Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Songs for the weekend!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by kav28
    Sorry for starting this thread, hope we're all still friends. Typical us Irish take our Sing-Song's just a bit too seriously.
    Don't be sorry think its a great thread..
    who's takin it seriously..
    Most of my 'Serious' lookin comments were sarcistic..

Think we should get a few songs and maybe try to get them started at the next home match
    Well that might be too soon.. but if we find out who's going and if theres a good crowd in the one place we can get it going..

oh oh we can start a campaign. hand out the lyrics to people before matches... The FAI aren't doin much to help so why don't we take matters into our own hands

Talking To the tune of Amorillo - I thank you

When the day is dawning,
    and three more points are callin'
    How I long to be there
    When Robbie Keane scores for me
    Every lonely city
    Where i hang my hat
    Aint as half as pretty,
    As where my Keanos at

Is this the way to Germany oh?
    Every night ive been hugging my pillow
    Dreaming dreams of Germany oh
    And Robbie Keane who scores for me
    Show me the way to Germany oh
    Ive been weeping like a willow
    Crying over Germany Oh

Sha la la la la la la Keano

Theres a church bell ringing
    South Bucket everyones singing
    For Brian Kerrs army
    And the people whos coming to see her
    Just beyond the Dartline
    Theres Paddy Cullens and it keeps me going
    Through the wind and rain

And Gary Breen who scores for me
    Dreamin over Germany Oh

Sha la la la la la la Breeno

Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    When the day is dawning,
    and three more points are callin'
    How I long to be there
    When Robbie Keane scores for me
    Every lonely city
    Where i hang my hat
    Aint as half as pretty,
    As where my Keanos at

Crying over Germany Oh

Theres a church bell ringing
    South Bucket everyones singing
    For Brian Kerrs army
    And the people whos coming to see her
    Just beyond the Dartline
    Theres Paddy Cullens and it keeps me going
    Through the wind and rain

Crying over Germany Oh

Im truely speechless. well done. can certainly see the chorus taking off at a game

think you might be onto something there chief, nice one

We'll probably all end up in a mass drunken brawl over whether Keane should be back in the team or not!

Anyway, "Team of Gary Breens" is still the most legenday song ever & I always sing the whole thing at the games (to plently of derision from boring home fans).

Here's one we made up in Paris:
    To the tune of "Livin on a Prayer"

Oh oh we're halfway there
    Oh oh Given is our player
    He got great hands
    He'll save us I swear
    Woh oh Given is our player

It will be sang again in Ramat Gan & he better be on the pitch to appreciate it.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    In addition I think booing a player that tried to cheat us i.e. Pires is perfectly acceptable.
    absolutely agree - I was one of those boo-ing Pires in Paris and will again should he be up to his oul tricks again. Saying that on the other hand I won't be cheering fantastic attempts at diving from our own players either.

Finally I think booing a manager because you want him out is one of the few democratic rights that a suporter has. I think if you are supporting your club and you hold protests etc to get a manager sacked is ok in my book, as long as it is done after the game and does not affect the performance on the pitch.
    I do not beleive that boo-ing a manager after a game ( i should clarify that i mean directly after a game has ended and not a protest outside a ground which is a different matter) helps the team that you support. I can't see how 12 or 14 Irishmen leaving Lansdowne Road to a chorus of boo's having played their heart out is good support regardless of who the negativity is aimed at. I was ashamed of the attitude of so many of the 'best fans in the world' after that game against Switzerland. I've no doubts that the reasons some people sing the Keano song (i.e. as a hatred towards Keane) is the exact same reason why others where boo-ing McCarthy (one of our most successful managers, statistically anyway). Pathetic excuse for fans.

I am by no means a fan of Roy Keane but I will not stoop to boo-ing our own players. I'm all for the bit of banter and slagging some of our players get and it's good laugh and let's not take the fun outta the game but resounding chorus of boo's is something I hope to never here again from Irish Fans home or away towards our players or manager.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

So how should a group of fans call for the sacking of the manager
    In Trap we trust

I think there should be a sticky with Ireland songs in it. I should be just a thread with full song lyrics with the tune written on the top of it. So people could print them out and learn them off etc. As it is this is a long thread with some gems on it I think a sticky thread with just songs on it and not discussion could be a good reference for supporters etc.

In Trap we trust

I think there should be a sticky with Ireland songs in it. I should be just a thread with full song lyrics with the tune written on the top of it. So people could print them out and learn them off etc. As it is this is a long thread with some gems on it I think a sticky thread with just songs on it and not discussion could be a good reference for supporters etc.

Was just about to post that, a sticky thread with just songs no comments, and peoplle can add to the songs or modify them ect ect group effort another thread can be set up for the comments

So how should a group of fans call for the sacking of the manager
    There are plently of ways that rise above the moronic boo-ing of our own managers and players.

1. Arrange a protest outside the club/organisation's HQ
    2. Contibute articles to fanzine's/newspaper's letters pages/ radio phone-in's in support of your argument
    3. Be active in a supporter's trust
    4. Start a petition
    5. Gain consenus that the 'fans' do infact want the manager out (nothing worse than reading than 'fans want Manager sacked' thanks to a handful of boo-ers!)

the list is endless

The problem with using boo-ing to signify your overall argument is that others get involved without realising why you are doing it (particulary youngsters). Were people at the Switzerland game, booing McCarthy, the team, the FAI or all of the above - everyone had their own personal agendas and we're sitting in different parts of the ground - surely this wasn't co-ordinated

I think if you look at the formation of supporters trusts and action groups in many clubs in the UK it allows the general fan to still support the team wholeheartedly but make their views known on other issues regarding the clubs including directors, managers and administrators etc through regular meetings, protests, attendence at agm's etc.

The problem however may also lie at the foot of the organisation if they do not have clear channels to allow supporters to contribute.

Boo-ing the national team players (or Arsenal for that matter) or management is something I won't do when a clear argument can be made through other channels. It will only ever be used by me as the very last resort. Stadium protests are fine provided that once the action starts it's all about supporting the lads and when the game is over you applaud their efforts and go outside to continue your protest. no bother there.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

199 Posts
    Why did anyone hardly sing at the game
    The 1st half was a disgrace, the 2nd half was a bit better.

Fair play to the guys down the very front, kept singing right to the end. I joined you for the 2nd half. Its just a shame no one joined in much

Class

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    to the tune of Jolene, with apology to big titties herself, Dolly Parton.

Roy Keane, Roy Keane, Roy Keeeeeeane . . . please don't kick him just because you can.
    Roy Keane, Roy Keane, Roy Keeeeeane . . . you're heading for another three match ban.

moved down to the front two minutes in after being told to sit down in the front row of the second tier . Have about half an hour camcorder footage of Fans ( both sides ) in the ground. Beavis was among the guys at the front. any others? Probably met you so! Will get footage up here ASAP.
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom
    moved down to the front two minutes in after being told to sit down in the front row of the second tier . Have about half an hour camcorder footage of Fans ( both sides ) in the ground. Beavis was among the guys at the front. any others? Probably met you so! Will get footage up here ASAP.
    You can stick that on thepeoplesflag.com aswell!

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom
    We did some lot of singing down there alright Tom. All well horse after. That American one was so impressed with the performance she was like putty after for both me and eddie !
    I'll be grand for a ticket tonight, cheers. We might be down a bit late tonight, dont know when Colm can get off work, but if we dont see yiz in the Lansdowne we'll see you on the terrace.
    <insert witty remark>

My "You haven't got a foreskin, you haven't got a foreskin, you haven't got a foreskin" chant went down a treat.
    It was all taken in the good humour it was intended.
    A few of the locals started singing, "What's it like to have a queen?" to DCFCSteve.
    I wonder who could have thought them that song???

There was great banter and no animosity.
    Brilliant trip

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    My "You haven't got a foreskin, you haven't got a foreskin, you haven't got a foreskin" chant went down a treat.
    It was all taken in the good humour it was intended.
    A few of the locals started singing, "What's it like to have a queen?" to DCFCSteve.
    I wonder who could have thought them that song???

There was great banter and no animosity.
    Brilliant trip
    ha ha ha christ, it's a wonder u weren't 'skinned' alive Peadar, in that sense maybe they did not understand!
    Last edited by Green Tribe; 10/04/2005 at 10:28 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    The problem however may also lie at the foot of the organisation if they do not have clear channels to allow supporters to contribute.

Boo-ing the national team players (or Arsenal for that matter) or management is something I won't do when a clear argument can be made through other channels. It will only ever be used by me as the very last resort. Stadium protests are fine provided that once the action starts it's all about supporting the lads and when the game is over you applaud their efforts and go outside to continue your protest. no bother there.
    Have to agree with these sentiments entirely. There has to be a method of change without the booing of players/coach during or directly after matches.

Sing this....

Mick McCarthy is a traitor,
    He wears a traitor's hat,
    And when he managed Ireland,
    He didn't fancy that,
    He could have had the Keano,
    In Korea & Japan,