Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Athlone. What deaf huck is going on

62 Posts
    Is it difficult to join the club that owns/runs Athlone?

47 Posts
    Just a few observations to add about Friday's game.

The manager was suspended for the match, yet he never stopped shouting instructions from the media gantry for the entire 1st half and sneaked over to the dugout in the 2nd half to encourage the players right to the end

The Athlone players never gave up and were a credit to themselves and the club. They were just not LOI standard. Wexford were flattered by the score and, if all the easy chances were taken, it would have been at least 10

The entire Athlone squad arrived at Ferrycarrig Park in 4 cars and I was told there were only 8 at training midweek. I fear an asterisk shortly, as this cannot continue. That would be a shame for such a fine club

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    The entire Athlone squad arrived at Ferrycarrig Park in 4 cars
    Jesus. That is pub team stuff.
    Can't understand how a guy would want to stay playing with them. Surely you'd be better off at junior or intermediate level with a team that's enjoying their game.

98 Posts
    Lads, if only ye knew half the stuff that has went on. Its unbelievable.
    From elderly volunteers being roared at for helping out to fans being sued for voicing corcerns and the chairman of the club going after supporters jobs making false accusations to their employers. Certain fans even got solicitor letters from 2 of the foreign guys last year. Labuts and Cravo. These guys had no idea who the people they were sending letters to were. It was all instructed by a certain individual. These claims were proven to be false also.
    This isnt a normal case of "the fans disagreeing with how the club is being run".
    This is personal on so many levels. Its absolutely disgusting what has happened with the club and how certain board members have treated fans and former members/volunteers of the club. It will not end until they leave. If they stay the club will die. There is no doubt about it.
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

1,522 Posts
    If they walked away tomorrow, is there anyone to step in and keep it going?

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    If they walked away tomorrow, is there anyone to step in and keep it going?
    Yes a group of supporters ready and waiting since this all started

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Yes a group of supporters ready and waiting since this all started
    That's sad that you let a club like Athlone die. So much history. Following the likes of Cork, Galway, Derry etc who let their clubs die.
    Is there no way ye can work from within and take over?
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Redzer View Post
    That's sad that you let a club like Athlone die. So much history. Following the likes of Cork, Galway, Derry etc who let their clubs die.
    I dont think its a matter of letting Athlone die. I am sure the lads did try their best at first to cooperate but felt they had no option. Look at what happened to Galway Utd with Nick Gleeson. I think the hardcore are doing the right thing in holding out as long as possible. This also happened to Shamrock Rovers when they left Milltown and eventually the owner quit.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Blaming the fans for this situation is a bit strange.

140 Posts
    Blaming the fans for this - and other - situations is both laughable and pathetic

98 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Redzer View Post
    Its far from a case of us letting the club die. We even went as far as putting in our own money to pay players when the club wouldnt do so in 2015.
    Only people in Athlone know what the Chairman is like. Hes nothing like you have seen in the league before And thats a promise. Im sure Battery Rover will agree.
    There is no way to work from withing because the only people on the inside are the chairman and his friends and family. Nobody else. Its basically Hayden FC now. And will remain that way until the club dies. And it will die.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Its far from a case of us letting the club die. We even went as far as putting in our own money to pay players when the club wouldnt do so in 2015.
    Only people in Athlone know what the Chairman is like. Hes nothing like you have seen in the league before And thats a promise. Im sure Battery Rover will agree.
    There is no way to work from withing because the only people on the inside are the chairman and his friends and family. Nobody else. Its basically Hayden FC now. And will remain that way until the club dies. And it will die.
    Not being funny but isn’t it better off dead at this stage? Start fresh. It’s horrible and I’d never want to say that about my club but sure look if it’s good enough for Cork, Galway, Waterford etc then it’s far better than this.

Also heard today at least another 3 players set to walk out this week, the management is a complete and utter joke apparently.

98 Posts
    Absolutely it is better off. That is not the club i supported all my life. Athlone Town Fc is already dead and gone. The majority in Town would rather the club die and we can try rebuild then.

83 Posts
    As far as I know 3 of our better players walked after last weeks game.

1,081 Posts
    No surprise that Cabo are 1/10 tonight so.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Only people in Athlone know what the Chairman is like. Hes nothing like you have seen in the league before And thats a promise.
    I think we'd beg to differ on that.

Seriously though, it's a horrible situation that we know only too well. The main thing is that the fans are ready to step in. That trumps the knockers that will come out with constant jibes about 'letting your club die'. Whereas, in reality, that is out of the hands of the fans.

1,081 Posts
    What is good old Mr No Bobs up to these days anyway?

83 Posts
    Went to my first Athlone Town game in August 1971 so have seen plenty in LOI and this is on a par or worse with anything thats happened in the past.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Went to my first Athlone Town game in August 1971 so have seen plenty in LOI and this is on a par or worse with anything thats happened in the past.
    Here's a throwback https://youtu.be/Cg1iZ2ZBhns
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

144 Posts
    We now have an Athlone player on twitter thanking their opponents physio for treating them for an injury on the pitch because their own club couldn't be bothered to ensure they have their own physio at a competitive game of football
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast