Thread: Did anyone else cry when Rovers were relegated?

Did anyone else cry when Rovers were relegated?

I must admit I was close to tears myself!!

Tears of fcúking celebration that is.

What a moment to witness. It brought tears of jubilation, joy, excitement. To see grown men crying on the pitch was such a moment. Some of these same men were the ones who approached the Dublin City fans in section A. After 10 minutes and everything had settled down these men could be seen crying in the penalty area of the Ballybough end.
    You could actually see a 'casual' balling his eyes out. Fcúking brilliant!!
    Who Cares?!

I know when ever i feel depressed I'll think of that night and It'll bring me straight back up (Unlike Rovers)

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    Ah look i am sick of this wallowing in another team's demise ! I think everybody has had their fun and their say and this topic is a bit worn out IMO !

topic a bit worn out I'll be telling me grandkids about the night rovers got relegated

the homeless wil never I repeat never live this down

i'm sure they are glad to know you care so much about them

Lad you know what the thread is going to be. Why read it?

I'd imagine that those with the internet only in work will have their fun and by the end of today it'll be all over.

I think everyone cried that CHF are back in the Premier. Even their own manager seemed to be sad he promoted such a waste of league place.

Easily the best thing to happen to the First Division in years, will make a huge difference to a lot of clubs down here. Two games against Shamrock Rovers if we're going well could easily draw 5000 between them which if your Limerick F.C. could very easily sign you a good player folks

The Premier Division will be a poorer place without them.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    The Premier Division will be a poorer place without them.
    Should read

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    The Premier Division will be a safer place without them.

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Easily the best thing to happen to the First Division in years, will make a huge difference to a lot of clubs down here. Two games against Shamrock Rovers if we're going well could easily draw 5000 between them which if your Limerick F.C. could very easily sign you a good player folks
    Exactly what Im thinking too.

Oh the irony. A team getting relegated actually makes the other teams in the division stronger!
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Well knew you would be happy! Havent been to rathbane in a long long time. Will your games be on a friday night?

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Well knew you would be happy! Havent been to rathbane in a long long time. Will your games be on a friday night?

Yes indeed they will, really looking forward to the Rover's games, my father speaks of encounters in the 80's with a sentimental tear in his eye

Just hoping there isn't war at them, scum elements will be out in force for both clubs I would imagine

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop

Probably still Fridays but maybe not Rathbane.

It makes you realsie how long we've been down when there is almost a generation of football fans who have never seen shamrock rovers play in Limerick. 93/94 season - you won the title. We lost in Monaghan on the last day and Cobh beat Drogheda to send us down.

The First Division needs a strong Rovers.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain

It makes you realsie how long we've been down when there is almost a generation of football fans who have never seen shamrock rovers play in Limerick. 93/94 season - you won the title. We lost in Monaghan on the last day and Cobh beat Drogheda to send us down.
    Were you part of the crowd crammed into the Jacks league cup winning year. Absolutely pi$$ed rain, we could have scored eight or nine and nearly got caught for an equaliser at the death. Absolutely incredible game

Quote Originally Posted by gspain

Why not Rathbane? Are you moving out? In all fairness ye should go back to the Markets Field.

Remember that game well. We won 2-0 in Jan 94 and were in the shed where part of the roof was missing and it was lashing!! Also there was a bus in the ground that some of the fans were using as shelter. Bizarre!

Lim till i die: Just hoping there isn't war at them, scum elements will be out in force for both clubs I would imagine.

Speak for yourself there. As was said in the recent We Are Rovers book the Cup game in 83 down there has gone into infamy. One classic quote "I knew we were in trouble when a guy on a horse was galloping at us brandishing a samurai sword"!!

Red face

I remember pictures in the papers that day of fellas with knives chasing the rovers support onto a bus.
    And nowadays we get posters on here giving out about peanuts being thrown onto the field, oh how things have changed!!
    Cork City FC

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23
    I remember pictures in the papers that day of fellas with knives chasing the rovers support onto a bus.
    And nowadays we get posters on here giving out about peanuts being thrown onto the field, oh how things have changed!!
    Yes the Rovers fans running the gauntlet has gone down in soccer legend around these parts. Think you will find Shamrock Rovers supporters weren't all angels aswell

Anyway I've no intention of gettinh into a who threw the first stone type row about it I'm just saying that there is huge potential for trouble when the teams meet. I hope it doesn't happen but to deny it makes it inevitable

Unlikely , given that most of the young yobs in action that day will in all likelyhood be accompanied by their grandchildren this time around, lamenting about the good aul days. In fact, the two sets of supporters will probarbly end up remincing about it all
    Ireland: Discovered!