Thread: Limerick 1 - 1 Monaghan Utd

Limerick 1 - 1 Monaghan Utd

Still pinching myself that that was a Limerick home match that I was at, compared to the misery of the last few years. Hogan Park was looking very impressive, stand full, crowds queuing outside 15 minutes into the game, decent match programme.....a bit surreal but if this is only the beginning I can't wait to see what two years down the line holds for us!

Regards the game, Monaghan were well worth their lead at half-time, they looked slick whereas we looked disjointed. It was the other way around in the second half, although we should have been punished twice on the break. Derek's appearance was the turning point for me, I can't see anything in CP O'Brien that says he's a better option than Derek. I'll follow SLK's lead and give a player by player rating.

1. Noel Mooney - Didn't have much to do but looked a bit slow when coming off his line, thought his positioning was a bit suspect and his distribution was poor too. Looks a bit of a shaper to me, needs to be more assured. 6/10

2. Stephen O'Mahony - Thought Stephen was poor throughout, even in the second half when we were on top he gave little support to Nolan. Passing and distribution was very poor. Needs a haircut. 6/10

3. Mark Tobin - Solid throughout. Good in the tackle. Reserved going forward though and was happy to leave all the work to Donnelan - 7/10

4. Anthony Wolfe - Looks a decent player but it's hard to judge a centre half on one game. I thought our defense were very suspect through the middle tonight, Monaghan should have scored more. Only time will tell if Wolfe is the weak link here. Was unlucky not to score with a header late in the second half - 7/10

5. Paul Finucane - Paul played well, solid performance, but found it difficult against a very physical Monaghan attack. A real threat from corners and set-pieces at the other end - 7/10

6. Brendan Hughes - Didn't make any impression on the game for my money, one of the reasons we were overrun in the first half. Improved in the second, but looks like a Mattie Holland type to me - full of running without really doing anything meaningful 6/10

7. Jamie Nolan - His ability to take players on and beat them is excellent, as is his close control in tight situations. His crossing and distribution however needs improving, although the former improved as the game went on. Looks like he could be a very good player in time. 7/10

8. Tommy Barrett - Worked hard all night and looks like a good motivator. Could do with a good ball playing midfielder alongside him, which would free him up to work box to box. Brendan Sweeney would have been ideal. Should have gone down for a penalty in the second half. - 7/10

9. CP O'Brien - Offered nothing all night. I'm not one of the anti-CP brigade as I didn't get to many home games last season, but I thought he was our least effective player tonight. Control was poor, passing was worse. No understanding with Robbie Kelliher at all. Doesn't look like a striker who can play well with his back turned to goal. Will be a bench warmer unless he livens up - 5/10

10. Robbie Kelleher - I thought Kelliher was superb. To look at him you wouldn't think he was much of a threat but in truth he has everything. Workrate, passion, aggression, heading ability, link play, plus I thought his ability to play with his back turned to goal was excellent, especially his turn and shot at the death. Was unlucky to hit the bar with a header in the first - 9/10

11. Brian Donnellan - One of our constant threats all night. Had the beating of his man on almost every occasion. Forced a great save from the keeper in the first, and scored a great goal. Faded a bit after the goal and it was comical that he wasn't sent off for flooring a Monaghan player in the latter stages. Only criticism of him is that his final ball could be better at times - 8/10

Subs:

Derek McCarthy (for CP. O'Brien) - His introduction was the turning point for me as he offered a focal point to our attack. He linked well with Kelliher and Donnelan and by just looking for the ball and laying it off he began to open up the Monaghan defence. Played on the shoulder of the last defender as well, which always puts pressure on the opposing defence. Was unlucky not to score with an excellent glancing header. 8/10

Conor Molan (for B. Hughes) - Not on long enough to rate

On a side note, did anyone notice that the referee Conor Fitzgerald was the
    spit of Frank Skinner the comedian?
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 25/03/2005 at 11:00 PM.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Hogan Park was looking very impressive, stand full, crowds queuing outside 15 minutes into the game
    Good to hear! What's Hogan Park hold anyway? How full was it in the end today?

I agree with nearly everything you said there.

Don't know what to make of Mooney.
    Thought the defence was very poor in the 1st half & Monaghan looked like they might score everytime they went forward.Improved 2nd half.

Nolan was on the post for their goal & it went over his head. He could have done better but these things happen. His dribbling especially during the 2nd half was excellent but sometimes he just tried to get past one too many.
    Needs work on his final ball & needs to be a bit stronger physically.

Tommy Barrett looked like a threat all night going forward. It was his header that hit the post I thought. Very unlucky. He should definately have collapsed in a heap for a penalty that time the goalie came out. He'll learn.

CP O'Brien was ****e & has nothing to offer the team. Worst player by far.
    Derek McCarthy was immediately better when he came on.

Robbie Kelleher was excellent. Chased everything & linked up with midfield very well. Hit the crossbar from the wing in the 2nd half. A real asset.

Brian Donnellan was excellent as well. Great deliveries from free kicks & corners plus a very well taken goal. Don't know how he wasn't sent off for the incident at the end either. Didn't even get a yellow. I think the ref thought the monaghan player made the most of it but Brian still lashed out & will count his blessings that he didn't get a red.

