2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    So is he available tonight?
    Yes, he travelled with the squad.

487 Posts
    He should start in that case. There's little else to be gained from this.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    851 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    He should start in that case. There's little else to be gained from this.
    Some involvement, will do me. Just get one little fragment, one aspect correct, MON.

3,304 Posts
    comes on for his debut, mercifully ending the nationality debate
    also, first player for play for Ireland who was born this century.

487 Posts
    Michael O'Bafemi from now on then?
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

3,304 Posts
    His mother was at the game too

244 Posts
    Nice to see the Obafemi situation concluded.

It was a tough match for a young forward to make his debut but I thought he showed a lot of intelligence and strength with some of his hold up play. Clearly still a raw prospect but I’m hopeful he’ll continue to progress.

Given Southampton’s dire situation hopefully he’ll learn to feed off scraps on the counterattack and carry that experience over to our cause.

82 Posts
    He’s gonna be the new Wavey Davey Connolly!!!!

604 Posts
    Well this is a big positive out of tonight - fair play to him for committing to us without any fuss (on his part anyway - I know we were all on tenterhooks). Of all the multiple-nationality young players we've been talking about, on paper we he's the one who would have had most justification in taking the time to consider his options, so for him to have made this decision already is much appreciated. Let's hope he continues his progress and is joined by Aaron Connolly and others soon

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    He’s gonna be the new Wavey Davey Connolly!!!!
    So we’re clear, I was a big fan of Dave Connolly...I’m calibrating my optimism. A prolific Championship level scorer with potential to do well in a given environment. It’s not too unrealistic to wish for.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

3,304 Posts
    nobody is a bigger fan of Connolly than theworm.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    851 Posts
    There won't be too many clearer runways to a Prem side than he has at Southampton at the moment, with Long having his ongoing difficulties, until they go shopping in January anyway. Big two months for him, all eyes on him, for a first goal now and to hopefully kick on.

1,093 Posts
    Proud Obafemi 'never had any doubts' about representing Ireland https://the42.ie/4348604

Really liking this kid. Hope he's the first of many young lads around that age that come through over the next while and look forward to seeing him for years to come.

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    Proud Obafemi 'never had any doubts' about representing Ireland https://the42.ie/4348604
    Yet, Martin O'Neill was telling us that Obafemi was deliberating over who to play for.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

21. Thanks From:

2,626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Yet, Martin O'Neill was telling us that Obafemi was deliberating over who to play for.
    It just shows how much of a complete spoofer he is.

2,081 Posts
    Even by spoofer measures, it seems completely bizarre he couldn't have just asked him before engaging with the media.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    So we’re clear, I was a big fan of Dave Connolly...I’m calibrating my optimism. A prolific Championship level scorer with potential to do well in a given environment. It’s not too unrealistic to wish for.
    I was a fan of David Connolly. Robbie Keane was unfortunate for him, as was Don Givens.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Page 10 of 41 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast