Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: 2018 Televised Games

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Bohemians must have the biggest appeal outside of the regular top 4.
    Bohs have the fourth highest appeal of all, if you go on attendances.

327 Posts
    We have the only appeal that matters. Sex Appeal baby!

66 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Between RTÉ and eir, Bohs will feature in 4 of the first 6 games to be televised:
    Full SSE Airtricity League TV schedule:-

16/02/2018 - Bohemians v Shamrock Rovers, 7.30pm, RTE
    02/03/2018 - Cork City v Bohemians, 7.30pm, RTE
    09/03/2018 - Dundalk v Cork City, 8pm, eirSport
    23/03/2018 - Waterford v Shamrock Rovers, 7.30pm, RTE
    13/04/2018 - Shamrock Rovers v Bohemians, 8pm, eirSport
    20/04/2018 - Bohemians v Cork City, 8pm, eirSport
    I don’t see why people have the issue of Bohs on tv in four games. After all they’re playing in the biggest derby in the country twice and against the champions twice. Is that not normal no?

408 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    I don’t see why people have the issue of Bohs on tv in four games. After all they’re playing in the biggest derby in the country twice and against the champions twice. Is that not normal no?
    The "biggest derby in the country" has increasingly less bearing on the title race these days. And doesn't draw anywhere near the biggest crowd of any LOI fixture, so is more forth than substance. And there's every chance that Cork's derbies against both Waterford and Limerick will draw bigger crowds this year.

Your point about Bohs playing the champions twice would make sense - if no-one else was playing Cork. But every team gets to play them, so the fact Bohs have their first 2 games against them aired just looks a little weird.

For a mid-table team to feature in two-thirds of the televised games is more than a bit strange. It's also in my opinion daft to televise only one home Cork game in that series - given that they're the champions, draw the biggest crowds and their ground looks and sounds good on telly. But Cork is a pain in the arse to get back to Dublin from with an outside broadcast crew late on a Friday night, so it suits Eir and RTE to toddle along to Dalyer or Tallaght instead.
    Last edited by EatYerGreens; 14/02/2018 at 10:43 AM.

646 Posts
    [QUOTE=EatYerGreens;1951932]The "biggest derby in the country" has increasingly less bearing on the title race these days.

To be fair , we live in hope of a title race and there is always the Bohs relegation battle this year to keep it interesting

Dalymount will sell out (is already sold out) and the fact that the crowd is only 3400 is down to that.
    There were 5200 in Tallaght for the first Bohs match last season so that is pretty decent.

Also the atmosphere at these matches tend to be hostile which makes for good TV with fans celebrating wildly and multiple flares etc...all good TV

Saying all that it is a bit bizarre , put the Dublin Derby on but Cork at home to someone else would make sense.
    Still its not the biggest problem we all have

408 Posts
    [QUOTE=sbgawa;1951941]
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    The "biggest derby in the country" has increasingly less bearing on the title race these days.

To be fair , we live in hope of a title race and there is always the Bohs relegation battle this year to keep it interesting

Dalymount will sell out (is already sold out) and the fact that the crowd is only 3400 is down to that.
    There were 5200 in Tallaght for the first Bohs match last season so that is pretty decent.

Also the atmosphere at these matches tend to be hostile which makes for good TV with fans celebrating wildly and multiple flares etc...all good TV

Saying all that it is a bit bizarre , put the Dublin Derby on but Cork at home to someone else would make sense.
    Still its not the biggest problem we all have
    I'd say it's symptomatic of one of the biggest problems Ireland has - which is that the powers that be are all based in Dublin and can't think or see beyond The Pale.

That's no way to develop a country - and helps explain why house prices are bonkers in the capital, yet only 90mins away you can pick up a mansion for less than the cost of a 2-bed flat in Dublin. Which is hardly New York City in scale to justify the disparity. And then the fcukers wonder why they need to consider closing rail lines around the island.

Broadcasters are just reflecting the same ignorant attitude that the rest of the powers that be show towards anywhere outside Dublin. An inconvenient wilderness to be avoided if at all possible

3,214 Posts
    Teensy bit of a leap there from RTÉ showing Bohs a few times to the Wexford to Waterford line being closed in fairness!

646 Posts
    I actually have sympathy for Eir and RTE.
    The viewing figures are poor for the matches, unlikely to generat any add revenue beyond a rerun of an old movie and the costs of set up and paying the staff of going outside Dublin would be considerable
    You'll probably find that when the rest of us are making our way back from Cork the RTE staff are bedding down in a hotel in Cork or racking up the O.T on the way back.
    If the viewership figures were better they might stomach the costs more regularly

178 Posts
    Outside Bohs and Shams fans the match doesn't have that much appeal. If anything it has become a bit of a laughing stock in LOI circles with the schoolagism side to it.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

178 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    The viewing figures are poor for the matches, unlikely to generat any add revenue beyond a rerun of an old movie and the costs of set up and paying the staff of going outside Dublin would be considerable
    You'll probably find that when the rest of us are making our way back from Cork the RTE staff are bedding down in a hotel in Cork or racking up the O.T on the way back.
    If the viewership figures were better they might stomach the costs more regularly

RTE have studios in Athlone, Belfast, Cork, Galway, Limerick and Sligo. Plenty or RTE staff around the country.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

447 Posts
    The Outside Broadcast is also contracted out to external companies. I know TVM do the broadcasts at the Cross.
    http://tvm.ie/
    Based out of Bartlemy in Co. Cork.

