Page 13 of 69 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast

Thread: LoI in Europe 2018

427 Posts
    Best of luck to all our representatives in Europe yis jammy shower of .............

72 Posts
    I hate the way LOI managers denigrate their sides before going into these European games. Caulfield is talking about giving up 60-70% of the possession.... Your Champions of Ireland FFS and not having a bad season either. Your at home, in front of a raucous crowd ... Have a f***king go... Talk about having a fortress mentality..

Also, the way some people go on about it... You swear Dinamo Minsk had just collected their winner medals from the world cup.

Rant over

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiki Balboa View Post
    I hate the way LOI managers denigrate their sides before going into these European games. Caulfield is talking about giving up 60-70% of the possession.... Your Champions of Ireland FFS and not having a bad season either. Your at home, in front of a raucous crowd ... Have a f***king go... Talk about having a fortress mentality..

Also, the way some people go on about it... You swear Dinamo Minsk had just collected their winner medals from the world cup.

Rant over
    I'd love to see Finn Harps in Europe under Ollie Horgan..

Quote Originally Posted by Kiki Balboa View Post

Rant over
    We cede majority possession to teams here,let alone Legia. Just have a go is nonsense advice. We'll play to our strengths.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Sheppard up front tonight. Sadlier and cummins on the bench. Delaney starts too. Keohane Buckley and mcnamee behind Sheppard

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    We cede majority possession to teams here,let alone Legia. Just have a go is nonsense advice. We'll play to our strengths.
    Holy Moly - Leaving out your two top goalscorers and going 4-6-0 is playing to your strengths?

555 Posts
    Delighted to see Peter Cherrie start for Cork tonight.

Interesting formation, false number 9? No one can accuse Caulfield of being predictable.

I can understand Sadlier being dropped, he is not really a team player.

The one area that concerns me is the full backs, but with that formation I would ecpect Cork to play with two wide midfielders with a view to protecting the flanks.

It'll be interesting to see how that formation works.

Have Cork played with this formation before or is Caulfield trying it out for the first time?

3,223 Posts
    Red card Legia?

This is interesting now.

Edit - maybe not? Futbol24 playing silly buggers it seems.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 10/07/2018 at 7:28 PM.

3,223 Posts
    TNS having a Macedonia in the Champions League; 5-0 down in Skopje with 20+ still to play

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    That chance for Barry mcnamee, that was a golden opportunity, but he mis-kicked it. Happy enough so far though

875 Posts
    So far so good for Cork. Weathered the pressure that came on them at times well. Keep it at 0-0!

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Holy Moly - Leaving out your two top goalscorers and going 4-6-0 is playing to your strengths?
    So far, yes! Shep is up top.

Cork are doing well so far but I'd be sceptical of their approach. It seems like Caulfield is hoping for a 0-0 so he can go to Poland and get an away goal, which is a dangerous tactic imo. Maybe he's waiting until Legia get tired to throw on the likes of Sadlier in an attempt to win. All will soon be revealed.

76 Posts
    5,795 (i think) was announced as the attendance, looks more, may have misheard it. Fair play Cork, very creditable to be 0-0 facing 60 mins with a team this good.

26 Posts
    TNS having a Macedonia in the Champions League; 5-0 down in Skopje with 20+ still to play

note seeds v non seeds
    in fairness Tetovo were the top unseeded team...
    the other two are the Lux team getting a draw and Sheriff Tirapsol lost away...

2,346 Posts
    Massive sucker punch for Cork. That could end all proceedings unless they find a goal themselves now.

Great strike all the same

76 Posts
    serious goal in fairness, 25-30 yards out. Harsh on Cork.

194 Posts
    Great strike alright
    training ground routine,few subs coming on for Cork,keep her lit.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    when you dont leave your own half though, tsk

555 Posts
    Very little can to done with such a quality strike. Cork need to go for a goal.

Page 13 of 69 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast