Thread: Countries you've been to following Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    No brave hearts gone to Bulgaria then ?

Impossible missions (in Europe) - we've never played them away: Czech Republic, Slovakia (although we did play in Czechoslovakia), Slovenia, Bosnia H, Ukraine, Azerbyjan, Armenia, Sweden (?), Kazakhstan, Faroes (soon), Belarus, Moldova and San Marino - any more ?

Sweden is interesting. I cannot recall us ever playing there. Anyone know any better ?
    Was in Sofia myself in 87. Quite a tame place then and nowhere near as bad as Belgrade and Skopje a decade later. Spent the week skiing. Catchphrase of the trip 'You change money' where you entered the bogs and got yourself a nice exchange with the waiter (told not to trust ordinary street spivs). Couldn't get a decent pint though.

Sweden away last time was in 1970 but possible it will be at least a friendly when Lansdowne is closed (as we owe them a game, if that's how things are worked out). We only played Greece (home or away) for the first time a few years back and sadly we never got to play the GDR.
    Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog
    Suprised that none of you dedicated away followers mentioned going to Iran.
    Went to Iran myself. Another place where you couldn't get a decent pint (beginning to sound like a Tan and his cuppa tea in Benidorm I know). Outside of Europe seen Ireland in Israel, US (twice) and Japan/Korea. Loved to have been a couple of years older for the 1982 trips to Algeria (when it was relatively safe) and the Chile/Brazil/Trinidad and Tobago fiasco.

How about countries you want to see Ireland play in before you die?

Mine are Argentina and Brazil as joint definites. Also Uruguay and Peru if they can be added to a South American tour. And a return game in China would be nice.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Latvia
    Liechtenstein
    Portugal x 2
    Belgium
    Holland x 2
    Estonia
    Cyprus
    Russia
    Switzerland x 2
    Scotland
    France
    Japan

and am booked for The Faroes and Cyprus!

Apart from Japan I'd have to say that Estonia was probably the best one. Liechtenstein would be up there as well except for the bloody result.

West Germany
    Malta
    Italy
    Latvia
    Wales
    Iceland
    Holland
    Estonia
    Portugal
    Japan
    France
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    No brave hearts gone to Bulgaria then ?

Impossible missions (in Europe) - we've never played them away: Czech Republic, Slovakia (although we did play in Czechoslovakia), Slovenia, Bosnia H, Ukraine, Azerbyjan, Armenia, Sweden (?), Kazakhstan, Faroes (soon), Belarus, Moldova and San Marino - any more ?

Sweden is interesting. I cannot recall us ever playing there. Anyone know any better ?

Didnt we play away in the Czech Rep around Feb/ March of 1998? It wasnt Prague but some other city out there. Think we lost 2-1 and there was a few of the Irish guys making their debuts, possibly Robbie Keane and Kinsella among them?

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Baker
    Didnt we play away in the Czech Rep around Feb/ March of 1998? It wasnt Prague but some other city out there. Think we lost 2-1 and there was a few of the Irish guys making their debuts, possibly Robbie Keane and Kinsella among them?
    That's right, but wasn't it a bit earlier? Very early in Mick's tenure.

Does Cork count as a foreign country? (Spain 0-0 in '85)

I think this thread is interesting if people tell stories from their trips rather than just listing the places they have been too. Not slaggin or anything but its would be a great thread if people gave a great insight to the places they haev been too etc and stories from there etc. I know its hard as we are all probably at work etc.

I am a relative novice at this stage

So just

Scotland
    Switzerland x2
    Holland
    France

Scotland was a great trip as I live with 2 scottish lads so the banter was great, esp when we stuffed them 2-0. It was Brian Kerrs first game in charge and my first away trip. I had recently secured a job for life so I could start planning my trips away on a regular basis and this was a great start.

Switzerland 2003 What a disaster of a match. The worst performance I think I have ever seen an Irish team play, although I do have recollection ofa few bad away games for teh qualifiers for 1986 when i was a kid and watching them on TV. We stayed in Strasbourg which is cool spot and got the train down on teh day. GOt a train back after the game but the thing only went as far as Mulhouse so we were stuck along with about 40 Irish supporter in Mulhouse no trains or buses. Eventurally got a taxi and bargained him down to 120 between 4 of us so not so bad.

Holland away 2004 - Best laugh I have had on a trip and a sweet away victory. The night Brians boys came of age Cunningham was outstanding so was reid, and quinn and barrett and Steve Finnan. The perfect away performance and if we could have repepated it in the future we would be seriously going places. Great social trip as well, only downer was my mate shat the bed and we lost the deposit. Dirty *******.

Switzerland. 2004

Went to this on my own and had a great laugh. Performance was ok but had a great few days singing and drinking. Great moment heading out to the game and chating to a lot of swiss girls. Did not realied they were 16 and when we found out a few of teh guys started singing a song about Jail Bait. They did not have a clue, funny if a non Pc moment.

France away 2004. Great trip great performance. The phones going down were a disaster though as my borther was arriving in from Brusselss and I hate tickets etc name of hotel. He gets a taxi down from Charleroi and we are waiting at the Train station. Eventually we give up and head out to the ground. Who do we bump into right outside the ground only my stupid brother. Arrived at our seats when an Irish fan attacks me and my brother. Knocks my brother to the ground, nearly thrown out of the ground and wuld have been without the help of a few irish fans that said we did nothing wrong. I hope that ******** does not post on this.

There you go.

Roll on Cyprus and Germany
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 05/04/2005 at 2:40 PM.
    In Trap we trust

I had a great night in Estonia. Myself and my mate got chatting with some Estonian college students who took us off to their college fraternity house where I taught them the lyrics to "Niall Quinn's Disco Pants". After a few drinks there we ended up in a cuban bar where, and I've no idea how this happened, we ended up at a private area at the back at some locals birthday party. There were Chechnyans, Russians (unusual mix!), Estonians amongst others at this thing. We're sitting there smoking these huge cuban cigars when they tell us that the real way to drink beer is to mix it with vodka. This guy proceeds to pour a few shots of vodka into his beer and then knocks it back. We couldn't let ourselves down so we did just the one each. I am never doing that again. Once again taught some of the locals the words to NQDP and then it was on to the local pool hall for a few frames, back to our hotel for an hour's sleep followed by our flight home......it was not a pleasant journey. Some night though, great craic. The only thing which freaked me out about Estonia was that there was only about 1 hour of darkness a night so nearly no matter what time you came out of the pub it was bright!

USA
    England
    Wales
    Iceland
    Scotland
    Andorra
    Portugal
    France
    Holland x 3
    Belguim
    Liechtenstein x 2
    Switzerland x 2
    Austria
    Malta
    Cyprus
    Estonia
    Finland
    Lithuania
    Poland
    Czech Republic x 2
    Romania
    Macedonia x 2
    Greece
    Croatia
    Israel
    Albania
    Russia
    Georgia
    Iran
    Japan
    Korea

Quote Originally Posted by lopez

Montserrat

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    England x 2
    U.S. x 2
    Latvia
    Portugal x 2
    Wales
    Romania
    Belgium
    Croatia
    Malta
    Macedonia
    Turkey
    Holland
    Cyprus
    Spain
    Estonia
    Japan
    South Korea
    Russia
    Scotland
    Albania
    Switzerland
    France

Played 30: Won 9 Drawn 12 Lost 9
    Ya fcuking jinx.
    Dont go to anymore

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    Ya fcuking jinx.
    Dont go to anymore
    Jaysus, I didn't think it was that bad!! though the wins have been friendlies or minnows!!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Baker
    We played out there twice, I think - once in 96 and once in 98. The latter was when Duff, Kinsella, Keane, et al made their debuts. The other game saw Cunningham, Moore and a couple of others make their debuts, and also saw the return (for a couple of matches only) of the likes of Liam Daish and (I think) Alan Kernaghan! The first one was a 2-1 defeat, I think - Houghton scored - the other was a 3-1 defeat, with Breen scoring.

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Montserrat
    Oh yeeeeeeeaaaahh!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    Ya fcuking jinx.
    Dont go to anymore
    I'm going to work out mine but I reckon it's a hell of a lot worse than that. I didn't see Ireland win a single game between the O6C in Nov 94 and Andorra in 2001 despite attending 15 games in the meantime.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Estonia
    Russia
    Belguim
    Holland x 2
    England x 2
    Scotland
    France
    Italy
    Spain
    Portugal
    Hungary
    Switzerland x 2
    Serbia
    Macedonia
    Albania
    Georgia
    Turkey
    Cyprus
    Malta
    Israel
    Iran
    Japan
    Korea
    Usa

Estonia was my favourite followed by italy. Did'nt like russia or serbia totally corrupt.

Germany, preferably next summer!

Quote Originally Posted by supasparx
    Germany, preferably next summer!
    good answer

Zamunda would be ideal. Just look at the wonderful setting on Coming to America.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Montserrat
    hear hear,, it looks so beautiful and they celebrate st paddy's day, as so many people of irish descent are living on the island and they even have an irish accent.

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    hear hear,, it looks so beautiful and they celebrate st paddy's day, as so many people of irish descent are living on the island and they even have an irish accent.

true but it has a history we cant be too proud of

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123