Yep I think the precedent had already been set with this one. I just wonder about Franks committment though and his motives for doing this now.
Originally Posted by OwlsFan
Can some of the outraged parties here point out the difference between this guy and Morrison, Holland, Macken, Aldridge etc etc?
Yep I think the precedent had already been set with this one. I just wonder about Franks committment though and his motives for doing this now.
Originally Posted by OwlsFan
Who said there was a difference?Originally Posted by Slash/ED
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
Well if you're against that lot than it's understandable but I find it odd that people who are happy to see those players playing for us and are now upset over this. Morrison made the exact same comments pratically, Macken bloody played for England knowing that at the time it would rule him out of playing for Ireland! Holland and McAteer always considered themselves English, Aldridge, the whole host of them. You can't be against this if you've no problem with those players, and most of the anti Quedrue people here are probably happy with the others.Originally Posted by tiktok
I always react to this with disgust. The bloke is saying that he has no connection whatsoever with Ireland but he wants to play for us because he fancies a bit of international football.
The reason, I think, why the cries of mercenary die down once the player actually plays a game for us (and no one shouts it louder than me...) is that he often becomes one of us. Not always - Carsley, Macken, for example - but often, such as Aldridge, Houghton, McAteer, Morrison. Clinton obviously loves playing for the team, you can see it in him.
Players like Cascarino become part of the squad and give it their all. At the start, though, we've every right to be suspicious.
Not quite sure what point I'm trying to make here![]()
I'm not sure either![]()
The problem here is that Q (not going to try and spell it) put it badly and shot himself in the foot.
I remember Brian Moore in his commentary in Euro 88 quoting Aldridge who said "We're all mercenaries you know" but it wasn't long before he was accepted as a Paddy.
I think it's true to say:
"If you're good enough, you're Irish enough".
Whats the big idea about shooting this guy down. Fair enough his reasons are all wrong (at this stage). However he might change his mind! Thats his problem. If he works out for the good of the team I have no problem and will welcome him as an honourary Irish citizen as I have for the countless others listed earlier in this thread. If everyone is against him at this stage then we are at a loss from the get go. We are not in a position to be turning away, good, young, enthusiastic footballers.
Resign, now!
If we all had attitudes like you Owlsfan then this country would never have existed in the first place. Its not about coming first, second or last. You go out play your football as best you can and shouldn't compare yourself to others. Its about principle. He doesn't consider himself Irish, he said so.
Last edited by Coltron; 04/04/2005 at 3:01 PM. Reason: spelling
A man is never really poor,
if he can still laugh.
I suppose everyone here stayed calmly in their seats when Ray Houghton notched against England and Italy. Ray also wanted to play for Scotland but Ireland got in their first. Hes made no secret of that...Originally Posted by Coltron
The lad qualifies. He wants to play. Give him a chance and come down from the soapbox.
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?
If Domenech wasnt so stupid, Queudrue would be playing left full back for France right now. He is having a great season at Boro.
"Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
"Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.
It can do no harm takin him on board..
And if it works out so be it..
It'll be Frances loss
i have mixed feelings about it.one side is telling me he is just a mercenary.the other is saying what about it he's not the first and if he improves the side then well and good.
BTW what age is he?
Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months
ooh didn't see the player profile bit.don't mind the question above.
Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months
Just like Holland, Morrison, Macken etc.Originally Posted by Donal81
Hypothetical situation - Imagine you're a fairly decent footballer (I'm actually brutal, can't kick snow off a rope) and it just so happens that you qualify for the Faroe Islands through a grandparent. You're nowhere near good enough to play for Ireland but you are good enough to play for the Faroe Islands so when the offer of international football arrives you take it. The Faroes are then drawn in a qualifying group with Ireland so you are to play against the place that you feel you are from. I know it's easy for me to say it but if the likes of Quedrue feels the same way about France as I do about Ireland then it just would not be possible for him play against France and give 100% regardless of what opportunities may arise as a result of him doing well in the intl. set up. Given his comments, if he was called up for the game with France could he be trusted, especially so early on in his intl. career, to give it his best? I don't know. He would only have been in the squad a short time at that stage so he wouldn't have had time to build up an affinity with the fans or the country. I have my doubts on this one.
I would have no problem taking his on board, the greater our pool of players the better. If we were winning games at the WC im sure people wouldnt be too bothered about his origin.
However having said that i am not overly keen on the grandparent rule. If the particular player has an Irish parent, I believe they have as much right to play for Ireland as an Irish person.
Not sure I follow that one. What has freedom from the oppression of one country over another to do with a player chosing to play for the land of his forefathers over his native land.Originally Posted by Coltron
I totally disagree that football isn't about coming first, second or last. It absolutely is, within the rules of the game. I remember the days when a League of Ireland team (all fully bred Irishmen) represented Ireland at international level and we were stuffed (7-1 away to Austria I think it was). They played, in your words, football as best as they could but I can guarantee you no one enjoyed that.
We cannot compete with the big boys due to population size - if you want to be a Northern Ireland or Wales, good luck to you. I want our strongest side out within the rules of FIFA and I want us to compete and win at the highest level and the grand parent rule helps us to do this.
I say fair play to him. He's eligible to play so who are we to say he can't/shouldn't. I don't hear many calling for McGeady to be kicked out of the squad.
Originally Posted by Paulie
I think his desire to play in a World Cup will have some bearing on how he would play that game
At the expense of his own country? If you were in the situation I outlined earlier would you be able to give 100% if playing versus Ireland? I know I couldn't.Originally Posted by colster