Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Dolan Dolan give us a break!

I thought the office analogy was spot on as for some time Dolans rambling interviews recorded for prosterity on corkcityfc.ie audios have more than a touch of the David Brents about them......

its that dont know whether to laugh at him or cringe in embarressement quality which sets dolan and brent apart from their comedy peers....

dinner with Ronan O Gara anyone???

Funny how quick people are to forget that Pat Dolan used to show up at the Cross for matches while he was still manager at Pats purely because he enjoyed the banter, the atmosphere, and the fact that he'd rather be at a live, Irish, soccer match than be stuck in a pub watching La Liga or the FA Prem. I remember slagging him one weekend just before an FAI Cup game because Pats had played the night before (or the Friday night, don't rem exactly which) and been knocked out.
    So now he is no longer manager and he still goes to Cork City matches. So what. The more attention that Dolan-bashers everywhere pay to what Pat Dolan does, or where he goes, the longer it will take for all the palaver to die down. And if some other people want to chant his name - ditto. Instead of letting it get to you just let it lie for Gods sake. It will go on for a while and then fizzle out naturally.
    There were a lot more highs than lows last season, if some people still want to chant the name of the guy who was boss at the time then fair play to them, they are entitled to do so. why not just leave them off instead of going ON AND ON about it. I'll say one more thing, if winning 2-0 is how Rico and the players respond to the situation then we should all be doing it every week Only joking obviously but lads, in fairness, just let it go and eventually it will go, and we can all just get on with supporting City and Irish football. Whatever else you say about Pat Dolan anyone who tries to cast doubt on his passion for Irish football would be telling an untruth and his critics should at least be willing to credit him for that.
    Last edited by Gandhi; 22/03/2005 at 12:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Gandhi
    Funny how quick people are to forget that Pat Dolan used to show up at the Cross for matches while he was still manager at Pats purely because he enjoyed the banter, the atmosphere, and the fact that he'd rather be at a live, Irish, soccer match than be stuck in a pub watching La Liga or the FA Prem. I remember slagging him one weekend just before an FAI Cup game because Pats had played the night before (or the Friday night, don't rem exactly which) and been knocked out.
    So now he is no longer manager and he still goes to Cork City matches. So what. The more attention that Dolan-bashers everywhere pay to what Pat Dolan does, or where he goes, the longer it will take for all the palaver to die down. And if some other people want to chant his name - ditto. Instead of letting it get to you just let it lie for Gods sake. It will go on for a while and then fizzle out naturally.
    There were a lot more highs than lows last season, if some people still want to chant the name of the guy who was boss at the time then fair play to them, they are entitled to do so. why not just leave them off instead of going ON AND ON about it. I'll say one more thing, if winning 2-0 is how Rico and the players respond to the situation then we should all be doing it every week Only joking obviously but lads, in fairness, just let it go and eventually it will go, and we can all just get on with supporting City and Irish football. Whatever else you say about Pat Dolan anyone who tries to cast doubt on his passion for Irish football would be telling an untruth and his critics should at least be willing to credit him for that.

Excellent post.
    Finally someone talking sense.
    Champions!

Excellent post Gandhi (can you share the secret of your common sense approach with everyone else). The only problem I can see is that if the people who want to get on with things and leave the past where it is say nothing in response to the pro Dolan side, it will be taken as a silent support rather than just silence, and that will just prolong things. I hope it all fizzles out over the next week or so and we can get on with the season, and supporting the club.
    I think a plan is just a list of things that don't happen - Mr Parker

yep, he's definitely passionate about irish football, and great that he used go to city games in the past. but if he had an ounce of cop-on or respect for the club/manager/players he'd give city games a skip, at least just for a few months. if he wasn't so self-obsessed (and that's what it seems like) he'd realise that none of us would be having this conversation if he stayed clear for a while.

i used to like him for his keegan-like enthusiasm and benign oafishness. now i just think he's an eejit.

Quote Originally Posted by kingcolers

i used to like him for his keegan-like enthusiasm and benign oafishness. now i just think he's an eejit.

Ha ha so basically you've always thought him an eejit
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Lads, to quote the Budweiser Lizard "Let it go Louie, just let it go"

[QUOTE=higgins]Well Dermo shels are playing on Tuesday but I see what your getting at :

According to our web site the game is on Monday, are ye going to stay over for a second trashing or what !!!!!!!!!!

Which is it .

126 Posts
    I THINK he means they're playing TODAY (this Tuesday) against Portadown

Lads, to quote the Budweiser Lizard "Let it go Louie, just let it go"
    Let it go Dolan , just let it go
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

And if some other people want to chant his name - ditto. Instead of letting it get to you just let it lie for Gods sake. It will go on for a while and then fizzle out naturally.
    There were a lot more highs than lows last season, if some people still want to chant the name of the guy who was boss at the time then fair play to them, they are entitled to do so. why not just leave them off instead of going ON AND ON about it.
    I have mixed feelings on Dolan's attendance at matches, but have no such difficulty with my views on those chanting Dolan stuff. It's very simple to me-

I want City to win something othwer the Munster Senior Cup this season.
    Does singing Dolan chants during a match help the team achieve this goal? No
    Will it make victories on Friday and Monday more likely? No.
    Does it have a negative impact? - Who knows, but IMO certainly doesn't help.
    It's going to be hard enough to catch Shels this year without fans (of the club) perpetuating the angst of the last month. Everything matters.

lads

He is working as pundit for Setanta.
    Therefore he has to be up to speed on what is happening in the League.Therefore he has to watch as many games as possible.
    As has been pointed out managers do this often to "spy" on future opponents.
    Therefore it is inevitable that he will be at Cork City games during the season.

Would you prefer that he spoof not having seen ye play?

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SSS
    It's going to be hard enough to catch Shels this year without fans (of the club) perpetuating the angst of the last month.
    These people are fans of Pat Dolan not Cork City FC. If they really wanted the best for the club they would support it.

Quote Originally Posted by College TilIDie
    Would you prefer that he spoof not having seen ye play?
    At the moment til all this dies down, yes. I mean is it not his favourite past time.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    This is true, some of his most vociferous backers on the internet can NEVER be found at ANY City game.
    hi pat

However, you know Colm that his presence is causing hassle at games, and the atmosphere is not good. He must know this, and while I agree he is quite entitled to go to any game he wants too, no matter how you justify it, his presence is a reminder of all the hassles at the club and is the cause of division.
    Is this going to continue for the whole season?
    as one of your bandwagon dolan supporters, didnt get to the game (my mothers 25th wedding anniversary, congrats mam. wouldnt you know the first friday i get off in 6 months city are playing on the saturday ) was the atmosphere really affected by dolan's prescence? im not attacking you patsh, just genuinely asking. its the only way i can find out at the moment.

As far as im aware, this was the highest profile match on this saturday? dolan likes to go to eL & city matches. im not saying its a great idea if he's acting like city's number 1 supporter but he likes the club, and the league (im sure he'll be at matches not involving city), so can we please stop villainising him, and move on?

the idea of continuing to segregate city supporters on whether they thought it was a good idea to sack him or not is silly at this stage, we've got to be looking forward and so far its been so good.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    .....Your post.....
    ?????
    Who are you, and why do you think I refer to you?

Where were City supporters segregated?

What are you talking about?

As an outsider I expressed my grave concerns when the "Meet Pat" function was first mentioned. I am now sorry for Pat Dolan as he has,by his continuing presence turned a lot of fans against him who had held genuine respect and regard for him. Had he ridden off into the sunset with a bit of dignity his pending trip to Cork as a TV pundit would have meant standing ovations and smiles all round. Now there will be mixed feelings I am sure.
    In any case if ye get good results in the next two matches it will all be past history. Weren't all ye guys going to shaft him last summer anyway before the good run started? :

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    These people are fans of Pat Dolan not Cork City FC. If they really wanted the best for the club they would support it.
    its not your place to question the loyalty of cork city supporters. they love the club, and for some they felt the club was best served with dolan at the helm. they'll move on, most have. but they are happy to let people know their views, therefore they will welcome pat and might sing a song or two based on his time as manager.

i feel when the club had pat as manager we were taking a much more certain line to success and prosperity than we are with the 2 randomers we have calling the shots at the moment.
    but not that it matters now, dolan can attend if he wants. if he pays the entry fee then he cant be refused access to the game. he can stand wherever he wants and say what he likes, like anyone else that pays and enters the ground.

i think those here who are trying to have pat removed or stopped from entering the City matches are being very petty in their views , plus they go on and on about the clubs success and how it could be undermined by him being there. we dont know how Rico will do yet, but its fairly certain to say that any undermining of City's performances on the pitch will have been dealt any possible blow already - when pat was sacked.
    anyone who lets pats or anyone elses presence affect their performance, on or off the field, simply isnt doing their job.

Quote Originally Posted by rolo
    i feel when the club had pat as manager we were taking a much more certain line to success and prosperity than we are with the 2 randomers we have calling the shots at the moment.
    Thats far enough, but who are the "2 randomers"?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

144 Posts
    its not your place to question the loyalty of cork city supporters. they love the club, and for some they felt the club was best served with dolan at the helm. they'll move on, most have.
    And its ok for you to act as their spokesman.
    I don't see these people as Cork City supporters they are the Dolanites.
    I was always suspicious of Dolan and fair play to Lennox for having the balls to get rid when the time came.
    Dolan would have done to us what he did to Pats and don't try and cod yourself otherwise.
    It just amazes me that some people are so blind they can't see through Dolan.
    Open your eyes.
    I guess some people are born gullible, thankfully Lennox wasn't.

but they are happy to let people know their views, therefore they will welcome pat and might sing a song or two based on his time as manager.
    As are those of us that are glad he is gone, expect a few ditties from us also.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

A fairly intelligent bloke once said "How we categorise other people says much more about us than it does about them" (or words to that effect)
    That's my last word on the subject

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast