Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: How was Israel?

Quote Originally Posted by Shae_B2D
    Getting drunk and booing the French team, I believe.
    At long it's a draw as it will suit us fine. The more points both team lose the better chance of us.

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    I honestly think this will be a draw tonight as well.
    30 min in, and it is still 0 - 0, the French's favorite score... I am too afraid to predict, to be honest.

Well, it ended 1:1... Israel was a favorite in the second half after Trezeguet was shown a red card, but luckily for France we suffered a poor shooting day...
    And Barthez got lots of booings during the game. Actually, every time he touched the ball he was booed...
    2 bad Switzerland beat Cyprus 1:0...

Quote Originally Posted by Yigal
    And Barthez got lots of booings during the game. Actually, every time he touched the ball he was booed...
    yeah, that one had me laughing for most of the game, I was working on the computer on the same time and wasn't always looking, so the crowd helped me figure out who had the ball.

Israel trip was definitely the best away trip I've been on - and I've been on some belters.

The Israeli's were fantastic - even had tricolours on every lampost on the main streets. The craic was absolutely awesome - even managed to get mistaken for one of the Irish team in a bar with Peader (Cork City), alongside Kav, Richard Dunne and Stephen 'no game for yee Derry boys this weekend' Paisley.

Awesome trip - and it's still not over, as I'm in an internet cafe next to Petra I did have to drop my pants at Stanstead airport so the dimmo security guards could realise that the object the metal detector kept picking-up was the zip on my trousers, and had a ****** overland crossing into Jordan, but am hoping the return flight on Monday will be hassle-free. Bonk - I'm doing the weekend in Eilat, so any tips etc send them my way

My opinion of Isarel as a country (ignoring the government's policies) has been positive ever since I did a trip around the country in 1998, but it's gone up a notch again. Met some top Israeli lads who are looking to come over to Dublin for the June fixture.

The Faroes will have to work hard to match up to this....

P.S. Who were the 2 langers in the Irish end at the game who turned up wearing lime green 'Free Palestine' T-shirts ? Talk about being inflamatory. Turkeys. Would they like it if a couple of French turned up at Lansdowne wearing 'Hands off Ulster' tops......?

I want to tell u that Ireland fans is one of the best in europe...
    I talked with some irish people and they were very nice.

I hope that u will come again to here we will host even better then last time...

I hope that u enjoyed from your stay here!!!

good luck to Ireland!!!

Erez from Israel

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    i asked this question on the other topic, but i dont think israelis are checking that so here goes again:

were there any hasidic jews at eh match or welcoming hte irish?? are htey into sport and what do you israelis beleive or feel towards them??

i dont want to go off topic here, but if someone could enlighten me more i woudl greatly appreciate.

dcfcsteve dont worry i beleive everything you say i just wnat to hear it from an "everyday" israeli.
    Yes, there are a lot of Hasidic jews who are into sports. most of them, actually, are a fans of Beitar Jerusalem (that's the team who also has the racist fans - it's not all of them, just few, but a very loud few, and because of them there was such a big fuss about Abas Suan scoring the goal on saturday). I used to see them on fridays, going to practices of the team, and on saturday evenings, sometimes walking long distances to the stadium to get to the games, because they don't want to break the Jewish law of sabbath. I didn't see any on saturday, but there were 40,000 people and almost a quarter, I believe, were from Jerusalem, so I'm sure they were there.
    Do you believe in Miracles?

Quote Originally Posted by donalfitz
    You must have been extremely dodgy character or very nervous.
    It was all very civil and they were taking the odd few out of the massive queues to ask if they'd like to fast track through this new system.
    I was dying to see how it worked so I jumped at the chance.
    It's well cool but couldn't cope with large numbers through it in quick succession.

Quote Originally Posted by donalfitz
    We never got to meet for that free drink. ha ha
    You must be the only one I didn't buy a drink for.
    Luckily the Israeli guys don't drink much.
    I offered two local girls a drink and they shared a diet coke.
    Pity the Irish girls weren't as easily catered for.

Quote Originally Posted by bidishi
    I want to tell u that Ireland fans is one of the best in europe...
    Officially we're among the best in the world.
    Just ask the Japanese after World Cup 2002.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    You must be the only one I didn't buy a drink for.
    Luckily the Israeli guys don't drink much.
    I offered two local girls a drink and they shared a diet coke.
    Pity the Irish girls weren't as easily catered for.
    You haven't met me, then. I think I drank about 7 pints on friday afternoon only, not too bad for an Israeli. although, I did learn to drink during my backpacking in Ireland... on the other hand, for the rest of the weekend I couldn't drink more than two beers per evening / noon drinking session...

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Officially we're among the best in the world.
    Just ask the Japanese after World Cup 2002.
    Gotta say, it's amazing. I've got a "sport pics" wall at home, where I hang pictures I find which represent the things I love about sports, and I've got a huge photo of the Irish fans from the WC 2002. not to mention I've taped the AMAZING reception you held for the players when they got back to Dublin from Sky News.
    Do you believe in Miracles?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123