3,215 Posts
    Boo!

Kicked off ten minutes earlier, so ye win

447 Posts
    We had a good start. Then sort of fell to pieces for ten minutes but sorted out our shape after the water break. Dundalk have had all the possession but aside from that ten minute period it's been mostly sterile. Were happy for them to play in front of our defence and shoot from distance. They did have one very dangerous shot from Benson though.
    Despite our lack of possession we've gotten into dangerous positions quite a bit but the shot has fallen to the wrong people and hadn't troubled the keeper.
    Interesting game. Kinda wish I could have been there but couldn't get out of work in time so happy to have the TV option.

164 Posts
    Listening to Pat Morley doing the Cork game is like having Gary Neville doing Man U games

Great header from Josh! 1-1. Game on.

447 Posts
    Pat hates Cork City!

131 Posts
    We have a water break at the Bowl!

Is that a LoI first?
    One at Shels v Drogs a few weeks ago

1,081 Posts
    Haven’t heard much from Belfield, anyone know the score?

3,215 Posts
    Bizarre end to the game in the Bowl; two defensive howlers gift Longford two goals, and we get a stonewall peno ignored.

Doesn't change that Longford fully deserved their win, but I think that might be our worst First Division result ever, and it wasn't that kind of game

1,081 Posts
    That’s a great win for us in all seriousness. That’s Harps, Drogs, Galway and UCD that we’ve beaten in recent games. Frustrating that we dropped 5 points to Athlone and Cabo.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    That was a horrible way to lose tonight. Dundalk the better team but we had some chances, particularly the Sheppard one that Roger's tipped on to the post. Would've taken the point but it's two points behind now. It's going to be interesting.

999 Posts
    Great win for us given the circumstances. We did well in the first half, but had to withstand a fair bit of pressure in the second half. Although we had chances to finish it off too.

9 ahead of Bray with 12 games to go...will be a tough task for them.

2,346 Posts
    Finn Harps win at Cabinteely and all is again good with the world.

646 Posts
    Good win for rovers very comfortable 2 nil .
    A warm evening in Tallaght stadium......hard to believe.
    New stand looks great coming on quickly

555 Posts
    Cracking atmosphere in Oriel Park tonight. I thought Dundalk were very wasteful in the fist half, they dominated possession but were making poor choices with the final ball. However, all looked well when Adorjan score a delightful goal at the start of the second half. Fair play to Cork after that, they pushed numbers forward and got a goal that looked offside at the time. Cork seemed to sit back at that point, while Dundalk pressed forward themselves and Kenny's two substitutions (Connolly and Murray) made the difference.

The single biggest difference between Dundalk and Cork is the comparison between Cummins and Hoban. Hoban burst a gut to throw himself towards a cross in the 92nd minute. That is what wins tight games.

As an aside, it was disappointing to hear that Dundalk fans in a local pub were attacked before the game. It seemed a premeditated attack from the accounts of people who witnessed it.

194 Posts
    Hoban was brilliant tonight.
    Totally proved that he has more to his game than just scoring the odd goal here and there.

Was a cracking game.Cork started better but Dundalk got going about 20mins in and ran it from there until h/t.
    Thought after our 1 st goal we lost our way AGAIN but with a bit of team spirit we dug in well after that and deserved the win.

O hanlon goal offside? i was in the worst place to judge but looking back on rte after it was onside by a whisker.

Great atmosphere in the ground also.

205 Posts
    Bizarre end to the game in the Bowl; two defensive howlers gift Longford two goals, and we get a stonewall peno ignored.

Doesn't change that Longford fully deserved their win, but I think that might be our worst First Division result ever, and it wasn't that kind of game
    And yet not one UCD player called for it?
    €12 into that place is a robbery.

229 Posts
    Pats should have been 3 up at half time but a 25 yard drive out of nowhere from Devanney had us ahead.
    Pats seemed knackered second half , which Bohs probably edged.
    Can see Pats getting dragged into a bottom 5 battle.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    Hoban was brilliant tonight.
    Totally proved that he has more to his game than just scoring the odd goal here and there.

Was a cracking game.Cork started better but Dundalk got going about 20mins in and ran it from there until h/t.
    Thought after our 1 st goal we lost our way AGAIN but with a bit of team spirit we dug in well after that and deserved the win.

O hanlon goal offside? i was in the worst place to judge but looking back on rte after it was onside by a whisker.

Great atmosphere in the ground also.
    I was very impressed with Hoban. He got his head on nearly every ball that was sent into the box.

Thought we did well for the first 15-20 pressing high up the pitch but we just sat back they and Dundalk got on top though without creating many clear opportunities. Very unfortunate goal for us to concede but Hoban throwing himself at that cross caused McLoughlin to make that mistake.

Instantly thought our goal was offside, clearly see on the replay that he was on though.

That would've been a good point had it ended that way but wasn't to be and now we have a 2 point deficit to make up. Not impossible by any means but we can't afford to fall any further behind I reckon.

European fixtures could play a part in this also.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast