Thread: Opinions on the new kit?

Opinions on the new kit?

Just wondering what ye think of the new strip lads? I was led to believe that Diadora were going to be the kit suppliers, but instead it's Umbro. I think as a playing kit it's nice, but that's about it really. It's not a jersey that looks good when worn casually with jeans (i.e. like GAA jerseys). The neck on it is rotton, could have done with a coller. I've seen it on a good few people now around town and I don't like it at all. The green one is even worse, the blue crest looks terrible on it. It's a bit disappointing as far as i'm concerned.

Another thing, what's the story with the whole 'Leeds United' theme? Our new crest is almost an exact copy of the Leeds crest, plus for some reason we have an ugly yellow trim running through the home jersey. Are NOC\Danny Drew Leeds fans or what?!

Thumbs down

I think danny drew went for the option that was most attractive for his pocket.. NOC isnt exactly Tommy Hillfiger either!! The tracksuits are even worse, old skool umbro!!!

Quote Originally Posted by WillyWonka
    I think danny drew went for the option that was most attractive for his pocket.. NOC isnt exactly Tommy Hillfiger either!! The tracksuits are even worse, old skool umbro!!!
    Yeah the rest of the gear looks cheap as well. Last seasons Jako stuff was way nicer, pity really.

Question new jersey

Does anyone know who or what asian heights are .
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

Asian Harvest is the sponsor on the jersey..Im not positive but i think that the are a Parent company to Chang Beer ...There is some link between the 2 anyway

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    It's not a jersey that looks good when worn casually with jeans (i.e. like GAA jerseys).
    Are you saying (a) GAA jerseys do look good when worn casually with jeans
    or (b) GAA jerseys do not look good when worn casually with jeans?

My guess would be he means (B),because I for one think all GAA jerseys are rotten with anything bar shorts,socks & football boots.

Asian Link??

Has Danny Drew some link with Asian Harvest? The majority of our new stewards look to be foreign too. Twas gas when your man kicked the ball back in near the end. Danny had em on their toes picking up rubbish etc

Personally I like both new shirts. And I'm glad there's no collar because I hate them on jersies.
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 30/03/2005 at 11:41 AM. Reason: spelling

is there any pics or prices of these
    i like what i've seen of the blue especially the crest

I think Asian Harvest is Drew's own company. Doesn't he have a business selling to Asian restaurants and shops? Somehow I don't think a Thai beer company would be interested in sponsoring LFC - unless we are trying to crack the lucrative Asian market! Maybe Hidetoshi Nakata is lined up.

I like the Blue kit. Long sleeves is good - and only €40. The only other kit I saw was the green one and the blue badge does look horrible on it. The badge is nice - a lot better than the commitment to excellence.

Whatever about the nationality of the stewards the place was very well stewarded and they were very visible. Only one crib - it didn't affect me because I was in early but a second ticket window would be a good idea for next time. I can't really blame them this time because the crowd was greater than anyone's expectations.

But how about a SEASON TICKET! Then there would be no queuing. How many seasons do we need to ask for one of these? I think even the club would favour it - money up front!
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    Are you saying (a) GAA jerseys do look good when worn casually with jeans
    or (b) GAA jerseys do not look good when worn casually with jeans?
    How could it have been (a)? I said the jersey doesn't look good when worn casually LIKE gaa jerseys.

Season Tickets

Season tickets will be available for all home games (including u-21's) but excluding cup matches.. I think the players get them for 125eur and family tickets for 400eur.. not sure how much otherwise!!

Quote Originally Posted by WillyWonka
    Season tickets will be available for all home games (including u-21's) but excluding cup matches.. I think the players get them for 125eur and family tickets for 400eur.. not sure how much otherwise!!
    Why would the players need to buy season tickets?

must say that i think the new club emblem on the shirts is not as nice as last years.how far back does last years emblem go is it a original dating back to the formation of the club.

no 95 me thinks

Last years "commitment to excellance" only went back to 1995 or something when we changed from the treaty stone emblem to limerick fc football club

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Last years "commitment to excellance"
    'Commitment to Irony' more like. The new crest is ok and I'm glad they dropped the 'Commitment to Excellence' lark but I think it's a bit cluttered. It's grand though, does a job anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    'Commitment to Irony' more like. The new crest is ok and I'm glad they dropped the 'Commitment to Excellence' lark but I think it's a bit cluttered. It's grand though, does a job anyway.
    Agreed, now if only we could incorporate a blade of some kind