Page 21 of 69 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: 2005 Attendances

3,491 Posts
    No more than 400 at Longford v. UCD - shocking crowd. First time we ever got to sing "Bigger crowds than this, we get bigger crowds than this"!

400!? Christ, what happened there?

3,491 Posts
    No idea. First I really noticed of it was talking to a couple of the Longford lads, and they pointed out how poor the crowd was with five minutes to kick-off. I counted about 80 outside the main stand, and 37 in the first block in the main stand (of four).

70 Posts
    Jeysus!!! What time was kick-off?! I'd say the stupid FA cup had some part in this, and even the setanta cup....

There was a poor crowd at the Rovers, Dublin game. There was around 1300-1400. My guess is the ****ing rain combined with the FA cup and setanta cup took a hit on the crowd.

Rovers vs cheating bástards

are those sligo attendances wild random estimates,or genuine official figures?they seem like huge crowds (for the first division,conisdering sligo have been in the 1st div for years now)

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buller
    Jeysus!!! What time was kick-off?! I'd say the stupid FA cup had some part in this, and even the setanta cup....
    7:30. We left Dublin after the 90 minutes and were in plenty of time for the game - no excuse for the Longford fans. Weather wasn't that bad either - bit of a shower at the very start, but nothing else.

Fair play to Sligo - they're pulling in good crowds and are going ok so far this season. Can't wait for the league cup game down there - should be a cracking atmosphere that night!

Anto, I'd say those are genuine figures from Rovers - anytime Sligo are doing good, their crowds have responded accordingly
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

3,491 Posts
    The Star had 1500 for Rovers v. Waterford, 1250 for Drogheda v. Harps and 3250 (!) for Bray v. Bohs. Was talking to a couple of people who were at the Rovers game and they said 1500 was reasonable.

There was more than 1250 at our game. Not much though. Considerably down on previous games. Dour Doolin tactics taking effect already! My guess 1,500.

Mons Lims

id say there was about 80-100 at the Monaghan United,Limerick game today. Bout 20 from Limerick.

Id say theres photos to prove it of the new stand being 80-90% full every game this season, and then adding up the scatters of people around the other areas it has never fallen under 1600. People can be very sceptical. people who go to the matchs still say that it is a poor crowd even do its better then a few premier clubs and all first div clubs so (hopefully,if we never get paul duddy refereeing again )we should be up in premier with 3-4k every week. Id say the Harps game in the cup will see at least 2500-3000 people as harps fans love coming down to civilisation for a while and rovers fans just hate harps

If Sligo get promoted, what will the EL do to accomadte Sligo v Cork games? Will Croke Park be available?

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Updates after the weekend...

PREMIER
    Bohs 2198 (2340)
    Bray 1740 (818)
    Cork 3931 (4033)
    Derry 2530 (1672)
    Drogheda 2221 (1554)
    Harps 1940 (1106)
    Longford 1280 (1131)
    Pat's 2163 (1882)
    Rovers 1975 (1466)
    Shels 2321 (2158)
    UCD 729 (306)
    Waterford 1825 (1753)

FIRST
    Athlone 483 (291) (missing Monaghan)
    Cobh 467 (240) (missing Athlone)
    Dublin City 165 (592)
    Dundalk 358 (591) (missing Monaghan)
    Galway 738 (571)
    Kildare 208 (298)
    Kilkenny 143 (108) (missing Athlone, Dundalk and Kildare)
    Limerick 932 (188)
    Monaghan 140 (182) (missing Cobh)
    Sligo 1620 (781)

Premier Division - 2058 (1863)
    First Division - 566 (515)

Weekend matches missing -
    None

Some of the attendances are a joke , there should be a minimum requirement of at least 500 home fans and 50 travelling fans to be allowed complete at this level. I won't name clubs but if you haven't acheived anything in the last 20 years or don't look like doing so in the next 20 years why the hell are they in "professional" football. The first division is full of crap teams above their station content on trying to stop other teams playing football and thus contributing to one of the most unwatchable leagues in europe which is having a knock on effect on attendances at other clubs and interest in the Eircom lague in general.There are 3 prime leinster senior league candiates in the first division and one in the premier, time for someone to serious look beyond the premier division did see that things are not working.

Quote Originally Posted by londonred
    Some of the attendances are a joke , there should be a minimum requirement of at least 500 home fans and 50 travelling fans to be allowed complete at this level.
    You can't kick clubs out of the league because they don't have a certain number of fans. Every club has gone through a bad patch

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    You can't kick clubs out of the league because they don't have a certain number of fans. Every club has gone through a bad patch
    I don't recall some of these clubs ever having a good patch , given their catchment areas and top class facilities I am surprised at their attendance numbers there obviously isn't an appetite for professional football in these areas.

Quote Originally Posted by londonred
    I don't recall some of these clubs ever having a good patch , given their catchment areas and top class facilities I am surprised at their attendance numbers there obviously isn't an appetite for professional football in these areas.
    Thats still no reason to kick them out of the league, if they can function then i say good luck to them. In fact i would be all for expanding the league rather than making it smaller. Also it takes time for a club to become ingrained in a community, it was no different for ourselves.

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid
    Fair play to Sligo - they're pulling in good crowds and are going ok so far this season. Can't wait for the league cup game down there - should be a cracking atmosphere that night!

Anto, I'd say those are genuine figures from Rovers - anytime Sligo are doing good, their crowds have responded accordingly
    We take te p1ss out of each other alot but we can still get on with ye alot better than another set of fans from Connaught.

Pineapple,

any chance of you giving me the official figure for us vs Pats at the weekend just always curious.

Cheers in advance.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Page 21 of 69 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast