Thread: Instead of Murphy....Who??

Originally posted by James

ok any more of this nonsense and this is going straight to the humour section..

ok james who would you have as manager (other than don o'riordan)
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

duno - not a job i am paid to do

....certainly would advertise the position and seek all and any candidates for the position..then interview the candidates and select the best person for the job

certainly i would look at/ talk to liam buckley, don o riordain..noel king ( all of which have been mentioned ) also eoin hand..(who i think might do a good job..knows the league etc etc ) ..but wouldnt rule out an overseas ie english appointment ( get a professional man in for the job, full time players and full time approach )

but what i would like/do and what our shower of muppets would do are 2 completely different things..

what i think the board will do
    they'll appoint peadars mate johnny c for an interim period ..and then give him the job with deccie as his assissant and the cycle will continue again for another 2 years
    life is random

Originally posted by James
    duno - not a job i am paid to do
    But you will tell them who not to have for free... how generous

dalo
    very detailed posting there troy - good read and good thinking.
    Why thanks

BTW James, we have fume cupboards for the chemicals
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Originally posted by Troy.McClure

But you will tell them who not to have for free... how generous

:
    good retort there.
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

Always a plesure dalo
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

jesus christ troy
    how the **** are you so happy
    we've just lost our best player since dave barry..and your still ****ing smiling and joking in your lovefest with dalo

i'm ****ing fuming here...un****ingbeleivable u lot

isnt it great for ye that ye are so unemotional about your club
    life is random

Don O'Riordan was sacked by Galway because of poor results.
    Incorrect, his sacking had a lot more to do with money thatn results

IMO he did well to get them in the premier division and keep them there for a while but is not spectacular. Sligo have had some big wins this year (5-0 V Limrick ) but some big losses aswell (5-0 V Drogheda United) and have lost to Rambelers 3-0 twice this year. They are currently in 6th place (out of 9) in the 1st division, 13 points from 1st, 8 points from last, having won 8 times and lost 9 and have a -4 goal difference.
    Considering the fact that when he took over in the summer there were only four players at his first training session, and only one of them actually signed up, he hasn't done too badly in a short space of time, don't you think?

Also, he is highly thought of for the way he has brought young players through and the way he works with youths - at their first home game of the season I overheard two teenagers comment on that fact, so obviously he had made a good impression, and as Pete posted earlier the current Sligo team contains a number of young players who, for the most part, didn't look out of place in the Carlsberg Cup Quarter-final with Shams the other night.

Cross Breed

Pat Doolan is a fantastic manager who has brought alot to UCD.
    I think you're a bit mixed up here. The conversation was about Pat Dolan not Paul Doolan. When you chant "Murphy Out", you are talking about Liam Murphy aren't you?

Don O'Riordon is well overated. Ask the good people at GUFC.
    If he were such a good manager as you people would believe then he wouldn't be at a dump like Sligo having been sacked from struggling Galway. I've always respected Paul Doolan as a player and think he's doing good work with the students.

Many people are against Johnny C being manager without knowing anything about the style of management he'd employ.
    I don't know if you'd ever be happy, no matter who the manager is. If you don't hear from me on this forum as much as you used to it's because I'm sick of the crap which is continually repeated up here.

Johnny
    City may be a cowboy outfit but they'll be in the Premier next season(possibly Europe), Sligo + Galway will be in the first. What if the "great" Don doesn't want the job ? What then ? His stated intention is to return to England. Another Hindmarch/Colin Murphy/Mountfield type ?

Originally posted by Johnny
    What if the "great" Don doesn't want the job ? What then ? His stated intention is to return to England. Another Hindmarch/Colin Murphy/Mountfield type ?
    there's only one way that such 'types' make it back to England, and it ain't by losing 1-0 at home to the second worst team in the country in the Quarter-finals of the third biggest competition in the country

Johnny
    Joe wrote:
    Considering the fact that when he took over in the summer there were only four players at his first training session, and only one of them actually signed up, he hasn't done too badly in a short space of time, don't you think?

Considering that Liam Murphy took a side heading for the first into Europe and currently lie 4th in the premier...................

Originally posted by Johnny

Considering that Liam Murphy took a side heading for the first into Europe and currently lie 4th in the premier................... [/B]
    people keep throwing that one up, but does anyone really believe we were headed for relegation last year? Kilkenny and Harps went down automatically, while UCD beat Athlone in the play-off.

Besides we may be 4th, but we're 9 points off the top with 7 matches left and don't look like we could come close to scoring again, ever!

As for next season ...
    Last edited by joe; 12/02/2002 at 7:35 PM.

What About

Originally posted by joe
    there's only one way that such 'types' make it back to England, and it ain't by losing 1-0 at home to the second worst team in the country in the Quarter-finals of the third biggest competition in the country
    Limerick are 16 places below Cork City in League terms.
    Cork City lost 0-1 and the place is going hysterical.

Blackburn Rovers who are 14 places behind Arsenal in the league beat them 4-0 in the Worthless Cup and even the tabloids weren't talking about the chop for Wenger. Like Cork City, Arsenal are 4th in the League.
    Am I making any sense?

Re: What About

Originally posted by Peadar

Am I making any sense?
    somtimes

could you also say that the second worst team in our league here beat and comprehensively beat the 4th or 5th best side in the league..

we dont have as many clubs peadar as you well know so the diff between top and bottom clubs is never going to be as big as you foreign (heehee) example..it aint really complaring like with like anyway..

anyway despite of this..it aint really the lims result that erked me so much...as i dont really rate the league cup and agree with peadar about its importance..

i'm more concerned with:

1 the exodus of players from our club

2 the fading chances of any good new players wanting to join what mus look like a sinking ship when they may be presented with a more attractive of profootball with a more forward looking club.. dont forgot we lost both kriby and rennie (both linked to us )..to fecking longford ( no offence longford fans)..point is even they look more pro then we do..and this was long long b4 the lims result

3 most importance performance on the pitch..what i saw when i came home was disgusting and to be told in the bar afterwards by fans that "well thats what we have had tp put up with every week" ..

so sure im dissapointed and embarrased to lose to lims..there are more important issues...Ollie today though seems to have been the breaking point for most...me i cracked ages ago

Last edited by James; 12/02/2002 at 7:45 PM.
    life is random

Am I making any sense?
    None. I dont like having cuts at you all the time, but comparing City and Limk to the arse and Blackburn is a bit much really Peadar. The fact is, is that Limk are bottom of the 1st for a reason - that reason being - they are rubbish. We should be able to beat them with our eyes closed.

The fact is, is that Limk are bottom of the 1st for a reason - that reason being - they are rubbish. We should be able to beat them with our eyes closed.
    and we cant score to save our lives either, even at home

Am I making any sense?
    No! Who is this Peadar guy who thinks he's above everyone else? Trying to explain things to people like they are thick? Is he connected to the club or something because I have never seen so much rose-tinted rubbish in all my life!

The loss to Limerick was not just one result. It was the last in a long string of inept performances and results. But the scariest thing for me is that we are currently being downgraded as a club while all the rest are making strides to go professional.

The Board saved us from extinction. But we may have gone bust rather than have a club with no soul and no future.

Smiler !!

It's time to bring back [COLOR=green]Miah Dennehy[/COLOR] .........