I think i would hand back the money too. But if it was a publicans money i would think twice as they make alot of money out of me anyway !![]()
But it is nice to hear stories like this. Good people still do exist it seems.![]()
I've no connection to it ata ll. I'm just going off the article which specifically stated she was on the way to lodge the money to the bank when she stopped off at the hospital, a reasonable person would assume you'd be aware of the money. It doesn't really matter to me that much but I don't see it as libellous..speculative yes. I never said she decided not to tell I was merely putting forward a possible scenario which is fair comment in my opinion, also put forward by another poster above. Anyway, I'll shut up now, it wasn't something I was particularly bothered about anyway.Originally Posted by dahamsta
I think i would hand back the money too. But if it was a publicans money i would think twice as they make alot of money out of me anyway !![]()
But it is nice to hear stories like this. Good people still do exist it seems.![]()
A group of us were over in Dublin in 2000 for one of the rugby internationals, on a Sunday night on the lash in Club M.
We parked ourselves down on one of the upstairs seats, and after a while realised there was a seriously suave video camera just lying next to us in the corner on one of the seats.
We booted it up, had a look through the photos on there, and recognised a girl who was downstairs in the club who'd been looking a bit distraught earlier.
When we rocked up to give her camera back to her she was absolutely amazed that we'd returned it, let alone managed to find out who she was from the images. She was a Yank at the end of a big trip around Ireland, and had been gutted as she thought she'd lost her video camera with all her photos and footage on it. Cue warm feeling in the heart all round...
As I get older I find myself believeing more and more in Karma. There's few things in life better than knowing you've done the right thing....
I feel the same.Originally Posted by blobbyblob
Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.
agree with ye totally on the Karma thing. If any of ye have seen the film "A Simple Plan" you will know how the bad luck of keeping large sums of money![]()
Thats happened to me a few times aswell. Not sure thats always stealing though as I've gone up to people to say on more than one ocasion I think You've taken the wrong coat there and they'd realize but others I reckon are just playin dumb to see if they can get anyway with it and fool themselves into thinkin they weren't actuallt robbing.Originally Posted by Magoo
On the money front I think every effort should be made to get the money back to the owner. But thats quite difficult most of the time. Ye find a wallet with id in your grand but ye find cash on a shopping centre floor who ye gonna hand it in to (surely to someone thats gonna pocket it themselves) I found 60 quid once beside a till in a supermarket. I asked the girl to check her till to see if it was right. Her till was grand so I handed her my address and phone number and said if anyone had lost money they could call the number and they'd have the money back. I'd do the same if it was 60 or 6000. Wouldn't go near the police....