Great crowd great atmosphere. Signs are good for the future.

My 2p worth

Have to agree 4thf..Hogan Park had a good buzz about the place.
    Very good second half for Limerick,unlucky not to get all 3 points.
    Here's my rating for what it's worth.
    Mooney..6/10 (Very Funny)
    O'Mahony..5/10 (Distribution poor)
    Tobin..6/10 (Solid)
    Woulfe.. 7/10 (Solid)
    Finnucane..7/10 (Class)
    Hughes..7/10 (Solid)
    Nolan..6/10 (Good touches,Delivery poor)
    Barrett..7/10 ( Great worker, too honest )
    O'Brien..5/10 ( Harmless)
    Kelliher..9/10 ( Dynamite)
    Donnellan..8/10 ( Effective)
    McCarthy..8/10 ( Effective)
    Couple of points..
    I think that Mooney is very funny..he's a Space Cadet, not a shaper..
    For me O'Mahony & Nolan were very average on the right, apart from the goal no ball came in from that side.O'Mahony lost(gave away)too many balls .. Nolan did show some very good work but too many times the ball never delivered.
    Have to say for me Kelliher & McCarthy have to be front men ....

KELLEHER BRILLIANT........WONDER WHAT CLUB HE WAS BROUGHT UP IN?????

great to see a great crowd in hogan park...long may it continue....Crowd spurred on the team in thesecond half and it showed on the field......Donnellan didn't even get booked for flooring your man..he he....

Yes the ref was a spit of frank skinner......

Your number 10 was excellent. No 11 was a good player but a knacker. Limerick were good value for the point. Although we should have scored twice in the second half - once near the start and again near the end - it would have been robbery after the seige you laid on our goals in the 2nd half.
    Hope the crowds keep turning up.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Good to hear! What's Hogan Park hold anyway? How full was it in the end today?
    The Star today put last night's attendance at 1,800. I can't disagree with that. It was great to see such a big crowd and lets hope it continues. Only thing is that it was Good Friday and with no pubs etc open it could have contributed to the big turnout. But I hope I'm wrong. The next couple of home games will be telling as regards this. The atmosphere was excellent in the second half, and it definitely transfered to the players on the pitch. Pity we didn't get a winner. Barrett will have to learn to go down easy!
    Would agree with most of what 4tothefloor said. I thought, however, that Tobin started very poorly. He made a number of bad clearences in the first half and one almost found his own net. He was vastly improved in the second half and gave good support to Donnellan. The two changes I would make to the starting eleven would be to bring in Mick Aherne for O'Mahoney and Derek McCarthy has to start up front instead of CPOB.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Quote Originally Posted by ramblers05
    ha ha says something about yere club...happier to have a crowd then a win..

well at least yere off the bottom!
    We were in 8th position after the first round of games.
    And after our draw last night we've moved up 1 place to 7th.
    Ye haven't moved any closer to the top!
    And yes I know ye're still 2nd.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue
    Only thing is that it was Good Friday and with no pubs etc open it could have contributed to the big turnout. But I hope I'm wrong. The next couple of home games will be telling as regards this.
    Dunno about that - my experience from last season is that Bank Holidays are very bad for attendances...in which case crowds will be up again next week! Unless youkeep drawing at home to Monaghan of course...

I agree with the player ratings more or less, and just to point out that CP actually played better than what he did in Cobh but still he is not good enough and Derek should start instead of him. That seems to be the general consensus amongst everyone now regardless if they like/dislike CP.

What annoyed me was that Mick Ahearne was dropped which was very unfair. I think Steven really had to put in a performance that justified his selection and I'm afraid he didn't. Most of the Monaghan attacks occurred down his flank and he had a tough time dealing with it. His overall play was poor.

I think our problem in the first half is that Barrett and Hughes didn't control midfield which put pressure on the defence and also the style of football that NOC had us playing. We did not play attractive football at all. He seems to have our full backs sitting back and not allowed to push forward at all, they are knocking the ball long down the wing for our wingers/forwards to chase and hold up the play for support. As against Cobh and now Monaghan when we actually start to pass the ball around we create chances and put teams under real pressure. The full backs pressed on in the second half and added greater emphasis to our attacks. It was unfortunate that crosses from the flanks was poor. I think NOC has to realise that we've got guys who like the ball passed to their feet and that they like to play football instead of competing for a high ball in the air. Two years ago we got to the playoffs and played the best football in the first division and if we start playing football again I think we can be competing for promotion this season.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Very little to add to the above save to add my vote to Mick Aherne returning.

He was given the Supporters' Club player sponsorship this year for a reason, and on his performance he SHOULD BE starting all our games.

PS: Could we lose CP and get a good tall striker for our set pieces?
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

What a night and what a match.I had to q for up to 15 mins to get in,but it was well worth it ,i never before remember a q that long .A big well done to all involved to get the ground and all its surrounds looking so good,im sure with mr. drew and co.there will be another stile put in place before the next home match on the 5th of april,anyone i talked to about the match were all of the same opinion,that there is a future for senior soccer in limerick and those that were there on friday night will come again and bring xtra people with them.
    On the match front we will definately be fighting with the big boys at the latter stages of the league,mooney,solid enough and will do ,back four ,tobin and woulfe slow enough to start but big improvment in the second half and in general we have a solid back four to get us promoted,midfield were also slow to the pace of the game, hughes and barrett need to defend more but barrett is strong and new to senior soccer and will improve and will be a decent player ,nolan showed in the second half that he has it also ,has to learn what to do when he hasent got the ball.Very impressed with donnellon,took on their defence a lot and took goal very well,will learn im sure to keep his cool as other refs wont be as lenient.Kelleher is a find and will be great ,i havent seen a player like him playing for limerick for a long time,cp obrien not at his best but i wouldnt disguard him just yet,derek mac was great when he came on and gave his team mates a different option.
    Overall it was a great night with a great season in store and believe me this division will be close as seen already with all teams dropping points and hopfully limerick will be there or there abouts come the end of the season.
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    2. Stephen O'Mahony Needs a haircut.

Kelleher and Donnellan were Limerick's best players. The back five weren't bad but the full-backs didn't offer a lot of support. Barrett and Hughes still look a good pairing in my view. Jamie Nolan showed a lot of ability but overdid it at times. Can't Pass O'Brien should not start. Everybody knows it. He pulls out of too much and still seems reluctant to involve his team-mates at times.

Also thought it was an outrageous decision to drop Mick Ahearne from the squad. He did quite well in Cobh and any one of O'Mahony, Donnellan or Kearns could have been dropped ahead of him.

Great to see a crowd, let's just hope that some of them come back.
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 29/03/2005 at 1:54 PM.

Here's my spoke anyway.

I thought we were very suspect at the back in the first half and even offered up two golden chances to them in the second - how the Mon missed the chance at the very end I don't know. There was nobody near him.

We were worth a win I thought and the set up this season was very good. Packing the Shed is a good idea - though it does mean the rest of the ground was a bit dead. If we had been attacking into a crowd in the first half...(?)

I thought the referee was very picky - he was trying to remove all contact from the game and he was very harsh with Finny and seemed to think that it was impossible for a striekr to foul a centre half. He also played a laughable advantage in the second half. A Mon player was fouled - he let play go on and when the Mon player made a balls of his shot on goal he called play back for the free. That said, Donellan should have been sent off. He spoke to Donnellan, which means he saw it and as far as I could see there wasn't even a yellow. I think the Mon's performance in going to ground got Donnellan off.

Steven O'Mahoney was poor - he was caught quite a few times. I still wouldn't drop him for next week - he is a better player than Aherne and is entitled to a chance dealing with a new centre half and midfielder in front.

I have to say I was disappointed with Donnellan. The goal was taken really well. It was mentioned above that his corners and frees were well taken. What? He couldn't get a corner past the front of the 6 yard box until about 15 minutes from the end. We squandered quite a lot of chances of swinging frees into the box. He is excellent at getting past players, he had their number 2 buried I don't know how many times (even in the first half) but his delivery was woeful. He reminds me a bit of a Steve McManaman type. Head down - beats a player but unable to lift his head for the cross. Maybe as fitness improves...

Kelliher was really impressive. Very good. Really unlucky not to score.

CP was not up to it. He didn't put himself about enough. I'd prefer to see McCarthy start next week. He looked a lot hungrier. Hughes and Barrett were patchy in the centre. Bren actually looked to be tired from the middle of the first half.

Overall, it was a great night out. All that's needed now is a bit of chanting/ singing.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

In defence on Donnellan, he's a right footer playing on the left which is only going to impede his crosses. Doesn't excuse corners though.

And while he should have been sent off for throwing a punch, it was because he was elbowed in the head in full view of the referee. Very out of character for him though, Brian's normally too quiet if anything.

Based on what I've seen in the two games to date, I'd line us out as follows on Friday night:

Healy

O'Mahony Wolfe Finucane Ahearne

Nolan Barret Hughes Donnellan

Kelleher McCarthy

Subs: Mooney, Molan, Lynch, Tobin, O'Brien

I'd also consider switching Donnellan and Nolan.

Mooney has some boot on him though. I think it would take Healy three kicks to put it as far as one of Mooney's.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Mooney has some boot on him though. I think it would take Healy three kicks to put it as far as one of Mooney's.
    Sure we might as well stick Ronan O'Gara in goal so! If recent form is anything to go by his rugby career is winding down anyway!

we need 2

Lads i think what we really need are another dominent central defender and a experienced central midfielder. Wolfe although a good ball player and wins headers is not as phisical as id like him to be and we badly need a midfielder as barrett and hughes are more of the same. I wont say anything about up front for a few weeks

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    I wont say anything about up front for a few weeks
    Why ever not Gael? Kelleher looks a super player to me! And McCarthy has looked keen and hungry off the bench. Oh wait, I see where you're going with this! Actually, my plans to be supportive of the unnamed waste of space disippated after he pulled out of another yet challenge during the second half the other night...

I'd seriously consider editing or deleting that....This is not an area for personal insults or attacks. And its way off topic as well. Grow up.