Page 37 of 47 FirstFirst ... 273536373839 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2018

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    This would be more believable if you picked literally any other player. Zero chance of it.

Ah yes 'fair and measured'. It's our fault ye don't score more. Well, yes Stephen. That is in fact half of the point of football. Stopping the opposition from scoring. Saying its not your fault you don't score more in those games is deflection and utter rubbish. Don't blame the opposition for your deficiencies in breaking them down.

The scrappy goal nonsense, measured? Better team lost? Measured?

It's not the best of wind up attempts, but pretending he wasn't looking to have a dig is nonsense.
    It wasn't meant to be believable, the fact you think it was says a lot!

Nothing wrong with what Kenny said, nobody in their right mind will argue that Corks tactic in each final has been to stifle Dundalk to the detriment of the games as spectacles. Sunday will be no different this is the reason neutrals are not enthusiastic about it. If all previous games had been high scoring, end to end, everyone would be relishing another. Cork won't care if they win in the end but if they don't the reaction will be interesting.

For us, we should know what's coming, just have to keep plugging away, make no mistakes and hope for that bit of luck and class missing from previous finals

The enthusiasm of neutrals about the game won't be a consideration whether we win or lose to be honest!

Winning/Losing this final won't chsnge anyones mind on how we play, one way or another, unless it ended up a hammering either direction, which I doubt.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    You can take up your issues with the 'invented blame' with the person who actually wrote the article and presumably got that impression from the interview.

It's not my interpretation, it's that of the author.
    Apologies to you micls - I was making the assumption that you were presenting your own views, as opposed to picking them off some un-named article (maybe for the craic post up the link for the article you mentioned while your at it)

If you want to educate yourself on what Stephen Kenny said, if you have not already done so, you can check out the video of the press conference and form an original impression of your own

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDdpevE47Bs&t=27s

649 Posts
    Actually to be completely fair some of the dundalk supporters did call him out as an feckin eejit when he issued an official whinge about not getting enough penalties last year so they aren't completely besotted.

I'd say even EZ thought he made an idiot of himself there.

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Actually to be completely fair some of the dundalk supporters did call him out as an feckin eejit when he issued an official whinge about not getting enough penalties last year so they aren't completely besotted.

Threatening to ''take the team home'' during a match against Drogheda I think it was, is a personal favourite.

649 Posts
    Fair point asterix although I'm sure EZ will call him out on that as well , or maybe it was just a fair and measured response to the unbelievably biased officials for not giving a few penos

773 Posts
    You would want to check your comprehension faculties if that's your interpretation of EZ's ruminations during that particular disputation.

874 Posts
    The difference was when jim talked crap (which he did) the natural default of most rovers fans was to laugh and say "that's jim for you" not jim is a fair and measured genius that can do no wrong ....
    Eh thats exactly what Jim was!! Even his 'talking crap' was measured and arguably genius. Im sure there are plenty of board members over the years that would agree. The Kilcoynes were convinced to sell the family silver not long after MoneybagsMc departed.

663 Posts
    Amid all the waffle, I hear few actually disputing or disagreeing with the comments on Cork's style of play.

I expect more of this agricultural turgid anti-football dross from Cork on Sunday. It would be great if a football match could emerge from it.

120 Posts
    This is the magic of the cup, Rovers fans still contributing to the thread long after their teams annual exit. It really does bring fans together, heath warming.

663 Posts
    Barbara O'Connell of the Evening Echo - widely regarded as being a partisan cheerleader for all things Cork City - gives an honest reflection of how shr sees the differences between the teams.

Is her call to Caulfield to 'have a go' the common view among Cork fans, or do most prefer Cork City to play the normal containment game in the cup final?

https://www.eveningecho.ie/corksport...16785c16fe2-ds

Absolutely not. City fans want to win 3 in a row. The best way to do that is the same way we've done the last 2 years. Last year in particular.

Plenty of city fans would like us to play a different style of football at times, but mostly that complaint is against the weaker teams in the league.

Against Dundalk, most are happy that Caulfield has overall gotten it right and it has worked, particularly in the cup.

That said, majority would want Sadlier to start, which will be the big decision.

663 Posts
    Micls 1 Babs 0

Turgid agricultural hoofball ahead so far.

It would be great if Cork City would try to play some football and put Sheppard's theory of being the better footballing team to the test

663 Posts
    Karl Sheppard hardly keeping out of the limelight as he talks about hatred, grudges and dislike among the fans.

I have always found Cork fans to be friendly, warm and knowledgeable in person, even if this is not apparent online.

Sheppard seems a strange chap wrapped up in his own personal war zone

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soc...mpression=true

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Micls 1 Babs 0

Turgid agricultural hoofball ahead so far.

It would be great if Cork City would try to play some football and put Sheppard's theory of being the better footballing team to the test
    You're some man for misquoting people.

What Shep actually said:

When we’re at it, I don’t think any team in this league can match us.

Despite the wishes of dundalk fans that every team would play against them the way they'd like, and let them play their pretty football without annoying them, there's more than one way to play football and there's more than one way to win.

No need to worry, we'll be playing football tomorrow. If people don't like how we play it and don't like us winning Cups they need to start beating us in them.

Looks like the big marketing push for this has started. Saw an ad there on rte.

663 Posts
    Unless Paul O'Hehir is quoting form an old interview in yesterdays Irish Mirror, it seems Karl Sheppard is still holding on to a lot of anger and resentment - this time from comments made by Keith Long in early October!

While most would we looking to embrace the opportunity to create history in the cup final tomorrow, it seems Karl is more perturbed about how others see this Cork team and seems to want credit for finishing in second place in the league:

Karl Sheppard hits back at Keith Long for Cork City comments

“We were going through a sticky patch and everyone was only too happy to jump on the bandwagon and have a pop off Cork.

“We’ve got to a fourth FAI Cup final in-a-row and finished second in the league.

“People need to take step a back and say if it wasn't for this Cork team, nobody would challenge Dundalk. It would be a very boring league.”

Warming to his theme he displayed his outrage about what he sees as abuse

“It was strange getting abuse from a Bohs manager who called us agricultural."

I'm not sure which team he is likening Cork to here, but its possible that his anger has flipped him over the edge

“Its the two best teams getting to the cup final. If it was Madrid-Barca getting to the final every year in Spain, I don't think people would be complaining.
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soc...keith-13519249
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 03/11/2018 at 9:52 AM.

194 Posts
    Sooner the match gets going and all these build up quotes and features are consigned to history the better imo. the
    we said - he said rubbish

21,500 attendance and Buttimer to invade the pitch naked still annoyed over his perceived snub as a top ref following the drogs v dundalk sf in 2013

555 Posts
    Crazy stuff from Sheppard, going on about players hating each other.

The sooner players starting playing football and stop talking the better.

36 Posts
    Sheppard is an odious little man. I've a lot of respect for that Cork team. Some great players. Sadlier, Cummins, Bennet is solid at the back and I accept we were beaten by a better team in the semis down the Cross. But it's hard to support a team with Sheppard in it. He's a diver, he's a cry baby, he's an attention seeker. That Sheppard fella is a cod.

Gonna head along tomorrow myself as a neutral. Always a good occasion. Hopefully there's a bit crowd at it, baby

Page 37 of 47 FirstFirst ... 273536373839 ... LastLast