Pope read last rites

According to news reports.

71 Posts
    I don't know if the last rites thing was ever confirmed but it seems he is gravely ill and apparently has hours to days left. He reportedly has suffered a heart failure, has breathing problems, can't swallow due to Parkinsons and has a urinary tract infection and no this is not a tasteless April's Fools.

He's the only pope i've known so it is like the end of an era.

Sad day.

71 Posts
    Yeah, it does indeed look inevitable now. He has septic shock apparently he can only have 48 hours maximum.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    He's the only pope i've known so it is like the end of an era.

Sad day.
    A very very sad day

It is a sad day but I feel it will mean more to the older community and the devout Catholics than it will my generation.

521 Posts
    Thread split. One more disrespectful comment in this thread will result in a permanant ban. Who the pope is has nothing to do with it, he's a human being that's very ill at the moment, possibly about to die. Have a little respect, you animals.

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    It is a sad day but I feel it will mean more to the older community and the devout Catholics than it will my generation.

I think that is a very true statement. Where any of yous one of the kids brought out to see the Pope when he was here in Ireland in 1978 ?

The year or 2 below me in school had loads of John Pauls i wonder why ?

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Well i have to disagree with ya there, the pope is the "head" of my religion, i personally think it is sad one of the great communitators of our time just about to pass away.
    yes I agree with you, Its a sad day and I'll be morning his death, not hoping for a day off work like certain people but sure each to their own..
    Just hope they show him the respect he deserves even if they don't follow the Catholic church a man is on his death bed and its nothing to joke about IMO..

Fair play to you dahamsta some people have no respect what so ever

Quote Originally Posted by millwallfc
    ok,fair enough,I wasn't being disrespectful just wondering will the country be shut down as a mark of respect,thats all.
    I don't think so. But then again you'd never know.

521 Posts
    millwallfc banned permanently from Foot.ie. That's my fourth ban today, anyone else want to try me?

521 Posts
    pronane banned permanently from Foot.ie. I've been looking forward to that one for a while. Next?

Last edited by dahamsta; 01/04/2005 at 1:46 PM.

That was coming in fairness if not for his spelling alone

I don't know if i get a say as a non-practiser but seems a bit sad that Pole hasn't "retired" yet & only way can step down is by dying.

i agree with ya, he should have had his feet up and enjoying his retirement ages ago

religion is a private matter for most people. i think a national day off work for it would be too much
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

The Pope has been defined as one of the most influential men of the 20th Century, mainly because of his role as an opponent of Soviet Communism in the 1980s and his role as a focal figure in the collapse of the Soviet Empire.

It's not just about religion. Even if we're not religious, it's sad that someone who spoke up for the poor and the oppressed should be slipping away.

I'm not a Catholic.

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I don't know if i get a say as a non-practiser but seems a bit sad that Pole hasn't "retired" yet & only way can step down is by dying.

As far as Im aware other Popes have in fact abdicated/retired, and there is talk of introducing a retirement age for the next Pope, like they have done with Bishops.

71 Posts
    The pope's view on retirement is I think to quote him 'Jesus did not come down from the cross'. In respect of the suffering of Christ in the crucifiction I think he sees himself as being able to do no less in the service of his followers.

My dad said on previous occassions when the pope died that all TV and radio programming would cease and they would just play sombre music annoucing his death every now and then, I don't see that happening this time.

just said on the news that the pope is in his final hours, Sky Italia Television said the Pope had lost consciousness but there was no independent confirmation.
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

126 Posts

Pope DEAD

According to TV3, he's just died.