Thread: Ireland Vs. China

Question Ireland Vs. China

So, how many goals do ye think we'll win by? . Spain only bet them 3-0 at home last Saturday, so they could suprise us with a couple of goals Ah no, I predict 5-0 Ireland. Any of ye going to the game?

I'll be blown away by anything more than 2 or 3-0.

200 Posts
    Apparently Paddy Kenny, Dunne, Reid and Kav will all start. McGeady is in the squad so he and Elliott will hopefully feature at some stage.

http://www.fai.ie/article.asp?hlid=2...avlid=&sublid=

Hopefully McGeady and Elliott will come on no later than the half hour mark.

2,796 Posts
    Hopefully McGeady will start.

Quote Originally Posted by boysingreen
    Hopefully McGeady and Elliott will come on no later than the half hour mark.
    Just can't imagine Kerr making a couple of subsitutions after 30 minutes.

McGeady has to start. He has 3 caps now and all of them have been as a substitute. Kerr knows he'll never get a better chance than this to give him his first start and I really can't see him not playing from the start.

I think Finnan will start at right back as Carr is suspended for our next game. This is Kav's chance to get back into that 3rd choice spot for central midfield. Can't believe Roy is still with the squad for a game like this.

Hell I want to see McGeady start too. Had it in my head when I posted, for whatever reason, that him starting was out of the question.

If we play like we did against israel will will do well to beat em....

2-1 Ireland

I'm hopeful of a 2or3 nil, would like to get a look at McGeady and Elliot. Any foot. lads meeting for couple o scoops before this one? If so where?

Anyone afraid we'll be sang out of it again like at the Bulgaria match? I recon there'll be a load of Chinese there.

We'll be on the N Tce singin our heads off for the whole thing as ever with whatever voice we can muster after the weekend. If anyones down there please come over & giveus a hand.

2-0 I recon
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

1-0 Ireland

Ireland needs this match to get some confidence back. we really need to crush this china team. Not just a 1 goal victory, at least 3 nill.

Can't believe Roy is still with the squad for a game like this
    Either can I, whats going on there like

Mc Geady HAS to start. There is no point ****ing around with a few minutes. he needs a full game. We need options apart from Duffer. Same goes for Elliott.

I think Mcgeady will get the full second half. Kerr is cautious but McG recent performances will mean he plays more than a bit part

I really will eat my very own hat if McGeady doesn't start. After the China game we play Celtic. If Celtic get to the cup final they will play that the day before our match which not only means McGeady will play that but it makes the game a bit of a farce and won't be even treated as a friendly (more like the Liverpool legends match yesterday). The only other arranged friendly coming up soon is the Italy one. The team that will play that is the one that will play against France so there's no experimenting there. Kerr doesn't play players in competitives without them at least starting in a friendly so all this leads to McGeady starting tomorrow. I hope.

I reckon we will win 2-1.

Aye, it'll be tight. I'd rank China with the likes of Australia.

我们必须赢取由至少三

Cough
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 28/03/2005 at 10:00 PM.

Delighted were playin China hopefully that'll lift the heads a bit after the weekend...

mcGeady to start defo and its about time he showed us what he can do.. hopefully he'll put on a good performance for us..

您必須有一點做□管閒事翻譯站點。您廢鑄品ya. 他他我無論如何會說這將是二nill

EDIT:
    Ok just tried to translate that back into what I said in the first place and it came out all stupid ah well you'll get that stupid computer

We will win it by about 2 goals.No pressure to win and we always do when this is the case.Maceady will probally play the second half.I really hope Reid and Kav get a run.

200 Posts
    The Chinese are missing all of their top flight European based players. So far as I know the only lad theyve got who plays in a European League is Shao Jiayi. He plays for München 1860 (now in Div 2) and cost about £1m 2 or so years ago... He's a very average player.

I have to say I dont think they'll be tricky opposition even if we put out a second string. Theyve been knocked out of the World Cup Quals already, failing to get through a group with Kuwait, Hong Kong and Malaysia (although to be fair they just lost out on goal difference). Also theyve sacked their coach (think it was the Dutchman Airy Haan) and are in transition.

They were runners up in the Asian Cup 2004 (the Asian equivalent of Portugal 2004) which they hosted (lost to the Japanese in the final). But from what I saw they werent great. A narrow 1-0 v Qatar, a 5-0 win over Indonesia, and a 2-2 with Bahrain in the groups. Then a 1-1 vs Iran in the semis (lucky result for them) and went thru on pens. Outplayed by the Japanese (3-1) in the final, which upset the home fans.

That said a few of their team were in the WC2002 and they looked a very pacey side, so we might want to watch that. Im not too concerned about the result, I just want to see young players and those on the margins given a chance to perform.

130 Posts
    A big win is needed to get everyones confidence back after sat, would love to see Elliott play, is Keane (roy) gonna play?
    I'll prob be in the lower east stand singing my heart out.