Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: anthem in israel

you cant give out to people for not singing it they may know it but decide to stand in respectfull silence while its being played its up to them , but i fairness i do think that the majority dont know the words but it is hard to learn ,could be worse they could start signing the soldiers song as heard at celtic !!

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    I know it was only a friendly but what struck me about the other night was the lack of athmosphere from the Irish crowd. I was a regular at internationals going back to the Dalymount days when there was always an athmosphere even thought we had a poor team.
    At this stage the only way we are going to get an athmosphere is to do it ourselves... Even if you embarrassed just sing shout ect ect you will prob never see most of the people around you again anyway.. Chances are you'll have a few join in with you then a few will join in whith them.. thats how it happens.. Complaining about it (I do my fair sare of complaining too) won't do us any good we have to do something about..

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    ITS THE PROPER VERSION NOT PLAYED EVER BEFORE, just pllayed slower, i couldnt beleiive the amount of people in teh pub at home saying the same as the first few posts above.
    Pronane - it's the Presidential salute version (i.e. containing the prelude to be played when the Presiudent is present). Not sure if that's what you mean by thew full version, but that's what it was.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    you cant give out to people for not singing it they may know it but decide to stand in respectfull silence while its being played its up to them , but i fairness i do think that the majority dont know the words but it is hard to learn ,could be worse they could start signing the soldiers song as heard at celtic !!

that's a very valid point anto, some people may well prefer to stand in silence during the anthem even if they know the words. It's the others who sing the first line then hum a little bit and then sing again for the last line that try to give the impression that they know the anthem but obviously don't that some people are probably annoyed with. I believe we should know OUR anthem and that it would ne nice if WE could sing it in unison

Silence or noice is generally irrelevant to me when it comes to actually watching football which is my prime reason for attending matches, I'm no great singer but I've a good love of football. Some people are under the impression that you must bellow every song at your full voice to give 'real' support - simply being there and parting with your cash for the priviliage is giving support in one way. Let's not forget that with football being the business and commodity it is now, some people who view football as pure entertainment (as they are entitled to do) would argue that when you pay your hard earned cash your entitled to behave in whatever acceptable mannor you wish (some would probably feel like seeking refunds given the poor performances we've had to endure recently!).

In the end, it would be wrong to give out or chastise anyone over their preferred method of watching football regardless of what we all think re: the athmosphere and how we like to enjoy matches. We generally never stop to think how others enjoy watching matches it always me, me, me.

As a little example, I know my oul lad never sings at all at games but has missed only 4 or 5 home games since the 70's - i wouldn't be able to question his support and enjoyment of the national team just because I'm a good deal louder when I'm at the ground at most times! I sat in relative 'singing' silence (after the anthem of course ) the other night watching the game and likewise Vs Canada as I couldn't bring myself to sing or have 'craic', I was watching a below average game that just didn't stir me (seems to be contagious as the players felt the same!) while on the other hand I've often come back from home and away games with sore troats. Each to their own I say.

Enjoy the game the way you like and respect the views of others who wish to do the same in their own way. I believe it's important to support and vocally if you can but if you can't for what ever reason that's fine too.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Pronane - it's the Presidential salute version (i.e. containing the prelude to be played when the Presiudent is present). Not sure if that's what you mean by thew full version, but that's what it was.
    Agree with you there but couldn't be bothered gettin into a discussion about it...

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    I remember Mick Byrne saying how he was teaching the players the words in Irish of the anthem. Couldn't they teach those not familiar with Irish the words in English. That could do for a start.
    Owlsfan - that's a truely woeful suggestion. What's the point of singing your own anthem in a language other than its meant to be in ? Do you think the Israeli's teach their new citizens their anthem in English, Russian etc first, to make it easier for them ? Do they feck. What's the point in singing a national anthem in any other language ?

Sure - why not make it even easier for the gobshoites and give up the language all together....

Only in Ireland would people not know the words to their anthem. Truly shameful and cringeworthy....

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Owlsfan - that's a truely woeful suggestion. What's the point of singing your own anthem in a language other than its meant to be in ? Do you think the Israeli's teach their new citizens their anthem in English, Russian etc first, to make it easier for them ? Do they feck. What's the point in singing a national anthem in any other language ?

Sure - why not make it even easier for the gobshoites and give up the language all together....

Only in Ireland would people not know the words to their anthem. Truly shameful and cringeworthy....
    Then why don't we all speak Irish here? Hate that hypocrisy. The Israelis don't have English spoken by 95% of the people so it's a stupid analogy. English is the language spoken by the vast majority of the people so why not sing our anthem in that language if you never learned Irish. A practical solution to standing there humming the words for the English born players (and that's whom I'm talking about).

And, as a matter of interest, why is the GAA not called CLG (I know this isn't relevant to anything but it has always puzzled me for an organisation which promotes Irish) ?

Well, the weird thing is that the Israeli band which played the anthem got the notes from FAI anyway...
    Do you believe in Miracles?

182 Posts
    When we have a less militant national anthem I'll sing along. Till then I'll limit myself to 'come on Ireland' at the end.

It was written in a differnt era, get over it

Quote Originally Posted by brine3
    When we have a less militant national anthem I'll sing along. Till then I'll limit myself to 'come on Ireland' at the end.

Quote Originally Posted by brine3
    Would ye like something along the lines of Danas All Kinds Of Everything ?

ps, anyone know what the Isreali ones about, nearly brought a tear to my glass eye so it did

The Soldiers Song:militant?

Lads theres loads about the crap atmosphere in other threads.

Not singin the national anthem because it's too militant??

"Soldiers are we
    whose lives are pledged to Ireland;
    Some have come
    from a land beyond the wave.
    Sworn to be free,
    No more our ancient sire land
    Shall shelter the despot or the slave.
    Tonight we man the gap of danger
    In Erin's cause, come woe or weal
    Mid cannons" roar and rifles peal,
    We'll chant a soldier's song. "

Eh, we'll protect our land & be free no matter what....sounds like every other national anthem in the world to me? As a citizens are we not prepared to protect your country from outside woes?

Try here http://www.lyricmania.com/l25643 to see how unmilitant the versus are too.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki

ps, anyone know what the Isreali ones about, nearly brought a tear to my glass eye so it did

As long as deep in the heart,
    The soul of a Jew yearns,
    And forward to the East
    To Zion, an eye looks
    Our hope will not be lost,
    The hope of two thousand years,
    To be a free nation in our land,
    The land of Zion and Jerusalem.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

We only sing the chorus people. Shocking in this day and age that we need the Israelis to introduce us to the full version of our nation anthem

Funny watching O Shea having to start singing over all over again when the chorus kicked in
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

[QUOTE=OwlsFan

Anyway, at the home games, not much than 50% of the fans sing the anthem so how can we blame the players.[/QUOTE]

At least that is 45% more than the amount that open their Gobs throughout the whole match.

Smile

Here ye are boys and Gals..This is the bit we have to know (very little ) so the more people that read this the more people we will have blasting it out at Landsdowne in June. For God sake, never be ashamed to sing something that enhances one's Irishness something we all should be proud of.

d'Amhrán na bhFiann

Sinne laochra Fáil,
    Atá faoi gheall ag Éireann,
    Buíon dár slua,
    Thar thoinn do ráinig chugainn
    Faoi mhóid bheith saor,
    Seantír ár sinsear feasta
    Ní fhágfar faoin tíorán ná faoi tráill;
    Anocht a théam sa bhearna bhaoil,
    Le gean ar Ghaeil chun báis nó saoil,
    Le gunna-scréach faoi lamhach na bpiléar
    Seo libh canaig' Amhrán na bhFiann.

Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag

At least that is 45% more than the amount that open their Gobs throughout the whole match.
    Everyone needs to get positive. I'm confident we'll have a good atmosphere for the Israel game. As for the anthem, it is a bloody disgrace. People are too embarrassed to open their mouths, and then look down on those who break their reserve to belt out the anthem and song. Anyway all you can do is fu ck the begrudgers( and there are many of them at Lansdowne) and sing it louder. Thats what we do now and we just embrace the 'on yer owns' etc and keep singing longer.

BTW I cant understand how if what seems like most everyone on this board is interested in singing and creating an atmosphere, we cant get a group of us together to sing like mad whether the cynics like it or not. Say for the next friendly vs Italy? Could maybe boost things for the big Autumn home fixtures if we got some noise going, take away the eerieness of the friendly a bit.
    <insert witty remark>

Belt out that anthem lads.

I was born and raised in New York, summers in Leitrim. All the same I've made it a point to learn our anthem as a damn proud Irishman. Full credit to http://www.homestead.com/div8aoh/Soldierssong.html , which serves as a great help to those of us who unfortunately haven't had any lessons in Irish. I'm ever grateful to the Ancient Order of Hibernians. With a site like that, there's no excuse, even if you currently don't know a lick of Irish, to learn that anthem and sing it proudly.
    Last edited by boysingreen; 01/04/2005 at 12:44 AM.

Well done Boysingreen...Nice and simple.What we should do now is get the chorus enlarged, photo copied x 40,000 laminated and placed on every seat in landsdowne for June.Then there is no excuse for anyone not to sing along to their hearts content and show the other nations how proud we are of our Anthem ,our country and our Football team.

2,796 Posts
    I had to write it out 20 times for messing in Irish class when I was about 10. Good way of learning it I suppose.

I've never really noticed it being sung badly at lansdowne to be honest. I thought most of the players, including Clinton, knew the words last week.

And I wouldn't worry about the atmosphere in June. There's a lot at stake and the crowd will react accordingly.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast