Thread: LOI Matches 13/14 July

Limerick looking for trouble tonight trying to defend a 1 goal lead and as usual the officials feck up to change the outcome of a game. How is the standard in the league so poor this carry on happens every week. Most of the time it goes unnoticed ie free kicks or throw ins but how are they all soooo bad its so annoying

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Limerick hustled us out of it in the first half and we were awful, for the first half hour especially. We had more urgency in the second half and it told. Huge relief to get the win, finally. Don't know about the offside, couldn't tell from where I was sitting. Looked a penalty to me on Killian Brennan in the first half, possibly even more so than the one that was given on Conan. Need to see them again on tv though.

Lee Desmond was outstanding tonight for Pats, becoming a real leader in the team. Conor Clifford was poor I though, as were Ryan Brennan and Dean Clarke. I thought the wrong Brennan came off at half time.
    Hahaha definitely not a penalty for Brennan if the ref was any good he'd have given him a yellow card

Why are women allowed officiate men's games? They are not up to even the low standards set.

It's unfair to expect them to be. Women's football is slower. Much slower. Much much slower.

Limerick are a bad men's team. Yet they would absolutely batter the women's league champions.

And you have that silly girl costing them a point tonight.

Bloody political correctness gone mad I tell you.

171 Posts
    Why are women allowed officiate men's games? They are not up to even the low standards set.

It's unfair to expect them to be. Women's football is slower. Much slower. Much much slower.

Limerick are a bad men's team. Yet they would absolutely batter the women's league champions.

Shocking comment, there are many equally poor and worse male officials in the league and there are some female officials that are better than many of their male counterparts.
    Being a good match official, especially an assistant, has absolutely nothing to do with gender. When you want to join the rest of us in the 21st century youre more than welcome.

I thought Limerick deserved at least a point tonight but then we'd have been spared that delicious tantrum. Bizarre.

Not only were Limerick denied a point but there was some man somewhere who had to cook his own tea!!

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    I will admit I wasn't expecting a critique of the WNL to be the main take away of last night.

Pmsl

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Shocking comment, there are many equally poor and worse male officials in the league and there are some female officials that are better than many of their male counterparts.
    Being a good match official, especially an assistant, has absolutely nothing to do with gender. When you want to join the rest of us in the 21st century youre more than welcome.
    Hear hear.

Anytime we’ve had female officials they have been very good.
    Drogheda United in this together

229 Posts
    Michelle o Neiil is the best assistant ref in the country.Another woman is close to the worst.It is competency that makes a good official, not gender.

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Limerick hustled us out of it in the first half and we were awful, for the first half hour especially. We had more urgency in the second half and it told. Huge relief to get the win, finally. Don't know about the offside, couldn't tell from where I was sitting. Looked a penalty to me on Killian Brennan in the first half, possibly even more so than the one that was given on Conan. Need to see them again on tv though.

Lee Desmond was outstanding tonight for Pats, becoming a real leader in the team. Conor Clifford was poor I though, as were Ryan Brennan and Dean Clarke. I thought the wrong Brennan came off at half time.
    Pretty much my take on things, except that the penalty claim in the first half wasn't even close. The penalty on the second was one alright, just a little tug on Byrne, no complaints from Limerick really.

The offside decison seemed tight, I thought he was on, some other lads thought he was off - then they saw some twitter photos or videos that showed him to be on...I haven' seen those.

Anyway, excellent first half, but the problem is we don't have the energy to do that for 90 minutes, and when we stop it almost inevitably results in a siege of our goal, as happened at the start of the second half last night. I actually thought we had seen off that period pressure, but you came back again. Tommy Holland had to make a couple of superb saves before you scored.

We were probably worth more than a one goal lead at halftime, but we just don't have the quality up front, and so often, we end up paying for our failure to make full use of the good periods of play we have. Home to Pats was another example of that actually.
    Last edited by osarusan; 21/07/2018 at 9:01 AM.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    The offside decison seemed tight, I thought he was on, some other lads thought he was off - then they saw some twitter photos or videos that showed him to be on...I haven' seen those.
    He was clearly on, and the player playing him on was between him and the linesman.

A shocking decision, and one that is all too frequent in the league.

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    Another bad result for Galway. Somehow, still in with a chance of playoffs though.
    think its a battle between us and ye for final playoff spot. we play ucd I think in our last game of the season.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    He was clearly on, and the player playing him on was between him and the linesman.

A shocking decision, and one that is all too frequent in the league.
    Saved us a much needed two points though. So, you know, every cloud and all that.....
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Thanks for the heads up 

Right or left sided?
    Neil Farrugia (number 12) plays on both wings
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

28 Posts

Bloody sexism still mad i tell you

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Michelle o Neiil is the best assistant ref in the country.Another woman is close to the worst.It is competency that makes a good official, not gender.
    Michelle O’Neill is absolutely useless. Seen her give offside from a throw in in Longford before.

171 Posts
    Big win for Rovers in Waterford yesterday with what looked to be a big crowd.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Big win for Rovers in Waterford yesterday with what looked to be a big crowd.
    Credit where credit is due - that's an impressive result

It's probably fair to say that Rovers have a decent shout at a Europa league place.

171 Posts
    Just watched the highlights of the Rovers game, where's this penalty Waterford fans want? Surely its not that time Duffus went down?