172 Posts
    [QUOTE=EatYerGreens;1951943]

I'd say it's symptomatic of one of the biggest problems Ireland has - which is that the powers that be are all based in Dublin and can't think or see beyond The Pale.

That's no way to develop a country - and helps explain why house prices are bonkers in the capital, yet only 90mins away you can pick up a mansion for less than the cost of a 2-bed flat in Dublin. Which is hardly New York City in scale to justify the disparity. And then the fcukers wonder why they need to consider closing rail lines around the island.

Broadcasters are just reflecting the same ignorant attitude that the rest of the powers that be show towards anywhere outside Dublin. An inconvenient wilderness to be avoided if at all possible
    Fu**in culchies. Always giving out.
    Not content to have tied up most of the cushy jobs in Dublin through their " who you know, not what you know " family connections, and paying over the odds for crap houses in Dublin, thus driving up the prices and forcing Dublin people to have to buy houses in backwaters like portarlington, they give out about the disparity in league coverage..
    Dundalk is like fallujah, cork is a town mascerading as a city, and galway comprises mainly of English people with dogs on ropes!

I feel better already.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

229 Posts
    [QUOTE=placid casual;1951958]

Not content to have tied up most of the cushy jobs in Dublin through their " who you know, not what you know " family connections, and paying over the odds for crap houses in Dublin, thus driving up the prices and forcing Dublin people to have to buy houses in backwaters like portarlington, they give out about the disparity in league coverage..
    Dundalk is like fallujah, cork is a town mascerading as a city, and galway comprises mainly of English people with dogs on ropes!

I feel better already.
    People with dogs and ropes with giant paper mache heads.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Outside Bohs and Shams fans the match doesn't have that much appeal. If anything it has become a bit of a laughing stock in LOI circles with the schoolagism side to it.
    The stations wouldn't show the matches if they didn't see the demand

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Bohs have the fourth highest appeal of all, if you go on attendances.
    That is fair enough. Possibly viewing figures are high for Bohs. I've met many people down through the years from non-LoI areas throughout the country who have a soft spot for Bohs. Not many of them have seen them live however!
    Eir seem to want more games if they can get them. Not entirely sure the viewing figures are as low as some might suggest.
    [QUOTE=placid casual;1951958]

Haha.

I know this is a discussion for a non sport thread but; Following on from Brexit Dublin has lost out on jobs to other European cities. There needs to be more strategic investment in Galway, Limerick, Cork and Waterford.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

408 Posts
    The stations wouldn't show the matches if they didn't see the demand
    Isn't RTE forced to show matches as part of the international match rights ?

As for Eir - is their reach big enough to register on the TV ratings panel ? If not - unless they've got some sophisticated technology I'm not aware of, they'd have no real way of knowing which specific shows attract what specific audience. They seem to reply largely on the occasional survey of their members, and asking people what they want to access when they join up, to get a feel for the broad categories of demand. Plus they just need content, & the lack of any rights payments makes the LOI a cheap source of that

447 Posts
    Honestly games should only be on television in the better looking stadia. Tallaght, Turners Cross, Dalymount, Showgrounds, maybe the RSC and Brandywell. We should be doing everything we can to give outsiders a good impression of our league. Dundalk play good football but their stadium isn't fit for television, Sean Maguires hattrick up there last season was tainted for the tv viewer. Same for Bray. I'm not sure about Limericks stadium.

In an ideal world we would broadcast a game a week, and get paid for it, maybe from some international television companies and split the money evenly between all 20 clubs with a small bonus to the teams on tv. That money should be only allowed to be spent on infrastructure, academies and community programmes.

59 Posts
    As for Eir - is their reach big enough to register on the TV ratings panel ? If not - unless they've got some sophisticated technology I'm not aware of, they'd have no real way of knowing which specific shows attract what specific audience.
    I'd say Eir will have pretty accurate figures from their broadband customers. It's not that hard to count to how many users a stream is served.

28 Posts
    The draw to the center is a common problem across multiple countries and has been since the dawn of civilization, roman empire perhaps being the most obvious one. Anyway from a dubs point of view living in the country i often get the feeling we are often always looked down as being less than Irish because we were born in Dublin.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Honestly games should only be on television in the better looking stadia. Tallaght, Turners Cross, Dalymount, Showgrounds, maybe the RSC and Brandywell. We should be doing everything we can to give outsiders a good impression of our league. Dundalk play good football but their stadium isn't fit for television, Sean Maguires hattrick up there last season was tainted for the tv viewer. Same for Bray. I'm not sure about Limericks stadium.

In an ideal world we would broadcast a game a week, and get paid for it, maybe from some international television companies and split the money evenly between all 20 clubs with a small bonus to the teams on tv. That money should be only allowed to be spent on infrastructure, academies and community programmes.

Looked good last year when we beat ye 2 1 (just leave it go, we didn't have many highlights...)

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast