Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland fixtures - Premier Division - 16th/17th Feb 2018

Great start by Limerick who are currently 6th after tonight's results, not many thought we would be ahead of Sligo (L before S),Pats, Derry and Shams at this stage, could be the highlight of our season

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    What happened against bray? Had you down for a certain 3 points
    It felt like a pre season opener. Disjointed, flat, sloppy passing and couple looked off being match fit. But it was a bit of a cobbled together side with illness and injuries to the squad and signings of the last few days having to play and obviously not match sharp. Established players didnt perform but then they had roles that they are not in the squad for like Shields the midfield creativity rather than the usual spoiling role he plays. The wingers werent good but with centre midfield struggling that was no surprise. Murray isnt a lone striker but had to play that position, Hoban was better when he came on but musnt be up to a full 90 minutes yet. Benson was poor but was ill last week also. Connolly is keeping his footballing brain to himself at the moment. Another week should make a difference for the 5 or 6 players that need to shake off any lingering virus. Byrne/Cleary even just the week training with the squad will help. O'Donnell is supposed to be near a return from injury. We could have shipped a couple of goals tonight and lost, we wont be as poor again though that wouldnt be hard. At a quick count 10 of the squad are injured or were sick in the last week and 2 signed in the last coupl of days.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 17/02/2018 at 1:34 AM.

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Dreadful fare at Dalymount (watched it on the telly). Complete hoofball from beginning to end. How many free kicks were there? How many times did the ball go out of play? Maybe the conditions had something to do with it - but that was dire, especially from Rovers.
    Yet there are people on the Televised Games thread on here portraying Bohs-Rovers as some sort of mouth watering classic that the media just couldn't ignore.

It was really bad football, of the kind that would probably have seen a huge drop in viewing figures after about 30mins in.

Pats v Cork was always likely to be a better fixture, and I thought there was an unwritten tradition of airing the champions in the first game of the season?

145 Posts
    If you had listened to all the 'pundits' or the FAI propaganda machine before the season kick-off you would have been told that "the league is in on the up", "the standard has improved year on year over the past 5 years", "achievements in Europe have brought the league to another level" etc.

Then you have the league's biggest derby on prime-time TV with two teams of the same standard of what you would have seen in the First Division 10 years ago - but that would be no surprise to anyone watching the football deteriorate over the past 10 years losing talented players to UK/US every season hand over fist.

Like with the madness going-on in the EPL, the LOI is now on a very smaller level talking itself up with a rubbish footballing product on show
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Like with the madness going-on in the EPL, the LOI is now on a very smaller level talking itself up with a rubbish footballing product on show
    #GreatestLeagueInTheWorld

229 Posts
    Rovers got sucked into playing like bohs. Bad start but long league ahead. Great results for bray and cofk
    Deluded. So it's Bohs fault that you pay big money for talentless unmotivated players?
    Presumably also Bohs fault for your fans and their Cardiff National Front mates for breaking into Dalymount on Thursday night and beating up one of our club officials?

646 Posts
    Delusion would be making judgements after the first game of the season .....move on to next match.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    2-3 to City. Sadlier direct from a corner. We deserve nothing from this game.
    Thought Pats played quite well (even allowing for the fact it was 11 v 10 fo a large part of the game) and should have got at least a point. Got caught by a sucker punch at the end. Papers say the last goal was direct from the corner, couldn't really tell from where I was.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Thought Pats played quite well (even allowing for the fact it was 11 v 10 fo a large part of the game) and should have got at least a point. Got caught by a sucker punch at the end. Papers say the last goal was direct from the corner, couldn't really tell from where I was.
    Yeah I was right in line with it. It looked like it went straight in.

Pats played the better football all night. Our game plan was effective until the sending off, then we had nothing and Pats dominated. The equaliser was inevitable at HT I felt. Keohane and Griffen were poor for us and when Morrissey replaced Keohane the game swung and we got into it. It was a very lucky winner, but you have to be in it to win it.

Some of the refereeing decisions in the first half I felt were really harsh on us, particularly McCormack being forced to leave the pitch after the Pats player received a yellow cards. The red didn't look like anything. I'm looking forward to seeing that again.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

Great start for Waterford on our return to the top division. 2500 there despite the terrible weather which badly affected the pitch with the ball getting caught in water on the muddy pitch and players slipping. Derry weren't great and Waterford deserved the win with a super individual goal from Holohan and a great team goal finished by Dean O Halloran to win it. Hery was class in midfield. Kenny Shiels gave a typically sour interview after the game blaming the pitch, referee and Waterford's experience (even though it was our first Premier game for 10 years with a new squad) for the defeat.

427 Posts
    Delusion would be making judgements after the first game of the season .....move on to next match.
    delusion is trying to blame the opposition because your team is sh1te.
    still, get used to it. Hoops are going to need a lot of excuses based on last nights "performance "

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    Yet there are people on the Televised Games thread on here portraying Bohs-Rovers as some sort of mouth watering classic that the media just couldn't ignore.

It was really bad football, of the kind that would probably have seen a huge drop in viewing figures after about 30mins in.

Pats v Cork was always likely to be a better fixture, and I thought there was an unwritten tradition of airing the champions in the first game of the season?
    If you are that eager to see Pats V Cork why not try going to the game ?

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post

That's only if its not Cork
    Saw the game anyway so don't really care.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    We were on top first 20 and last 20. Pat's dominated the rest and with a decent finished yed have scored 4. We were very lucky to come away with anything, let alone the win. But our lads showed great character to stick with it.

Ye're guys seemed to fade in the last 20,and Morrissey settled us. We looked fitter at that point despite being down to 10. Once we started pushing on and attacking again ye didn't offer much and looked tired.

Huge goal for us considering the other results last night. Can see Pat's doing well overall, but ye're defense was poor. We looked like scoring every time we got into ye're final third. Garvan was excellent.

327 Posts
    Well unlike you purists who are used to seeing your teams play tiki taka football, I enjoyed watching a derby that may have been short on quality but not short on much else. When you are 1 down to your bitter rivals with a little over 15 minutes left and win 3-1, that’s a good nights work and reason to be happy on a Saturday. It’s good to be back.

672 Posts
    Sounded like a horrendous night in Waterford and they coped much better. No one will fancy that trip, I wouldn't underestimate the quality and experience in there.

We're lacking physicality and nous at a time when we could most use it. All these away trips to start could prove very difficult indeed.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

38 Posts
    Was Morrissey not fully fit? I couldn't believe it when i seen he was only on the bench.

The ref didn't have control of the game at all. He was being dictated to by the players at times. What you say about McCormack still having to go off, it was the same with Toner from the ref. People were shouting at him that Toner doesn't have to go off. He didn't seem to have a clue what was happening around him.

Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    Was Morrissey not fully fit? I couldn't believe it when i seen he was only on the bench.

The ref didn't have control of the game at all. He was being dictated to by the players at times. What you say about McCormack still having to go off, it was the same with Toner from the ref. People were shouting at him that Toner doesn't have to go off. He didn't seem to have a clue what was happening around him.
    Took a knock against Dundalk and didn't train all week. Obviously not match fit enough for 90 but changed the game when he came on. Pat's made a double sub at the same time which seemed to throw them as well.

3,215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EnzoScifo10 View Post
    Great start by Limerick who are currently 6th after tonight's results, not many thought we would be ahead of Sligo (L before S),Pats, Derry and Shams at this stage, could be the highlight of our season
    Going even better now; ye've just drawn level with Dundalk and Bray!

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Last edited by patrickccfc; 17/02/2018 at 7:19 PM.

24. Thanks From:

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast