Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Games 14th Sept

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Congratulations UCD on winning the first division. Less said about our game the better, a complete horror show. Thank god I'm in Krakow next week so will miss the dundalk game.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Congrats PS. Looking forward to seeing UCD next season, well deserved and they’ll be a fine addition to the PD.

They play football the right way.
    Whatever about having no fans, etc, UCD have always been a great addition in how they play football with decent young players. Other clubs could learn a lesson from them in that regard.

Missed our match lastnight but delighted with the result. I think it’d be a shame for our lads not to go up. While not at level as UCD, I’ve been delighted in how weve attempted to play the right way, with some good young players. Our squad isn’t the strongest but would like to see some of our young lads get another crack at the premier league (and some of them might if we don’t go up :-(
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    If you believe he says the same things in the dressing room then you'd need to give yourself a bit of a shake!
    This was different - the interviewer even raised the same point to him - have a listen on their podcast. Anyhow just my view - congrats on your playoff spot - you were looking shakey early in the season but pulled through.
    Drogheda United in this together

457 Posts
    Congratulations to UCD. Well-deserved.

327 Posts
    Congrats PS. Always enjoyed going to Belfield. Nice ground. Great to see the stand full.

327 Posts
    Best 1st 45 I’ve seen in Dalyer for years. Don’t ever remember a Bohs side getting a standing ovation coming off at HT. Cork had a horror show in defense and couldn’t cope with the pace of Kelly.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Congratulations UCD on winning the first division. Less said about our game the better, a complete horror show. Thank god I'm in Krakow next week so will miss the dundalk game.
    That is football, highs and lows.

I kept reading about Cork not playing well, but still winning. That rarely lasts over a season, league winners need to be playing well for most of the season.

I think this season illustrates Caulfield's deficiencies as a manager. Success in LOI terms means losing players and having to replace them. Good managers have a firm idea of the playing style of their team and recruit players that fit into that style. I don't see that with Caulfield, did he have any plan to integrate Sadlier and McNamee?

It looks like Cork will have to rebuild and will have to decide whether Caulfield has the ability to do this.

184 Posts
    How Sheppard stayed on the pitch is a miracle. He was even starting to walk off the pitch himself, then the ref only gave him a yellow!?!

817 Posts
    Gutted with our result. 1-0 up and on top we allowed drogs creep back into the game then they score off a free kick that shouldn’t have been but that’s the story of our season. Second half we had 2 glorious chances to win it and didn’t take them then we leave ourselves totally open and concede from our own set piece. Last action was our keeper coming up and skimming the post with a header. It was in our hands, it’s gone now. Unbelievable crowd up from Longford

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

It looks like Cork will have to rebuild and will have to decide whether Caulfield has the ability to do this.
    When you consider some of the players contracted for next season, the scale of the rebuilding job becomes apparent. There is a lot of deadwood in that list. With the likelihood of a reduced playing budget, it is a huge job for anyone to undertake - Caulfied may be part of the problem, rather than part of the solution

Mark McNulty (2019)
    Danny Kane (2019)
    Alan Bennett (2019)
    Aaron Barry (2019)
    Gearoid Morrissey (2019)
    Conor McCormack (2019)
    Graham Cummins (2019)
    Damien Delaney (2019)
    Ronan Coughlan (2019)
    Karl Sheppard (2019)
    Conor McCarthy (2019)
    Colm Horgan (2019)
    Cian Murphy (2019)
    Garry Buckley (2019)
    Seán McLoughlin (2019)

3,215 Posts
    Very unfamiliar UCD love-in here the last fortnight! Premier absence must make the heart grow fonder. I trust next season will be back to the usual complaints about no atmosphere and cold temperature.

663 Posts
    Very unfamiliar UCD love-in here the last fortnight! Premier absence must make the heart grow fonder. I trust next season will be back to the usual complaints about no atmosphere and cold temperature.
    I look forward to the UCD fans joining the growing boycott of Oriel Park

Fair play to UCD - winning a league is always difficult, winning with young, developing players especially so

Quote Originally Posted by Philosophizer View Post
    How Sheppard stayed on the pitch is a miracle. He was even starting to walk off the pitch himself, then the ref only gave him a yellow!?!
    Was a very tough game to ref because it was so physical but the ref didn't get a handle on it at all. Foul after foul after foul after foul went unpunished. Don't think he was biased, just bad

172 Posts
    Easy win for Rovers against an utterly woejus Limerick side.
    There's definitely a few levels within the premier league, and Limerick & Bray are definitely in a league of their own.
    Congrats to the students ( *bag o ****e!).
    I look forward to walking to a game next season.

* For all you paul calf fans .
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

229 Posts
    Congrats to UCD, watched the highlights of the Waterford game and they outplayed those overpaid spoofers from the Suir.Wouldnt be surprised if they beat Dundalk.What a nightmare for the FAI that would be !

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    That Cork team , 8 Mastadons amd a couple of footballers,,were poison.Lots of nasty off the ball stuff that the ref decided to ignore .The two footed lunge by Sheppard would have had anyone else sent off.
    Great football from Bohs first half and blood and thunder defending in the second.
    Some quality goals , The two Kelly goals and Penders and then Keohanes glancing header were as good as you will see .
    Dundalk are a class above that Cork team

Wasn't any worse than Penders tackle from behind on Sheppard & he only got a yellow as well.
    Great first half display from Bohs. Really played some lovely stuff at times.
    Did the same in Cork earlier on in the season & were very unlucky then not to go away with something from the game.
    If Bohs can keep hold of their players & build on it they will be a fine side.
    Some very exciting young talent there.

536 Posts
    massive congrats to UCD on their success. long overdue.

as for us mcglade hasnt being the same player since before the cork cup match. I strongly suspect hes off at the end of the season. ref yet again awful. the free that drogs scored from that wall was 15 yards back instead of 10 yards as per norm. We have being too inconsistent this season. The injuries that were building up week by week didnt help matters to say the least.

I have a feeling that Bohs will beat Derry next week and will beat Cork in the FAI Cup. I think they are a sneaky bet for the FAI Cup!

663 Posts
    I have a feeling that Bohs will beat Derry next week and will beat Cork in the FAI Cup. I think they are a sneaky bet for the FAI Cup!
    11/1 to win the cup. That's not attractive enough odds, considering Bohs have to overcome Derry (away) and Cork (home) before beating either Dundalk or UCD in the final to collect the bet

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Easy win for Rovers against an utterly woejus Limerick side.
    There's definitely a few levels within the premier league, and Limerick & Bray are definitely in a league of their own.
    Congrats to the students ( *bag o ****e!).
    I look forward to walking to a game next season.

* For all you paul calf fans .
    BUT,BUT,....sure according to all and sundry who think they matter down here Tommy is doing a great job after being handed a turkey at seasons start and the whole squad are going through a brick wall etc,etc.

3,215 Posts
    Two observations from last night.

The First Division medals are crap. Probably cost €2 each. The FAI outdoing themselves once again.

The First Division trophy is 6 years old, and it's in bits. It's bent at the neck, the base is loose and the band lifts off.

Tis a great aul league we have...

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast