Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Conor Coventry M Charlton Athletic b.2000

427 Posts
    He's done alright. Kept it simple and tidy playing 82mins. Bang of pre season friendly off this game really. With their options in midfield think they really should have brought Cullen back when he was going cheap.

427 Posts
    On the bench this evening for the second leg.

167 Posts
    Came on midway through the second half and was followed by Okoflex. Hammers won 3-0.

136 Posts
    Starts tonight v Silkeborg. Let's hope he impresses. Close to having another breakthrough on our hands.

205 Posts
    Second highest rating according to BBC report

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63404741

427 Posts
    Hopefully it helps put him in the shop window for a move.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Hopefully it helps put him in the shop window for a move.
    Hopefully he gets game time at West Ham and becomes a regular PL player.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    Hopefully he gets game time at West Ham and becomes a regular PL player.
    Or we can be realistic and admit if he wants to make it as an Ireland international and PL player down the line he'll have to follow Cullen in leaving West Ham.

427 Posts
    Moyes mentioned last night that Coventry had the opportunity to leave but opted to stay at West Ham this season.

Moyes comments:

“Conor is a good player and it has been difficult to get him some minutes,” said Moyes. “We have had Flynn and with all of the competition we have got it has been difficult.

Conor had plenty of chances to leave but we wanted him to stay. He is such a good lad and a good trainer. He is a great competitor. He is the captain of the Republic of Ireland’s under-21s.

“We had Josh Cullen who is very similar that here. Went to Anderlecht and Burnley. Playing for the full [Ireland] team. Wouldn’t surprise me if Conor followed the same path. He is doing great and we like him a lot. He had the chance to go in the summer.

“He had a chance to go out in the summer, and he had a couple of good clubs [interested], but we like having him because he’s such a good boy. He’s low maintenance, trains great, great with the rest of the players. He’s a good boy to have around.”

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Moyes mentioned last night that Coventry had the opportunity to leave but opted to stay at West Ham this season.

Moyes comments:

“Conor is a good player and it has been difficult to get him some minutes,” said Moyes. “We have had Flynn and with all of the competition we have got it has been difficult.

Conor had plenty of chances to leave but we wanted him to stay. He is such a good lad and a good trainer. He is a great competitor. He is the captain of the Republic of Ireland’s under-21s.

“We had Josh Cullen who is very similar that here. Went to Anderlecht and Burnley. Playing for the full [Ireland] team. Wouldn’t surprise me if Conor followed the same path. He is doing great and we like him a lot. He had the chance to go in the summer.

“He had a chance to go out in the summer, and he had a couple of good clubs [interested], but we like having him because he’s such a good boy. He’s low maintenance, trains great, great with the rest of the players. He’s a good boy to have around.”
    Dammed by faint praise if ever I saw it.

Last night, it was great to see him play, of course, but they made nine changes from Saturday and it was a game they could actually afford to lose & still be comfortably top of their group. Fair play to him for backing himself for another bit to get in there, but he should probably speak to those good clubs Moyes mentioned in January if they still want to talk. We have had countless underage lads play this type of European game.
    Stephen Kenny Saviour, Leader, Winner, An Autobiography - In All Good Bookstores Now

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Dammed by faint praise if ever I saw it.

Last night, it was great to see him play, of course, but they made nine changes from Saturday and it was a game they could actually afford to lose & still be comfortably top of their group. Fair play to him for backing himself for another bit to get in there, but he should probably speak to those good clubs Moyes mentioned in January if they still want to talk. We have had countless underage lads play this type of European game.
    Yeah he's gonna be 23 in five months and has only played 190mins this season between the qualifiers and two games in the group stages. Ferizaj is five years younger and has played more minutes in Europe this season (307 mins with 203 coming in the group stages).

Overall his senior career at West Ham he's played 248mins and was probably worth one last shot to give it six months with West Ham. They have a small squad, European games, and the tight schedule because of the WC. Mightn't have made a massive difference to his long term future there when you consider Cullen couldn't break through, but might have got him better offers if he got regular minutes off the bench.

386 Posts
    I wouldn’t be getting too excited that he’s played in a couple of dead rubber games. Surprised me at MK Dons by establishing himself well. I can’t see him making it in prem league. I see him moving on in January, permanently would be my hope. Should try championship level but may end up league one level ultimately

427 Posts
    Should take a leaf out of Cullen's book, and if one of those offers was with a good team abroad in a league like Belgium then go for it. Establish yourself in a more technical league for a couple of seasons.

Last thing you want is dropping to the championship and struggle to get game time or playing in a poor team.

386 Posts
    Agree he would be served better on the continent with his style of play. Whether he is willing to go to the continent is another question

427 Posts
    Cullen should have a word with him about his next move. He himself could have dropped down to the championship and gotten stuck around the bottom half of the table. His only championship experience was a half a season with Bolton where he got dropped after ten games and relegation with Charlton.

Two seasons at Anderlecht and he's turning down a move from clubs in Bundesliga and La Liga to work with Kompany again.

2,693 Posts
    Unused sub at OT yesterday. West Ham played really well in second half, great game.

427 Posts
    Gets another start in the conference league. They play Blackburn in the league cup next week and could feature if West Ham want to rest players. Hopefully then he looks at getting himself a good loan move while the league's on a break.

427 Posts
    Gets a start tonight in the cup.

427 Posts
    Reportedly told by West Ham he's free to leave in January.

749 Posts
    Not a huge surprise. Got his Premier League debut this season and played a bit in Europe which was nice for him. Hopefully he can find a good club in January.

21. Thanks From:

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast