Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Fixtures weekend 19th Oct

54 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by colonelwest View Post
    Hoban equals Brendan Bradley's record, missed a pen in the first few minutes and is still on a hat trick and a chance to break the record with 20 to go
    Hoban currently stands eight goals short of the record, which isn't held by Brendan Bradley.
    Dunno where this invented record is coming from?

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Donie Forde View Post
    Hoban currently stands eight goals short of the record, which isn't held by Brendan Bradley.
    People usually continue on from the end of your post....

Not arguing with you,just looking for more details.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Are you insane? Do you not know how the turgid anti-football thing works by now?
    At least if you lose the final you'll have a valid excuse

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Donie Forde View Post
    RTE was on about that several times during the match yesterday.

[RTE studios in preparation for the coverage]
    "Lads, what is the all-time scoring record in the league?"
    "Dunno, check Brendan Bradley's best season, that's surely the one."

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sidewayspasser View Post
    RTE was on about that several times during the match yesterday.

[RTE studios in preparation for the coverage]
    "Lads, what is the all-time scoring record in the league?"
    "Dunno, check Brendan Bradley's best season, that's surely the one."
    (29)
    Brendan Bradley 1975/76
    Paddy Bradshaw St James Gate 1939/40
    Alec Hair Shels 1930/31
    Dan McCaffrey Drumcondra 1960/61
    (30)
    Jimmy Gauld Waterford 1954/55
    (37)
    Jimmy Turnbull Cork 1935/36.
    Turnbull scored his 37 in 22 games.

I'm sure The Donie Forde can produce even more stats if required.
    Last edited by disgruntled; 20/10/2018 at 11:38 AM.

54 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    People usually continue on from the end of your post....

Not arguing with you,just looking for more details.
    Eh? I quoted the lad's entire post.

555 Posts
    Statistics comparing players and team from wildly different eras is a silly thing to do.

Safe to say, Hoban is an excellent striker and no other striker in the current era has maintained such excellence through an entire season.

637 Posts
    The only reason Maguire isn't the record holder is he left mid season. Hogan is excellent and I'd love him at rovers but he isn't in Maguires stratosphere
    Their respective records in Ireland and England show that vlearly

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    The only reason Maguire isn't the record holder is he left mid season. Hogan is excellent and I'd love him at rovers but he isn't in Maguires stratosphere
    You can only judge people on what they do, not on what they may have done.

Maguire had a excellent partial season in 2017. He may have gone on to score more goals, or he may not.

637 Posts
    Your right you can only judge on what people do Hoban scored 7 goals in 75 appearances in England, Maguire is 9 goals for 17 appearances.
    Hoban is excellent by loi standards but a hat stand placed on the peno spot would probably deflect in 10 goals considering how good the rest of the dundalk team are.
    When Maguire left cork fell apart.
    Last edited by sbgawa; 20/10/2018 at 3:36 PM.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    The only reason Maguire isn't the record holder is he left mid season.
    Could it also be that he didn't score enough goals in League of Ireland?

2011 - 2012 Waterford
    2014 - 2014 Sligo Rovers
    2015 - 2015 Dundalk
    2016 - 2017 Cork City

663 Posts
    Your right you can only judge on what people do Hoban scored 7 goals in 75 appearances in England, Maguire is 9 goals for 17 appearances.
    Hoban is excellent by loi standards but a hat stand placed on the peno spot would probably deflect in 10 goals considering how good the rest of the dundalk team are.
    When Maguire left cork fell apart.
    After your Hat Stand 10 goal deduction, there are still another 19 league goals (plus cup and Euro scores), which would still leave him the proverbial country mile ahead of the next highest scorer in the league.

His goal-scoring achievements have been nothing short of phenomenal

637 Posts
    Exactly that's why I'd be happy to have him at rovers but no one outside dundalk (or very few anyway) would say a championship striker with better than 1 goal every 2 matches and a guy who won a league on his own is not a better player than Hoban .

555 Posts
    Exactly that's why I'd be happy to have him at rovers but no one outside dundalk (or very few anyway) would say a championship striker with better than 1 goal every 2 matches and a guy who won a league on his own is not a better player than Hoban .
    No one from Dundalk made the argument that you are intent on countering.

The point I made was that no striker in the modern era has performed as excellently over an entire season as Hoban.

637 Posts
    Fair enough of the players that weren't good enough to be bought mid season Hoban is one of the best

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Could it also be that he didn't score enough goals in League of Ireland?

2011 - 2012 Waterford
    2014 - 2014 Sligo Rovers
    2015 - 2015 Dundalk
    2016 - 2017 Cork City
    And what on earth does Maguires stint at Sligo have to do with how many goals he scored or could have scored for Cork in 2017?

115 Posts
    Comparisons between Hoban and Maguire are silly.

Hoban is a very effective LOI striker, but that's his level. I believed this before he went to England and I still believe it now. He failed miserably there, at a far lower level than Maguire.

In the games that I saw him feature in Europe this year, which is a good barometer for progression past the LOI, he was very poor. The Larnaca games a prime example, they had his number and he was totally ineffective. McMillan had more strings to his bow.

I mean fair play to him, he came back to the LOI and got himself fit and injury free. He uses his frame well and he's a handful, but he's nowhere near as technical as Maguire or a fraction as good as him. He's playing in the best side in the country by a mile, who carve out countless chances for him in every game, some perspective is needed.

The calls for Hoban to be called up to Ireland are quite frankly laughable. There are a few far more deserving players in that Dundalk side and saying he wants another crack at England seem a bit fanciful to me. He's not good enough honestly.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

360 Posts
    Another night of celebrations and only coming around now, but have to say winning any league title is a special feeling. The buzz around the place from very young to the more senior supporters was evident.

Another feature is the politeness by all of the players, they were getting asked constantly for photos and signing jerseys and stuff, and not only did they not refuse anyone, they thanked them !

That was some performance by Dundalk, granted the league was won and Sligo never really got started in front of the watching Liam Buckley, but Dundalk kept at it, right up to the 90th min.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    Comparisons between Hoban and Maguire are silly.
    Is that not exactly what you did following that opening line?

What is clear and indisputable is that Patrick Hoban has now notched 29 league goals and if he scores again next week he will exceed all contemporary goal scoring feats in the League of Ireland.

Some of the posters attempting to detract from or minimise his phenomenal goal scoring exploits this season, also displayed similar poor judgement when dismissing his abilities at the start of the season.

637 Posts
    Jeez take a chill pill. Nobodies detracting anything from him he's an excellent loi player that I and probably any other loi fan would like in our teams. I just think this kind of "best record of people who played a full season" or " best player in contemporary times " stuff thereby excluding players like Maguire or indeed the players who scored more goals previously is just an attempt to portray Hoban in a light as an "exceptional player " when what he is is a very good loi player playing in front of a super team that creates lots of chances.
    His failure to score goals anywhere else can't be glossed over. There is no shame in being a super player at your level. Shields from dundalk in my opinion is a better player than Hoban. Ditto McGrath and mcelhaney

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast