Thread: Galway United and Mervue Dispute

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayforsam View Post
    If officials in Mervue were so set against Galway United, why would they let them rent their facilties and be wiling to sit down and arrrange agreements over the signing of the underage players, which they had actually agreed to but to be done around SFAI cup games and to go through a correct procedure?

Talk about exaggeration. Officials in Mervue are concerned about the running of their own club, but because this doesn't pander to Galway United then they're being toxic towards them. Laughable stuff.

I'm sure players are delighted to be going up to Galway United to play but to be given ultimatums the night before SFAI Cup games being told not to play for Mervue or else they wouldn't be signed doesm't exactly sound like the actions of an 'elite' level club. Would you want your son being treated like that? And it's more than 1 coach as I'm sure you know!
    Christ the way you're painting it out, you would swear Galway United got the use of Fahy's Field for free, like as if you were doing Galway United a massive favour. Fahy's Field is a graveyard in the morning, it's free money for Mervue, who make a five figure sum off Galway United every season. Don't try and paint it as if Mervue are going out of their way to cater to Galway United because that's simply untrue, at least be realistic about it. Half the time the pitches the club was put on weren't even cut down there.

No exaggerations there unfortunately, there are people involved in the running of Mervue United who are extremely anti Galway United, the dog in the bloody street knows that. Then there are more reasonable people like Donnie Farragher involved in Mervue United who has the respect of both club's because he is a good football man.

Absolutely, to your last point, that was incorrect, which I already stated in my previous post and I totally agreed with you. I wouldn't want that for my son, it was not the correct way to act and there was no doubt that Mervue can feel aggrieved over that. I can sort of see the irony that a lot of United fans (and other junior club's) are pointing out, with Mervue poaching players for years from other Galway club's unashamedly, but that was the cycle. Mervue and Salthill had the underage League of Ireland teams while they were in the league and for the few years we came back into the league. Now those players will join Galway United, but the club will seriously have to work on how they approach club's and players, and do it with much more respect and tact.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

288 Posts

Mervue aren't involved because they don't want to be involved and never did.
    You have 5 or 6 posts, all attacking Galway United.

I've heard a lot of easily disproved lies about Galway football in the last few years, but that takes the biscuit. I suppose you didn't want all the UEFA solidarity money that was diverted to Mervue and Salthill either, not to mention all the money paid to Mervue by GUFC for rental of facilities, that was not discounted in any way, despite Mervue posing as equal partners in the FAI created Galway FC.

They want to run their own club.
    Well done. One thing right at least.

The FAI wanted a representative from them on the board along with someone from the supporters trust, Salthill and Galway FA. They did not want the supporters club given full control as they did a few years ago for awhile and it went pear shaped.
    Demonstrably false.

The supporters were never in control of Galway United. They kept it going, paid bills left by the club all over the place. The board were happy for people to think the supporters were in control of the club, but in reality, the supporters were keeping it going from day to day, but the board made all the decisions and could hardly have done a better job at trying to sink the club if they had been doing it deliberately.

As evidenced by John O'Sullivan's account a few years ago of how the FAI treated clubs, the real reason the FAI did not want the fans running Galway United was a fear that we would lead a campaign against the league committee chairman, who helped create the mess in Galway, possibly running a candidate against him ourselves.

Also it's alot more than 1 player. It's nearly double figures of players. And again the issue isn't the fact they are trying to take players, Mervue are happy to see their players play at the highest level.
    Mervue have had a policy for a long time of wishing players well when they move on, as long as it isn't to Galway United they are going.

But there was an agreement that was made over how and when approaches were to be made and Galway United broke this agreement and were giving players ultimatums telling them theu were not to play upcoming SFAI cup games for Mervue or they wouldn't be signed. All that went against the agreement that had been made with GUFC.
    Could the Galway United coach have behaved better? Of course. It's a bit rich for Mervue to throw the toys out of the pram over it though.

That's before you even talk about agreements. Mervue have had unique agreements relating to Galway United that happen nowhere else in the world. They were getting compensation for players that clubs elsewhere, or even other clubs in Galway are not and entitled to.

A backroom deal was made between Mervue, Salthill and the FAI to lock Galway United out of the underage LOI for 5 years.

So yes, lets talk about agreements.

If Galway United had their own training facilities and ground it wouldn't be an issue for them but how long have they had a professional team and still don't even have aas much as a training facility?
    The money routed away from Galway United to Mervue and Salthill in the last 5 years could have built a facility. Money that didn't come from taxpayers either.

The vast majority of people I know who have been involved with Mervue over the years are decent people, with a bit of cop on and an ability to see past the parochialism... but the way you and a few others talk about Fahy's Field, you'd swear you used your own blood to mix the cement. Mervue people worked hard, but it was built with public money on land that still belongs to the corporation.

By your own definition, you're "dirty scroungers".

The money siphoned out of GUFC over the last number of years could have built a facility, albeit a basic one. The irony of people throwing **** at GUFC, making the club out to be scroungers is staggering.

