Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: LoI Fixtures 27 Apr to 30 Apr

555 Posts
    Horrible game to lose, to be honest. We weren't great but were the better team and played whatever football there was.

Very poor game of football for any watching neutrals.

364 Posts
    I think Dundalk deserved a draw tonight but Cork were definitiey the better side in the second half.

I think we were possibly unlucky not to get something from the game Looking back I think we were very poor upfront, nice moves but nothing at the end of.

The game was there to be won in the first half, Dundalk hitting the post twice in that period, Cork did hit the bar but scored following that move, decent strike by Morrissey.

The pitch was very poor, and very obvious even on tv that it wasn't watered, amazing scene in the first half with two Cork players looking at Benson doing the groundsman job by stamping on a massive divot. Such a fantastic ground, yet allowing the pitch to be in an unperfect state.

One win each now, 2 games remaining between the two, you'd probably think these games will have a huge bearing on the league. Then again next games always the most important.
    Last edited by oriel; 27/04/2018 at 9:31 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    but were the better team
    Same as the cup final.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I think Dundalk deserved a draw tonight but Cork were definitiey the better side in the second half.
    Any Dundalk fan I've spoken to, myself included are still scratching our heads trying to figure out how we lost that, so this is an interesting difference of opinion.

Other than scoring, what makes you think Cork were the better side in the second half?

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post

I think we were possibly unlucky not to get something from the game Looking back I think we were very poor upfront, nice moves but nothing at the end of.

The game was there to be won in the first half, Dundalk hitting the post twice in that period, Cork did hit the bar but scored following that move, decent strike by Morrissey.

The pitch was very poor, and very obvious even on tv that it wasn't watered, amazing scene in the first half with two Cork players looking at Benson doing the groundsman job by stamping on a massive divot. Such a fantastic ground, yet allowing the pitch to be in an unperfect state.

One win each now, 2 games remaining between the two, you'd probably think these games will have a huge bearing on the league. Then again next games always the most important.
    Poor weather and a crazy amount of games on the pitch is the reason. Had 3 women's U19 qualifiers there lately, the 2 games last week, Primary schools finals. It's not bad too often given the use it gets.

364 Posts
    If that's the case of so many games, the pitch needs extra attention and certainly could do without kids half time matches.

The other thing I can't understand is Cork are paying a significant rent for TC to the MFA, they get a fantastic stadium, does this not include professional pitch maintenance ?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

447 Posts
    Strange how often Dundalk are the better team and go home with no points. Odd really.

Kenny blaming the pitch is classic bitterness out of him. He hasn't won in the Cross in three years, was the pitch to blame for all those losses too?

It was a game either side could have won to be honest. Dundalk are much more direct than last year, long balls from Rogers to Hoban and long throws into the box. Our young back line was immense in handling it though.

231 Posts
    Bohs with the ref to think for their point tonight.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosshead View Post
    . Our young back line was immense in handling it though.
    23, 20, 21, 21. Horgan the only one with more than 15 league starts under his belt before tonight. Less than 25 between the other three and none for Kane.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Because he sent Brennan off for a second yellow for diving?
    Clear handball he waived away for Bohs second half
    Tomas Connolly is a diehard Pats fan, should have recused himself from reffing the match.
    Deserved point,,
    A lot of good young players from both sides tonight, unfortunately an equal number of lumbering oafs who can't pass a ball.

875 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosshead View Post
    Kenny blaming the pitch is classic bitterness out of him. He hasn't won in the Cross in three years, was the pitch to blame for all those losses too?

It was a game either side could have won to be honest. Dundalk are much more direct than last year, long balls from Rogers to Hoban and long throws into the box. Our young back line was immense in handling it though.
    Do you think the pitch was ok?

It was certainly heavy and not secure under foot with both sets of players losing their footing. The look on Caulfields face when McCormack flattened Hoban - he thought he was going to walk for a moment and was very relieved looking when there wasnt any card. Doyle had a patchy performance in general with slips getting frees and trips getting nothing. Dundalk were awful in front of goal regardless of not getting the bit of luck with hitting the post. Gannon was a loss and may very well have handled the initial ball in that was spooned against the bar from 6 yards. Defenders had all been pulled toward wide not to be able to get to the shot and close it down.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Do you think the pitch was ok?

It was certainly heavy and not secure under foot with both sets of players losing their footing. The look on Caulfields face when McCormack flattened Hoban - he thought he was going to walk for a moment and was very relieved looking when there wasnt any card. Doyle had a patchy performance in general with slips getting frees and trips getting nothing. Dundalk were awful in front of goal regardless of not getting the bit of luck with hitting the post. Gannon was a loss and may very well have handled the initial ball in that was spooned against the bar from 6 yards. Defenders had all been pulled toward wide not to be able to get to the shot and close it down.
    Pitch has been poor all season.
    To many matches being played on it by the MFA.
    Doyle should apologise to the 6700 who attended for his performance.
    He was truly awful.
    If that's the best referee the country can produce then God help us.

194 Posts
    not out to hound the guy,(i'm involved in coaching myself) but we've spunked our dough on Connolly i reckon.
    2 weeks running he comes in as sub and hardly has a touch.Fair comment.

Thought Dundalk were easily the better side 1st half.Should have crowned the edge we had with a goal and we almost did a few times.

The winner came from an uncharacteristic mistake at the back when the ball wasnt cleared and bit of footy and head tennis ensues and sees the ball fall to Morrisey and the keeper cant see it and the net rattles.
    Fine finish

Dundalk ploughed on but never really threatened after the goal

Poor match.Poor pitch but the pitch was the same for both sides.

good luck to anyone deluded enough to think the league will be decided by the 4 games Dundalk and Cork will play.

Away to bed.....been a long day. **hic**

79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    We've heard he ye they before.
    Literally just in the door, stayed in Cork for a pint after the game and had 2 quick pit stops for a pint on way home.

Left Dundalk at 2 arrived in Turners Cross at 6.50, unbelievable traffic (hope anyone who was in the accidents is ok)

Cork better team for 10/15 mins without doing anything, then we took control without really creating a clear cut chance.

Few chances both teams second half, Cork took there chance and fair play.

Still can never understand why LOI fans are kept back, kept back for 10 mins tonight and we left and walked straight into all the cork crowd leaving

288 Posts

53 Posts
    Dundalk fans complaining about a pitch

Like a lot of games, the first goal is key.
    Dundalk should have been more clinical and there wouldnt be a word about the pitch now.
    They clearly ran out of ideas in the last 20 mins of the second half. Partly due to some fantastic defensive work by Cork it has to be said.
    Good draw for us away to Waterford. Hard to believe we are still relying on Cretaro this season.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Asterix View Post
    Dundalk fans complaining about a pitch
    watch the match then deliver your verdict instead of taking cheap pot-shots here like most of your ilk.
    You might add something to the conversation then.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    That's a cop out on your behalf. The dive incident was too far down the other end for me to get a good view of it, so can't really comment. But if you're looking for a scapegoat look no further than your keeper who gifted us the first goal.

Thought we deserved a point and our lads deserve a lot of credit for keeping going until the end.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast