Thread: Niall Quinn

Niall Quinn

Bit off topic here but just shows what a man Niall Quinn is .. Following is story from sunderland fan whos flight was cancelled from bristol back to newcastle after the Sunderland game in Cardiff by easyjet ...

" Basically we were called for the flight, we stood at the departure gate, Quinny got a short chorus of "Niall Quinn's Disco Pants" when he joined us and it all seemed to kick off from there. They told us to stop singing, which we already had. They told us there would be no alcohol served on the flight which I really don't think anyone was bothered about and they let us on board without any problem.

I've never witnessed anything like it in my life. We all sat on that plane, quite and well behaved and waited to be taken home. The Captain told us they were checking paperwork than all of a sudden a fleet of police cars roll up with lights flashing, they invade the plane and one Stewardess started to point out various people, one of whom wasn't drunk but had a learning disability and they were taken off. Quinny was furious but ice cool, got up to follow them off muttering something about "solidarity" and of course the press guys followed him.

We were apparently "threatening and a security risk" according to the Stewardess and eventually we were all removed from the plane and told the flight was cancelled.

We were literally treat like animals. We were told we could stay overnight but we'd have to find out own hotel, pay for it ourselves and pay for our return flight the next day which they couldn't guarantee us. We might have sat there all day waiting for seats on an easyjet flight. They told us we "may" be able to reclaim the money.

It's true Quinny paid for the taxis with his own credit card. I wouldn't be surprised if he's still down there now making sure everyone was sorted. He told the Easyjet staff "These are my people".

Everyone who was on that flight needs to write to Easyjet cos their attitude stank tonight. Every one of us needs to write to Quinny as well, without him on that flight I dread to think what would have happened to us down there. Quite simply the man is a legend. "

What a man great to see ...

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Mother Theresa himself... fair play

70 Posts
    Don't pawn this thread off on World Football. Niall Quinn was Ireland's record goal scorer not all that recently, I fail to see why his merits as an individual cannot be discussed in the Ireland forum.

It's a very nice gesture, makes him likeable. It saddens me then when quotes come out from his club talking about 'cracking the Irish market' and various other thrash, because I would like him, as a person, much more.

nice guy, legend, fair play
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour View Post
    we stood at the departure gate, Quinny got a short chorus of "Niall Quinn's Disco Pants" when he joined us and it all seemed to kick off from there. They told us to stop singing .................... without him on that flight I dread to think what would have happened to us down there
    ahhh, i reckon if he wasn't there ye wouldn't have started singing and then boarded the plane and got home hassle free

nice story though

He bought a pub in my town a few years ago but unofrtunatly he done **** all with it and it has now been knocked down. The first time he came to see the pub he received much abuse over Roy Keane after Saipan....this would have been about 6 months after Saipan

Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    He bought a pub in my town a few years ago but unofrtunatly he done **** all with it and it has now been knocked down. The first time he came to see the pub he received much abuse over Roy Keane after Saipan....this would have been about 6 months after Saipan
    Where's the boozer Carloz ?

Smells like a property deal, rather than not an investment in the wet-trade.

It seems the guy with the disability is the main focus. Easyjet said he was drunk. Everyone walked off, led by our Niall. Police arrived, and had no problem with the supporters, including said guy. Easyjet dug their heels in, and now the crap is really hitting the fan for Easyjet, with everyone and his dog jumping on the story in the NE of England (Both SAFC and NUFC used Easyjet a lot before this happened)
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Couldn't he have put on a bus?

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Doesn't make for such a good story for St. Niall though...

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post

He tried.

http://www.sunderlandtoday.co.uk/Vie...SectionID=1107

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Where's the boozer Carloz ?

Smells like a property deal, rather than not an investment in the wet-trade.
    Your probably right dcfcsteve. The pub was in Bagenalstown in Co. Carlow. Think he owned a pub in Clonmel as well. He really put little effort in with the pub so im sure it was a property deal. A lot of flats have been built in the pubs place

what a legend, how can anyone dislike this man...the cheapest bit of PR Sunderland AFC will ever get!!

Rovers member. Of course he's a legend! Class guy.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Don't pawn this thread off on World Football. Niall Quinn was Ireland's record goal scorer not all that recently, I fail to see why his merits as an individual cannot be discussed in the Ireland forum.
    Same way Roy Keane's expolits are?

In fairness, he's good people.
    And genuine too.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Im sure he will claim it back from the club and the Sunderland fans will end up paying for it anyway

Nice gesture though

214 Posts
    That shows real class and fair play to him. I have to admit I always keep an eye on how Sunderland are doing now because of the Irish connection. I really hope they go up and Keane can duke it out with the big boys.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    778 Posts
    If you want to listen to Niall Quinn's disco pants, here you go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2esp...elated&search=

Quinn used to irritate me a bit when he played for Ireland as he used to give away a rake of free kicks but oh that goal against England, the flick on for Keane for the goal against Germany and the shirt pull on him against Spain for the peno. Never to be forgotten
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.