Galway United's existence has been a hugely positive influence. If LOI football had not been played in Galway, Terryland Park would likely still be a field with a cowshed beside it. Government grants paid to develop it would never have been paid without the demand for LOI football.

The Mervue official that released the statement in reply to our statement, which we never actually made, is one of the ringleaders of the 'toxic' campaign against Galway United within the Galway FA, that the GFA chairman, who has nothing to do with GUFC, resigned over.

Call us some more four letter words and avoid the issues some more, like the rest of yee have being doing online for the last week. Go on.

288 Posts
    I just realised this is the transfers thread. Maybe a mod might like to move it somewhere more appropriate.

1,522 Posts
    Split it out as suggested

622 Posts
    Honest question here. If Mervue are producing so many players, being the best in the county, so-on and so-forth, and have amazing facilities, run their club impeccably and have the finances right, then why aren't they in the LOI playing out of Terryland/EDP and offering their elite players that chance, instead of an entity like Galway FC which seems to be a basket case?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

74 Posts
    GUFC never released a statement attacking Mervue,the manager answered questions he was asked by a Galway Bay Journalist who knew what was happening and the national s picked up on it. GUST were given three weeks to pay off all footballing debts of Nick and his Board which was a substantial 5 figure sum alone never mind the bills that appeared after we fully took over which brought the debts to over €1m and we weren't able t do anything without the agreement of the previous board and Former CEO. We were all just supporters with no backer and dug into our own pockets to ensure soccer stayed alive in EDP.

I'm sure the FAI and the Author of the Report would have a different view of how the solution to the lack of a proper Galway Team in the Loi was worked out. Mervue is a great club with many great footballing people involved but there is a cabal that would love to see GUFC going to the wall again.
    Last edited by gufct; 20/02/2018 at 1:29 PM.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Honest question here. If Mervue are producing so many players, being the best in the county, so-on and so-forth, and have amazing facilities, run their club impeccably and have the finances right, then why aren't they in the LOI playing out of Terryland/EDP and offering their elite players that chance, instead of an entity like Galway FC which seems to be a basket case?
    Galway United have the tradition and supporter base, Mervue have always been a junior and underage club.

Mervue were never going to get the support of Galway behind them even when Galway United were not playing in the league. Just doesn't work that way, so it was never sustainable in the long term.
    Last edited by galwayforsam; 20/02/2018 at 5:37 PM.

120 Posts
    Crumbling empire?
    Pretty self explanatory I would have thought. Mervue are now going to start losing their best players to Galway Utd and will no longer be the biggest puppy farm in the West. So they're having a strop same way Kevin's had a strop. Too many big heads with too much power in the junior leagues, this setup should thankfully weed that out

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Pretty self explanatory I would have thought. Mervue are now going to start losing their best players to Galway Utd and will no longer be the biggest puppy farm in the West. So they're having a strop same way Kevin's had a strop. Too many big heads with too much power in the junior leagues, this setup should thankfully weed that out
    Despite the fact that Mervue are just one club among many in Galway, they still wield a lot of power to disrupt progress. They have control of the Galway FA board and according to the chairman that resigned over their anti-GUFC attitude, have people not even on the Galway FA making decisions and doing things in the name of the Galway FA behind people's backs.

120 Posts
    Everyone is out to get Galway United and keep them down. Rinse and repeat. Yawn
    So the Galway FA chairman was lying? It's a lie that Galway Utd are not allowed sell their merchandise in the ground? It's a lie that they had to remove the bar (an important revenue generator) from the old dressing rooms? It's a lie that they cannot bring in their own vendors on match nights?

Tip of the iceberg really but this does not reflect well on the Galway FA and in turn Mervue if they do indeed have that much influence. But sure look isn't it more important that some people feel all important and powerful than everyone working together to do what's best for football in Galway? There's blame on both sides for sure, but this is ultimately about putting a structure in place for kids to develop and enjoy the game, it's really embarrassing all this bitching.

288 Posts
    It's a lie that Galway Utd are not allowed sell their merchandise in the ground?
    That's not actually true. The area Galway United refurbished upstairs in the old clubhouse that overlooks the pitch, that we had been using as sort of corporate hospitality space, was rented out to our merchandise supplier without consulting us. He set up a shop that is open during the week, but also on match nights, in competition with our club shop, right beside it. I could say a lot more about the kit supplier, but I better not. The sooner the contract is over the better.

It's a lie that they cannot bring in their own vendors on match nights?
    I believe we offered far more than the current fast 'food' vendors when the Galway FA pretended to tender the contract. We can't even sell soft drinks in the bar because of the contract between them and the Galway FA.

We could grow matchday revenue massively, but the lads on the Galway FA would rather cut off their nose to spite their face.

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    I could say a lot more about the kit supplier, but I better not. The sooner the contract is over the better.
    Out of interest, when does the contract end? Not a fan of the Uhlsport gear at all.