership is everywhere on that article on FB and the Lucan one .Bohs have a vibrant underage section in its own right just not at Elite level. We have an extremely positive link up with Kevin's wether it was by design or necessity and it hasn't cost us hundreds of thousands. It is probably the best example in recent history of a LOI club utilising schoolboy football and getting results mutually. Probably hard to take hence the childish nature of your post. And your straw clutching in the last part indicates you might have been on the sauce yourself.
    We keep on doing our thing and you have your project at a cost of 💰💰💰💰

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ashbohs View Post
    How so ?. The end goal is the same . You take players from other clubs in the name of a partnership ???? (Quote Johnathon Roche on Corduffs FB page) and put them in your own jerseys to bring them on. The word partnership is everywhere on that article on FB and the Lucan one .Bohs have a vibrant underage section in its own right just not at Elite level. We have an extremely positive link up with Kevin's wether it was by design or necessity and it hasn't cost us hundreds of thousands. It is probably the best example in recent history of a LOI club utilising schoolboy football and getting results mutually. Probably hard to take hence the childish nature of your post. And your straw clutching in the last part indicates you might have been on the sauce yourself.
    We keep on doing our thing and you have your project at a cost of 
    Can you actually not read? I'll say it again for you because you must've missed it.
    The difference is:
    If Kevins and Lucan both somehow get admitted into the LOI Rovers will still have youth teams. Bohs won't. Simple as that.

Oh and while I'm at it if Dermot Desmond has his way your whole academy , & club will become a feeder club for the hoops in Scotland. Here's hooping

427 Posts
    Having a feeder team is a completely different kettle of fish to having another club field teams for you.

Do your concern is “if” Kevin’s get admitted to the LOI ? Wow, that keeps us all awake at night 😁

Tell us again about shams not offering Regba a contract 😁 or Leahy, because they had 3 (or was it 4 ) best left fulls in the League - including Luke Byrne 😁

Still, if you heard it at the AGM.....😁

Page 40 of 65 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast