Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: eircom League Weekly - Mon 21st - 11.25

The footage from United Park was provided by the club and not TV3.

so to summarise the games that were shown last night were:

bohs shams
    shels ucd
    derry drogs
    sligo kildare

i missed the first few minutes. was there any other goals shown?

harps v city, both goals shown

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BobtheDrog
    it was perfectly placed to show that murphys first goal whilst brilliant did sum very strange things in the air not suprised dan cudnt read its flight
    its called "swerve" bob. Most of the good players these days can do it....

101 Posts
    My only fault was for this weeks fixtures they had:

Dundalk vs. Kilkenny for Thurday not Kilkenny vs. Dundalk for Friday as it has been changed.

Quote Originally Posted by MARTINHO II
    so to summarise the games that were shown last night were:

bohs shams
    shels ucd
    derry drogs
    sligo kildare

i missed the first few minutes. was there any other goals shown?
    Eh that's b**z Rovers.

Anyway the only part of the programme that has improved is the music! Why oh why can it not be on at 10pm for an hour? Also I dont agree with showing first division UNLESS ALL premier games are shown. The Bray game wasnt shown but the sligo one was?

I dont care who is in the studio as long as ALL the premier games are shown. And Roddy will be making an appearance this season.

Having said all that at least we have an EL programme after all the years of ignoring us from rtengland.

See yis in TA!

164 Posts
    Was it just me or was Eircom League Weekly half-decent last night? The Bray Drogs game had all you could really ask for....build-up, team news, good highlights, good reporting from Des Curran (who seems to be the most knowledgeable of them), plenty of interviews and ok analysis. They showed the fans before the Derry game so as to create atmosphere and had a decent discussion after it about shels' squad a nd Glen Crowe....beats just talking through the goals. They showed 13 or 14 incidents from the Blues v Bohs game even if they still ignored us in the analysis to focus on the Dublin club. Highlights from two First Division games and Setanta Cup. On the down side, no camera at three Premier games. On the whole though, a step in the right direction.

They should extend it to one hour.

The Shamrock Rovers story that broke yesterday was only discussed for about 2 minutes and should have been given more time.

whats the song the Derry fans were singing about being Randy?

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    whats the song the Derry fans were singing about being Randy?
    They all live in a randy brandywell, a randy brandywell, a randy brandywell...........................(Yellow submarine) Suprised me to... I was going to post exact same thing!!!!!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

3,488 Posts
    Just you, I thought. Maybe they showed (a small bit) more of the games, but apart from that, it was still same old, same old. Half the Bray-Drogs highlights were takn up with the warm-up at the start! No cameras at Cork-UCD (or else nothing to show! ), as you pointed out, as well as two other games. Sligo game was introduced as being their biggest crowd of the season and yet the three-quarters of the ground shown were empty almost (I know the camera is on the same side as the big stand, but it just looked like their biggest crowd of the season was about 50 people - negative reinforcement and all that). I don't know why they can't at least slow down the analysis and show us something rather than talk over the goals again - silly. King and Scully obviously hadn't seen the games before and were just making things up on the spot - kept on saying how the highlights showed x were the better team.

164 Posts
    I meant to call it Sligo weekly....when we were in the First Division they ignored it completely. Fair play to Sligo for sending in the footage EVERY week, at least they try to promote the image of the club. As for the other stuff, yeah we all agree that stuff is crap especially Laurel and Hardy, but last night was almost watchable.

By the way, Pineapple, will i have to get to Belfield early on Friday to get a seat? Expecting a sell-out with the masses of UCD fans turning up to see the table-toppers with your best two players of last season warming our bench?

Rubbish, highlights from two of the six premier games is ridiculous.

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie
    By the way, Pineapple, will i have to get to Belfield early on Friday to get a seat? Expecting a sell-out with the masses of UCD fans turning up to see the table-toppers with your best two players of last season warming our bench?
    You signed Kenna?

I watched the first half of ELW last night and they showed highlights of he Bray match and the Derry match. They then named the games they'll show after the break and Pats weren't mentioned. Have Pats been on the show at all this season yet?

They can't show Pats yet they can get cameras to Inchicore to see Dublin City player, what's going on there? I think Kinger and Scully are alright but the amount of premier matches they showed is an absolute disgrace, how can you not show a Cork home match when they're one of the title contenders ffs? Also King and scully should at least pretend they're not seing the footage for the first time, they've had a whole weekend to get a look at them and come up with some notes and outlines on things to say! But at least Scully seems to have loosened up a bit and is coming across better this year.

1,550 Posts
    So Ny Hoop- what you're saying is that el weekly should refuse to show games from the first division, where the club involved has shown the initiative to go out and pay for a camera, unless all premier games are covered.

That hardly seems fair.

Maybe all premier teams who aren't going to be covered should be told in advance so that they can arrange a camera (or several cameras) themselves.

Perhaps even all league clubs should pay a fixed fee into a pool each week that would then be used to guarentee at least one camera at every league game. Could the the clubs co-operate and help themselves? Probably not, (and they shouldn't have to of course) but it certainly would make every club more attractive to sponsors and would raise the profile of the league. It would also mean less 'analysis' and more goals and real action on eL weekly.

Say it cost €600 per game (which would be conservative enough a figure I think)- thats just €300 per club for guarenteed TV time every single week.

Ah, it'll never work though.

The clubs shouldn't have to pay for TV3 to fulfill their agreement to put a highlights package of the EL on the air. A highlights package of the EL should show all matches in the premier division, any first division matches then are a bonus (And fair play to the clubs involved there).

The programme was poo the last night. Trying to drag out the affair when they only had highlights of 3 of 6 Premier games was excruciating, hence hte overdose of Kinger waffle, shots of Derry fans and the "decent" package from Bray. If they wanted to examine the ROver situation they should have at least had a wee report done up showing a few clips or interviews, simply turning to the 2 lads going "well, what do ya think about it boys?" is pathetic. I can get that kind of 'analysis' down the pub.

TV3 seem to have reduced their budget drastically this year despite the fact the overall TV deal with RTE/Setanta/TG4 guarantees them around 30 games filmed at no cost from which they can use the highlights they are sending less cameras to games. No cameras at 2 home games in Dublin last week or at Turners Cross. They are becoming too reliant on clubs sending in footage (which should be a bonus) and Harps will not be sending them any more till they sort themselves out and make some kind of commitment to cover a decent proportion of our games themselves.

The programme is slipping badly and it is totally down to them not commiting budget to it. I've always defended them for making an effort, but from what I see the effort is no longer there and they are filling time.

As

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    So Ny Hoop- what you're saying is that el weekly should refuse to show games from the first division, where the club involved has shown the initiative to go out and pay for a camera, unless all premier games are covered.

That hardly seems fair.

Maybe all premier teams who aren't going to be covered should be told in advance so that they can arrange a camera (or several cameras) themselves.

Perhaps even all league clubs should pay a fixed fee into a pool each week that would then be used to guarentee at least one camera at every league game. Could the the clubs co-operate and help themselves? Probably not, (and they shouldn't have to of course) but it certainly would make every club more attractive to sponsors and would raise the profile of the league. It would also mean less 'analysis' and more goals and real action on eL weekly.

Say it cost €600 per game (which would be conservative enough a figure I think)- thats just €300 per club for guarenteed TV time every single week.

Ah, it'll never work though.
    To be honest with you yeah. Did you see the "crowd" at inchicore for the galway game? That's embarrassing. Who benefits from looking at that? More people watching kids kicking around in my local green FFS.

When TV3 failed to show last season we got together and forked out a ton each to get cameras but now we have a lot more important issues to think about.

There should have been a camera at our game and at inchicore and why wasnt the cork game shown? Ridiculous and scandalous.

Someone else mentioned that sligo have the camera in the wrong stand. Correct and this is also a problem for waterford, cork and derry but then that's another thread.

IF the programme was an hour long then the 6 premier and some first division games could be shown. There has to be some reason why they wont extend the show to an hour.

1,104 Posts
    We sent in footage of at least one of our home games, as we have our own camera system but TV3 said they didn't want it. Then they don't bother sending cameras to games in fúckin Dublin, as far as i'm aware they've sent cameras (of their own) to Flancare maybe once or twice in the past two seasons, the only way we'd get shown was if we filmed the match and sent it in to them. That was costing €100 every time before we bought a camera system this season. Their coverage is a joke at this stage.

Hopefully when the contract for EL Weekly ends Setanta step in, they could get an hour show no problem, they're desperate for things to take up some time, all they show is repeats of live events from the previous few days most of the time as it is. They'd do a proper job on it too.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast