Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Ryan Nolan (D Hércules b.1999)

3,286 Posts
    Started for Getafe B at the weekend in a 2-1 loss to Rayo Majadahonda:https://www.getafecf.com/Noticia/tab...e-esperar.aspx

386 Posts
    A really pleasant surprise to see Ryan make the bench today for Getafe in La Liga away to Eibar, having reportedly playing well in a few B games. Hopefully he can get some consistent game time over the coming months including with their A team. He would deserve a shot with our under 21s if he does. Assume he’s still eligible next year?

3,286 Posts
    No, born in February 1999, he'll be overage for the 2023 U21 Championships

386 Posts
    That’s a shame. He will have his work cut out for a senior call up once covid settles, hopefully he can continue to do well in coming months!

451 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    A really pleasant surprise to see Ryan make the bench today for Getafe in La Liga away to Eibar, having reportedly playing well in a few B games. Hopefully he can get some consistent game time over the coming months including with their A team. He would deserve a shot with our under 21s if he does. Assume he’s still eligible next year?
    Scandalous that a player who has played for inter Milan and getafe couldn't make our 21s squad!!! In fairness alot of lads were laughing at him a few months back when not seeing much action in seria c andcsaying his agent was fabricating stories linking him with English sides so well done to him for knocking down and making an impact at his new club. Do getafe have a defensive injury crisis?

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    Scandalous that a player who has played for inter Milan and getafe couldn't make our 21s squad!!! In fairness alot of lads were laughing at him a few months back when not seeing much action in seria c andcsaying his agent was fabricating stories linking him with English sides so well done to him for knocking down and making an impact at his new club. Do getafe have a defensive injury crisis?
    He hasn't played for either Inter Milan or Getafe.

He's played for youth teams within those clubs. Minor difference. There's nothing scandalous about it with our under-21 squad was full of players playing first team football.

3,286 Posts
    He hasn't been involved with the national side since an U18 game in 2016. You'd think he would have called him into a squad, even just to take a look at him, at least once in the last four years?

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    He hasn't been involved with the national side since an U18 game in 2016. You'd think he would have called him into a squad, even just to take a look at him, at least once in the last four years?
    Absolutely don't disagree with that, but I was merely responding to a post that it was 'scandalous' he wasn't involved with our under-21's. He was playing in Serie C when Stephen Kenny was in charge of the under-21's, while we had players playing regularly at a higher level.

Not sure who 'he' is that you're referring to otherwise.

602 Posts
    Well this is a big turnaround - from being written off, as liamoo said (which was probably understandable given that he seemed to be struggling in Serie C teams) to a squad place in a Top-10 La Liga team. His career path over the last two years explains why he hasn't been in the U21s but the moment he steps on the pitch for the Getafe first team he becomes an option for the Irish squad.

3,286 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Absolutely don't disagree with that, but I was merely responding to a post that it was 'scandalous' he wasn't involved with our under-21's. He was playing in Serie C when Stephen Kenny was in charge of the under-21's, while we had players playing regularly at a higher level.

Not sure who 'he' is that you're referring to otherwise.
    Sorry, I phrased that post badly, it should have read
    You'd think he would have been called into a squad, even just to take a look at him, at least once in the last four years?

536 Posts
    I would have called him up for the first squad against Luxembourg that Corrie Ndaba was part of. He was on the standby list for that squad... liked him against Spurs in the UEFA U19 champions league prior to that.

But Masterson and O’Shea solidifying themselves as first choice, Scales doing well in Toulon and Collins moving from 19s to 21s, it became almost a non-issue. It was probably our position with most depth that wasn’t depleted by the senior squad over the campaign.

Conor McCarthy was also someone who played himself into contention at Cork and St Mirren but never played. The likes of Warren O’Hora, Aaron O’Driscoll, Luke McNally, Ciaran Kelly, Darragh O’Connor, James Finnerty etc etc etc were never used either, along with Ndaba and McCarthy.

Given the huge depth, I don’t think you can be overly critical of those decisions.
    Last edited by elatedscum; 23/11/2020 at 5:02 AM.

244 Posts
    Fair play to him. I think it’s fair to say he’s still a long shot case for Ireland but he’s still in contention for a breakthrough at a good standard. Many of us had doubts when he dropped to Serie C but he’s continuing to plug along and is still young, especially for a CB. Hopefully he continues the upward trajectory and forces Kenny’s hand.

711 Posts
    We've had plenty of players bloom later in their careers. We don't have the talent pool for it to be otherwise. If he starts playing La Liga football, someone will scout him.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    We've had plenty of players bloom later in their careers. We don't have the talent pool for it to be otherwise. If he starts playing La Liga football, someone will scout him.
    Scales is an example himself. Never rated for underage squads but he worked his way up in men's football to become a regular in the 21s. Sometimes we expect guys to be amazing because of the club they're at but Nolan has shown that if you seriously graft you can get your opportunities, and I hope he becomes a success. Still think the people who lost their rag when Scales was called up ahead of him were dreaming but.

21. Thanks From:

3,286 Posts
    Reports that he tore his cruciate ligament in training this week and will be out for the season

717 Posts
    That's desperately unlucky for him. I would say he's at a stage in his career where he couldn't afford that to happen to be honest. Could be 23 or close to it by the time he gets fit again with little first team football played in his career.
    Keane O'Shea Given Best Smallbone

3,197 Posts
    Back on the bench for Getafe this evening, so guess that injury wasn't at all as bad as feared.

No place for Finn though

3,286 Posts
    Back on the bench for Getafe this evening, so guess that injury wasn't at all as bad as feared.

No place for Finn though
    No he isn't, yes it is, and yes there is

3,197 Posts
    Ah - livescore are showing him on the bench, but they must be mixing up the two Irish players in that case.

418 Posts
    Signs for Northampton Town

28. Thanks From:

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast